The Independent SG - ‘He doesn’t pay when we’re out on a date!’ — SG women give their brutally honest answers to: ‘What’s one thing that makes you los

starlight318

door mats would comment guys who ask for equality losers. Women are educated and working now not that they're not educated and not earning income it's reasonable to ask them to pay their own share.
I never said it's unreasonable to ask girls to pay their own share, but if guy ask girl out, it would be nice gesture and even expected for them to pay. If not, pls don't complain when the girl end up choosing other guy who is willing to do this nice gesture vs those who don't

glarerder

I never said it's unreasonable to ask girls to pay their own share, but if guy ask girl out, it would be nice gesture and even expected for them to pay. If not, pls don't complain when the girl end up choosing other guy who is willing to do this nice gesture vs those who don't
Again, I'm calling people who call other guys losers doormat. Only doormats don't mind keep paying and paying and feel good about it and insult others who don't do the same as if being a doormat is something to be very proud of.

LoaGong12

some of them need to look at themselves in the mirror ya?

Screenshot-2025-10-13-164926.jpg
body positivity is a virtuous trait hahahha

psyger-zero

I'm married for a little over twenty years, with a son and two daughters. So my perspective may be a little different.

Other than the first comment, which seems like a mean-spirited joke, the rest are very reasonable. Should my daughters choose to marry, I would be worried and disappointed if my future son-in-law has any of such characteristics. I would be equally dismayed if my own son were to show such behaviour.
the question is whether these women have better to offer than what they have hiamed.

Visor9999

Date whoever is the one asking out just offer to pay lo, then see how the other party respond and you can see whether is up your alley :o
2025 liao, both side can afford to pay right? :o

Women should take initiative to pay for dates. It’s the least they can do for sinkie males who need to serve 2 years of conscription

leonaheidern

I'm married for a little over twenty years, with a son and two daughters. So my perspective may be a little different.
Other than the first comment, which seems like a mean-spirited joke, the rest are very reasonable. Should my daughters choose to marry, I would be worried and disappointed if my future son-in-law has any of such characteristics. I would be equally dismayed if my own son were to show such behaviour.

that's why you are a dad and your wife is a mum and the majority is still single

dambio

The video, clocking close to 30K views and 1000 likes, didn’t hold back. Each woman gave her brutally honest (and sometimes hilariously savage) take on what sends a man straight into the “ick” and “eeew” zone.

• “Oh, usually when they open their mouth!” quipped one woman, drawing immediate laughter.
  • “If the ego is damn big!” another woman added, while several other women in the nightlife scene said all the following:
  • “Narcissism!”
  • “If he doesn’t respect me!”
  • “Possessiveness!”
  • “Rudeness!”
  • “When they’re too touchy!”
  • “If they don’t reply!”
  • “A pick me man!”
  • “When he has no ambition!”
And of course, the line that’s caused a mini earthquake was: “If you don’t offer to pay on a date!”

Another woman drove the point home with a gesture straight out of a K-drama breakup scene: Crossing her arms in an “X” and declaring, “The lack of communication!” with a disgusted facial expression that said, “bye!”

https://theindependent.sg/he-doesnt...-thing-that-makes-you-lose-interest-in-a-man/

It's all true n vice versa too

Wu-Han Clan

gt 2 or 3 girls v chio... this type shld pay for them lah... the rest so mid... treat them with some narcissism or high ego is right lah... :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

knn 5/10 only... she better guai guai listen to all my OCS stories abt hw i single handedly bash my 200 man platoon out of brunei jungle... with my bayonet!!! so zai until gt sword of honor... you 30yo nvm.. the story can repeat many times.... the face 5/10 can get military wedding with 10 best man occifers considered v gd liaoooo :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

champion09

The video, clocking close to 30K views and 1000 likes, didn’t hold back. Each woman gave her brutally honest (and sometimes hilariously savage) take on what sends a man straight into the “ick” and “eeew” zone.

• “Oh, usually when they open their mouth!” quipped one woman, drawing immediate laughter.
  • “If the ego is damn big!” another woman added, while several other women in the nightlife scene said all the following:
  • “Narcissism!”
  • “Possessiveness!”
  • “Rudeness!”
  • “If they don’t reply!”
  • “A pick me man!”
And of course, the line that’s caused a mini earthquake was: “If you don’t offer to pay on a date!”

Another woman drove the point home with a gesture straight out of a K-drama breakup scene: Crossing her arms in an “X” and declaring, “The lack of communication!” with a disgusted facial expression that said, “bye!”

https://theindependent.sg/he-doesnt...-thing-that-makes-you-lose-interest-in-a-man/

even the fat one wants a free meal..lol

Oldnerd79

door mats would comment guys who ask for equality losers. Women are educated and working now not that they're not educated and not earning income it's reasonable to ask them to pay their own share.
Let say you get to know this lady and want to chase her, after asking a few times finally she agree to go on a date with you. Will you ask her to pay her share?? Come on, chances are if you do this, there will not be a second date. But if you offer to treat her, that gives her a good impression and when there is a second date she might offer to treat you back. If not, then only you decide if still wanna continue pursuing her. Don't tell me you straight away ask girl to pay on first date..lol

Reddit

Likewise, I hope you trained your daughters to know how to make their partners happy, and also know when to shut up. Otherwise, you can prepare to have cats for your potential son-in-laws.
It's an odd opinion to me in that most parents would not think about training their sons or daughters to make their partners happy. Parents often consciously (or not) inculcate values in their children, often to be good people, however they define good to be. I do the same.

This relates to what I think a good man should be, not a boy, but a man who will eventually be responsible for his family. The traits listed by the women in the video truly are undesirable.

• “Narcissism!”
  • “Possessiveness!”
  • “Rudeness!”
  • “If they don’t reply!”
  • “A pick me man!”
  • “If you don’t offer to pay on a date!”
I think they are all self-explanatory, with the exception of the first point (a mean-spirited joke, as I mentioned earlier), and the very last point.

I would want both my son and daughters to, at the very least, offer to pay on a date. Earning a living is difficult enough for young people. This is just being respectful.

glarerder

Let say you get to know this lady and want to chase her, after asking a few times finally she agree to go on a date with you. Will you ask her to pay her share?? Come on, chances are if you do this, there will not be a second date. But if you offer to treat her, that gives her a good impression and when there is a second date she might offer to treat you back. If not, then only you decide if still wanna continue pursuing her. Don't tell me you straight away ask girl to pay on first date..lol
A girl whose interested doesn't need chasing. Only the ones whose not interested in you would need you to chase. So what if you successfully court her? That would be in her terms and not yours. The one whose truly interested wouldn't care if you're spending or spending enough money on her. She wants to spend time with you regardless of whether you spend money on her.

Oldnerd79

A girl whose interested doesn't need chasing. Only the ones whose not interested in you would need you to chase. So what if you successfully court her? That would be in her terms and not yours. The one whose truly interested wouldn't care if you're spending or spending enough money on her. She wants to spend time with you regardless of whether you spend money on her.
If the girl agree to go on a date with you, it usually means she is at least a little bit interested right? So answer my question, when you asked a girl out on a first date, did you get her to pay her share?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.