Agoda a scam

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

dede1217

How late is recommended to book hotel rooms? I've a confirmed trip in around 4 weeks from now but my targeted hotel price is still quite high per night. I a bit worry room will be sold out nearer to my departure date.

There is no guarantee though ... The price might go up, if lesser rooms left.
or price would drop if there r more rooms left ...

KirinFrost

How late is recommended to book hotel rooms? I've a confirmed trip in around 4 weeks from now but my targeted hotel price is still quite high per night. I a bit worry room will be sold out nearer to my departure date.

i always book very early in advance :(

for my flight right now i realised that its 40 dollars cheaper now knn :mad:

accomodation wise more expensive though

but i guess the best gauge is through experience and if you dont have then see how popular that destination is during that period of the year lor :s13::s13:

dede1217

but i guess the best gauge is through experience and if you dont have then see how popular that destination is during that period of the year lor :s13::s13:

agree ... for example have purchased cathay pacific to bangkok 2 yrs back, during their 3 days sales @ $168 ... previously they have $208 sales, luckily didnt purchase lol ...

hisokaomi

Sian eh, looks like I'll need a back up plan liao, maybe a capsule hotel if the hotel I want has no more room....

Beefsteak

If you book accommodations late. There is a chance that there are no more rooms or the rate might be higher.
Especially if you are travelling during peak period and demand is more than supply.

MarkerG

I was at Kanchanaburi Thailand few years ago. Went to guesthouse and recept ask which hotel app I booked from. I said from bxxxxx.com and recept say my room is reserved. He said if from Agoda, room will not be available. Interesting thou.

KirinFrost

knn book agoda payment becomes usd but at booking page is sgd!

sg$56 becomes us$56... tmd

wat the **** like that is scam liao sia??? :eek:

are you sure you are using agoda sg in the first place?

anyway expedia confirm is sing dollar one ;)

dede1217

when u login your agoda account ...
the default is in usd if i rmb correctly.
u have to change to sgd yourself ...

Beefsteak

This is an unusual issue I never encountered before.
You can also check your final payment in the My Bookings page in your agoda account it should be showing SGD currency.
Your credit card statement should be showing that exact amount in SGD too.

dede1217

yeah i rem setting to sgd whenever i view the rates.

even for "book now pay later", there's a pop up box to choose "pay now" or "pay later" with the currency stated.

so i choose "pay now" with sgd rate stated but once payment is processed, i rece sms alert with a diff amt being charged to my card :vijayadmin:

U might want to call them or email them to clarify ...

hisokaomi

I've tried booking with free cancellation on Agoda app then cancel after I did a booking to pay directly. So far seem okay ley, my first booking cancellation is successful and my 2nd booking is charged in SGD. No hidden charge. I also emailed directly to the hotel concerned and it has confirmed receiving my booking.

BuGGi3

For Expedia, check the dates carefully before confirming booking. There's a few times I was searching for Feb dates, system shows listings for Jan dates. Terrible.

Once booking is confirmed, that's it man. Even if you call them the next minute, you won't be able to cancel the booking very likely.

KirinFrost

For Expedia, check the dates carefully before confirming booking. There's a few times I was searching for Feb dates, system shows listings for Jan dates. Terrible.

Once booking is confirmed, that's it man. Even if you call them the next minute, you won't be able to cancel the booking very likely.

:eek::eek::eek:

seianko

agoda rates is good
but if i can i wouldnt go with agoda.

they at times do not confirm that you have managed to do a booking, no email confirmation or valid booked ID. I actually have to call the hotel myself, and they also dun see the confirmation, until i gave them the details of the room booked, what time/date i book and the alias booked under. Happened a few times

Whereas booking.com hotelscombined, dun have this issue, booking.com will send a confirm code to the phone via sms and i jus need to show the hotel the sms

seianko

yes, this i confirm. Their booking system tend to reset when u do a research or change filters

always make a habit to double check the dates

seianko

I was at Kanchanaburi Thailand few years ago. Went to guesthouse and recept ask which hotel app I booked from. I said from bxxxxx.com and recept say my room is reserved. He said if from Agoda, room will not be available. Interesting thou.
agoda payment doesn't go thru immediately. unlike other booking app

so hotels may not "reserve" for u if they are tight

other apps i book with, within 3 biz days, i can see deduction from my credit card. if i call the hotel within 12 hours to cfm if my booking went thru, its all confirmed. and i was very much assured. but not with agoda

naveen99

Booked many times with Agoda. Yes you may lose 1-2 cents more in exchange rate than market rate, but their rates are still attractive enough to offset the additional forex costs.

naveen99

agoda rates is good
but if i can i wouldnt go with agoda.

they at times do not confirm that you have managed to do a booking, no email confirmation or valid booked ID. I actually have to call the hotel myself, and they also dun see the confirmation, until i gave them the details of the room booked, what time/date i book and the alias booked under. Happened a few times

Whereas booking.com hotelscombined, dun have this issue, booking.com will send a confirm code to the phone via sms and i jus need to show the hotel the sms

I have been receiving booking confirmations via emails everytime I book via Agoda.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.