Air purifier? - Part 2

WussRedXLi

Mixing air is to prevent bypass.

I notice even sharp a50 has a small outlet blowing air out to front, that is on top outlet.

As for balancing, it's a marketing gimmick by xiaomi. I am an engineer, basically all rotating parts need to be balanced if not it will shake itself to bits and tear the rotating component and/or damage the bearings. It's very important for high rpm devices.

I'm not really sure what do you mean by "mixing air is to prevent bypass"?

Not sure if you are trying to say that the Sharp A50 is also mixing in a bit of ambient air before exhausting at the outlet. Don't think that is the case. The A50, A40 do have dual direction outlets. But they do not mix unfiltered air to blow it out.
At least I have not seen this or any dust accumulation in our A40 and A50 units (the A40, 2 pieces, are operating in Indonesia Riau, trust me it's damn !$!@#$ dusty and smokey there like annual is > 3X that of SG and peaks I don't have to say already, 1000-3000 ug/m3 on the meters :s13:)

In any case, the latter models D series only have top exhaust anyway. The superb A80 also is top exhaust.

In a real-world situation, the regular HDB room is literally full of blockages from furnitures, cabinets, TV console, big bed, or living room sofa/dining and central table etc, best is till use a fan or AC which aids circulation. Seriously it's already there, the weather is so damn hot when the windows are closed, really have to use else is gg.com. :s13:

Balancing the centrifugal fan.... yep my Sharp APs do have balancing clips clipped on...seen that before in my units. But the entry level $99 FU-A28E does not have it from what i can see. Guess it depends on the $$$.

maxresdefault.jpg

WussRedXLi

Humm...was thinking of the option of getting a XM1 as a 2nd AP for my living room+dinning room area. Like that maybe I would wait and see how first.

Well, just take out and clean ba, just some spots would be slightly difficult to clean due to the slight intake of air from the side vents. It's not a big issue....all APs that have open top including the Mfresh M8088A, some Novitas, Philips, LG etc would suffer from "dust dropping in".
Of coz some APs like Sharp D40/D60, Panasonics and even some Novitas have additional outlet flaps that close when not in operation. The Samsung AX40's vents are angled, my unit's insides are pretty clean.

Get 1 piece of XM2 lah. More than enough HP as a second AP to aid. Small size.

But i can tell you first, practically I don't find that you need that much filtration for the living room. 2 ACH is really good enough. But bedrooms (do up all the 3 bedrooms if you need), pls go ahead and do up 5 ACH or even 8 ACH, for those PSI 401 type events and also coz bedrooms basically would mean that there are curtains/beds/bedsheets/pillows/clothes ie more dust and subsequent dust mite droppings etc.

2013, 2014, 2010, 2006, we all hid in the rooms. Good enough. Short durations.
You must remember that once you wanna AP the living room coz you want more "freedom to roam", you'd also want to air-condition the living room as well. It's going to cost because the haze periods have pretty high mean temperatures.

It was 2015 that was the power one in both levels and duration. And of course 1997. That makes APing the living room sensible as well.

Don't worry too much about 2015 happening again. The probability is pretty low, i will tell you guys when i see it again. :s13:
If i miss it, tmkedmw and maybe chuanz will tell you also. :s13:

lunatic_tokyo

Hi Guys,

Will appreciate if you can advise which brand and model of air purifier will be suitable for MBR of those older HDB model.

Will prefer to purchase a model without humidifier, as we do have a standalone device for humidifier.

Long term usage and cost of filter will be consideration. Generally will run Air con every night for around 10hours. Rather light sleeper so db level hopefully will not be too loud.

Cost vs effectiveness of model will be taken into consideration. Went over to Best Denki, was intro to Samsung and Sharp models but will like to seek your advise for comparison and advise on which will be sufficient for M.bedroom.

XiaoMi 2 is it enough to meet the above or we shall just stick with the bigger brand instead.

Thank you.

qwe7410

The best imo would be the AX40 but the old models are phasing out and priced pretty high.

The new one comes with 3/4 step filter which is pretty confusing.

XM2 is a safe bet IF the filters are really selling at $39.90.
But it's really very noisy, not possible to use at high speed to utilise the 300+ cadr at all

Should never use a humidifier in a room.
It adds mould, dust mites and germs.
The thinking of adding more water to air to make you feel cooler is totally wrong and opposite of reality.

High humidity is the reason you feel hot as your sweat can't evaporate thus the body can't cool down.

Should get a dehumidifier instead but it raises temperature in the room due to the release of hot air.
However, once the air is dried, the AC should use lesser power to cool the air.

antsig30

i was given a link the other time by the cso when the seller send me a replacement. they call it "异常件”
so they went to look for the item den ask me fill up

got to fill up a lot of things but process very simply. once submit they will add ur item to existing package and ship together.

dunno if they will do the same for you or the method WRX metioned c

I have contacted 4px CSO. After telling them the story, they found the package in less than a min. They ask me to fill up form for 无主件预报审核.

After few hours, I have received email saying 无主件预报审核成功. Need to contact CSO to make payment. The package weight 6.5x kg, so need to pay for first 1kg plus the subsequent kg. They give me a link for the payment and ask me to contact again once paid.

sehsuan

2013, 2014, 2010, 2006, we all hid in the rooms. Good enough. Short durations.
You must remember that once you wanna AP the living room coz you want more "freedom to roam", you'd also want to air-condition the living room as well. It's going to cost because the haze periods have pretty high mean temperatures.

i wonder if during a super kilat haze season, will we actually be able to eyeball jets of dark air going into an AP.. and clean air stream OUT of the APs? :s13:

Should never use a humidifier in a room.
It adds mould, dust mites and germs.
The thinking of adding more water to air to make you feel cooler is totally wrong and opposite of reality.

High humidity is the reason you feel hot as your sweat can't evaporate thus the body can't cool down.

Should get a dehumidifier instead but it raises temperature in the room due to the release of hot air.
However, once the air is dried, the AC should use lesser power to cool the air.

bingo! humidifiers in especially a bedroom (where closets and wardrobes are) will encourage booklice to accumulate.

once in a while, i switch on the XM1/XM2 to use as an air cannon to blast out humid air out of my gf's wardrobe, to partly replace "dirtier air" with cleaned air - plus have a chance at drying out extra humid areas where booklice will have a 24-7 party...

qwe7410

My AX40 has a very strong odour, used just 2 weeks.

Anyway to get rid of it?

The activated carbon can be removed. There's a foam tape at the side.
The odour is coming from the hepa.

qwe7410

Anyone knows if the odour in the hepa is caused by the Activated carbon?

Now i can't get ride of the odour and thinking of replacing it with the RMB29.
I find it disturbing and not sure if it release any VOC.

Lucky177

Thank you for sharing. Actually hor... If add on to the sg plug and transport, will be $206.90 ... Time sales cannot use any coupon. Not as attractive as the "flat" pricing recently by the other seller.

From same previous seller, if can wait for stock to arrive ... if using $10 item coupon and $10 cart coupon, actually still come out to be cheaper than this one if not wrong. I think is $193.79?

Other sellers I no see. Those interested, can go compare the rest also.

Just sharing. :)

sehsuan

Hmm.. Sharp AP have fixed humidity at 60%. Is 60% low enough to prevent booklice/mold etc?

fixed humidity at 60%? sounds impossible leh, switch on A/C already can drop to <50% easily....

for photography, general suggestion is <55% RH if i remember correctly to prevent mould (which means booklice too, since they feed on mould...)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.