Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

Which spec to check it will take to clean up e air?
Also which db noise level to recoomend? I see .nap501 db is 50db when turbo, high is 40db. If kids light sleeper is it acceptable?

Check the m3/hr figure to compare. That makes the most sense. That is, if they report correctly + accurately.

The sqm m2 cleaning got hidden meaning. Sharp got its own definition, Samsung got its own def, Ah-tiong air purifiers got their own definition.

The Samsung AX40 is the quietest, NAP501 is a close second. This is despite the AX40 churning out quite a bit more airflow than the NAP501. The AX40 is quieter in its highest setting than the 501 in Turbo.

The AX40 got a wee bit of small problem in the fan speed "gearing" though. It has high speed, which is a approx 350 m3/hr airfoow @ 46dBA.
It's very quiet for such a high airflow at ~ 300SGD price range. However there is no medium speed airflow. Low speed airflow is well...low.
but the good news is that in high, it easily scrubs the air in the MBR within 30 mins to quite a clean level, after which you can maintain that in Low speed after say 2200hrs for sleeping.

Watching TV with the AX40 in HIGH speed is absolutely no issue.

WussRedXLi

SINGAPORE: A test of 10 air purifiers found that all of them performed efficiently in cleaning the air under hazy conditions, the Consumers Association of Singapore (CASE) said on Friday (June 27).

In the test conducted by CASE in April this year, 10 different brands of air purifiers were randomly purchased off the shelves from retailers such as Courts, NTUC FairPrice, Harvey Norman and Parisilk Electronics & Computers. Two tests were conducted on the air purifiers to determine their efficiency in cleaning Respirable Suspended Particles (RSP) and Volatile Organic Compounds (VOC) during times of haze.

For the RSP removal test, the Whirpool AP628W performed the best with an elimination rate of 99.21 per cent, while the EuropAce EPU166C had the lowest elimination rate of 96.42 per cent. For the VOC removal test, the Whirlpool AP628W, EuropAce EPU166C and Philips AC4025/01 performed the best with a 100 per cent elimination rate, while the LG PS-S209WC had the lowest elimination rate of 99.55 per cent.

In a statement, CASE President Lim Biow Chuan advised consumers to compare prices and the performance of air purifiers between brands before deciding which to purchase. He also encouraged consumers to read instruction manuals on the correct way to use the air purifiers to ensure they function at their optimal level.

SURVEY ON N95 FACE MASKS

A survey was also conducted on N95 face masks to determine their availability in the market and to monitor the current retail prices. The survey was triggered by feedback received about drastic increases in prices of face masks during the haze period last year, when the price of a N95 face mask shot up to as high as S$8, CASE said.

The survey, conducted from June 13 to 15, randomly sampled 57 different authorised retailers island-wide to find out the availability and prices of the three leading brands of N95 masks – 3M, Kimberly-Clark and Paul-Boye.

The results showed that the masks were readily available from authorised retailers – Cold Storage, Guardian, NTUC FairPrice, Unity and Watsons. The most expensive mask was the 3M 9210 model, retailing at S$3.90 each at Guardian, and the cheapest was the 3M 9105 V-Flex model, retailing at S$11 for eight pieces (S$1.38 each) at Unity.

“Although there are a large variety of cheaper face masks offered for sale online or at unauthorised retailers, CASE would like to advise consumers to be cautious and refrain from purchasing from these unreliable sources, especially when the quality of the face masks is not assured,” Mr Lim said.

He cautioned parents to ensure that children reduce outdoor activities in unhealthy air conditions, as the N95 face masks sold in Singapore have not been certified for use for children.

- CNA/cy

endlssorrow

Check the m3/hr figure to compare. That makes the most sense. That is, if they report correctly + accurately.

i see the specification and say if state 50m3/hr mean it can clean the room size of 50m3 by 60min? do i understand it correctly?

if yes, then normal living room size is 50m3 liao right?

endlssorrow

i see the model NAP501 does not come with this 'washable mesh filter', is that mesh filter important?

as compare to NAP511 and NAP611, this 2 model gotta change 3 filter??? but 501 only got 1 filter?

Asure7

Just something on my mind....

1. Our rooms are not airtight even if you close all the doors and windows (otherwise you'll eventually run out of oxygen even with aircon on). If you turn off the air purifier before sleep, wouldn't the air gradually get "dirtier" throughout the night?

2. Manufacturer specs, whether you trust it or not, are based on their testing with the default filter supplied. If the air purifier comes with H10 filter, and you switch it to a H13 filter, it is rightly assumed that the filtering capability is improved.
However, wouldn't the airflow somewhat be reduced as well?
This is further complicated when we use multiple layers of H13 filters (due to size misfit). I'd imagine it is harder for air to flow through 2 layers of 5cm thick filter, than one 10cm thick one.

Asure7

i see the specification and say if state 50m3/hr mean it can clean the room size of 50m3 by 60min? do i understand it correctly?

Yes, however that's not the end of the story. That is only one air change in one hour.
You should be targeting optimally 4-6 air changes in one hour.
so the target room size for this spec should not be more than 50/4 = 12.5m3.

WussRedXLi

if yes, then normal living room size is 50m3 liao right?

m3/hr is the airflow in cubic metre per hr.

A HDB MBR room of 4m by 5m is 20 m2, volume would be 20 x 2.6m = 52m3.

Ignore any furnitures like bed, cabinets, TV console etc. IF you ignore that, then it's going to be good as it'd be towards overkill.

Take the Samsung AX40 and AX022 for eg. It's 323 m3/hr and 188m3/hr, from what I see on taobao in which the Chinese agencies tested and gave in their reports.

So that's 6.2 and 3.6 air changes per hour, in highest fan speed.

You do not have to follow that approx 5 ACH figure. It'd really clean the air to a very clean degree that I don't think most would be able to appreciate anyway. Just switch on a AX40 in a MBR for 30 to 120 mins as per requirement and need, scrub the air nicely, then switch it to low fan speed for quiet operation (eg sleeping).

But if say your spouse is coughing and you wanna filter the aerosols (with viruses on them, viruse particles themselves do not float singly) that the sick person is generating, then maybe you would want that 6 ACH fig and keep it there.

NWT1978

Why every year also have haze ?
Really cannot stand their attitude towards open burning.

cause they need to replant the crops... cheaper and faster to burn rather than slowly cutting them down and remove them...

but such fire usually still burn underground...even if extinguish the fire... thus they either ignore this as not my problem or they dont know about this fact... but then how many years they have this types of clearing land already...

WussRedXLi

Just something on my mind....

1. Our rooms are not airtight even if you close all the doors and windows (otherwise you'll eventually run out of oxygen even with aircon on). If you turn off the air purifier before sleep, wouldn't the air gradually get "dirtier" throughout the night?

2. Manufacturer specs, whether you trust it or not, are based on their testing with the default filter supplied. If the air purifier comes with H10 filter, and you switch it to a H13 filter, it is rightly assumed that the filtering capability is improved.
However, wouldn't the airflow somewhat be reduced as well?
This is further complicated when we use multiple layers of H13 filters (due to size misfit). I'd imagine it is harder for air to flow through 2 layers of 5cm thick filter, than one 10cm thick one.

1. Not really supposed to turn off the air purifier when you sleep anyway. Never done that.

2. 2pcs of 5cm depth (folded/pleated) filters not the same as 1 pc of 10cm depth filter leh.... 2 pcs 5cm depth have 2 layers of HEPA fitted serially. 1 pc of 10cm depth filter has 1 layer only.
The pleating/folding is just to increase the surface area.

1 pass over 1 layer of HEPA filter material is more than good enough and more or less achieves the intended spec. See today's testing by CASE that I posted a few posts above, and the myriad of youtube videos that I have posted with folks testing with laser particle counters at the output of the purifier.

WussRedXLi

cause they need to replant the crops... cheaper and faster to burn rather than slowly cutting them down and remove them...

but such fire usually still burn underground...even if extinguish the fire... thus they either ignore this as not my problem or they dont know about this fact... but then how many years they have this types of clearing land already...

A lot of them is like subcon to the poor villagers to burn also. Even if tio lia is just go into jail (free lodging and food) for few months. But it's better money for them as compared to just farming for sustenance and selling extra produce. This is an open secret. Check the Jakartapost and the comments there, they describe the situation best.

My wife's hometown is just 50km from Dumai, I have been there for > 15X lost count liao. So yeah, when we talk about poverty over there for some of the Melayunese, it's really poverty......just that it's better than Africa of coz.

WussRedXLi

i see the model NAP501 does not come with this 'washable mesh filter', is that mesh filter important?

as compare to NAP511 and NAP611, this 2 model gotta change 3 filter??? but 501 only got 1 filter?

The washable mesh filter is just the prefilter. NAP has prefilter.

The 501 filter is integrated. The HEPA layer is 0.75 inches and catalyst layer + AC layer both make up the other 0.75 inches, giving a total of 1.5 inches.

endlssorrow

waaa... so many sexperts here... u all not salesman hor? hehhee
just kidding... thanks for explaining.. edmw rocks

endlssorrow

oh yah.. what do u mean by overkills? mean it is not good to get an oversize machine to pump in 100% clean air inside a small room ah?

coz 100% clean air long run also not good for body... later body become cui when go outside..

endlssorrow

Thank you for your concise reply.

Anyway, I'd already ordered 2 units of the AX40 from the "Daiso" seller on Qoo10SG. Apparently, if you follow the "Daiso" seller, you get a $2 coupon from that shop which can be used for the AX40 price; & apparently, I can claim the coupon unlimited no.of times, i.e. many instances of individual $2-coupons. So I submitted my purchase of my 2 units (of AX40) as 2 separate orders & used 1 coupon for each submission & essentially I'm paying $283 for each unit:

nVSCxTa.png

Bottomline: a few clicks to get $2 discount per unit.

& btw, I saw a lot of folks asking for the English manual (for the AX40); I'd received it from the seller, so here it is:
link (it's a 7.9mb jpg file, so I provide a download link rather than an img link)

but the replacement for this filter easy to find? how much?

WussRedXLi

oh yah.. what do u mean by overkills? mean it is not good to get an oversize machine to pump in 100% clean air inside a small room ah?

coz 100% clean air long run also not good for body... later body become cui when go outside..

Can just turn down the fan speed after that.... It's like a 9000 btu/hr aircon vs 18000 btu/hr aircon. :D

Asure7

yup.... worth right?

very worth!
but not instant redemption. Need to mail in form + receipts and wait for 2 weeks for collection letter, plus while stocks last.
Later they tell you they didn't receive, or no more stock... :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.