Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

How long do you need to change the filter for Samsung AX40?

Maybe about 1 year to 1.5 years, daily operation 8-12hrs a day.

However, do note that if that particular year has a week of dense haze, or say 2-3 weeks of moderate haze, it's likely that you'd need to change within 1 to a few months right after the haze episode depending on how long it has been used before the haze period.

Extended periods of daily ranges @ PSI 60-90, like now, is also expected to somewhat shorten the usage duration by quite a bit.

WussRedXLi

http://www.bom.gov.au/climate/enso/

Tropical Pacific Ocean remains on track for El Niño in 2014

Issued on Tuesday 3 June 2014 | Product Code IDCKGEWWOO

The tropical Pacific Ocean remains on track for El Niño in 2014, with just over half of the climate models surveyed by the Bureau suggesting El Niño will become established by August. An El Niño ALERT remains in place, indicating at least a 70% chance of an El Niño developing in 2014.

Sea surface temperature (SST) anomalies in the tropical Pacific Ocean have increased steadily since February, and are now greater than +0.5 °C in the key NINO regions. However, above-average SSTs also extend into the western tropical Pacific, meaning strong west to east gradients in tropical Pacific SST anomalies are yet to become established. As a result, atmospheric indicators—such as the Southern Oscillation Index and trade winds—have only shown a weak response.

For Australia, El Niño is often associated with below-average rainfall over southern and eastern inland areas and above-normal daytime temperatures over southern parts of the continent. It is not uncommon to see some impacts prior to an event becoming fully established. May rainfall was below normal across parts of eastern Australia and maximum temperatures were above normal across much of the south and east.

The Indian Ocean Dipole (IOD) is currently neutral. Model outlooks suggest the IOD is most likely to remain neutral through winter, with two of the five models surveyed suggesting a positive IOD may develop during spring. Positive IOD events often coincide with El Niño and are typically associated with large parts of southern and central Australia experiencing lower rainfall than usual.

WussRedXLi

June 4 2014 5:53 PM

How will we know when El Niño arrives?

According to ocean temperatures, it probably already has.

New data this week show that the water in a section of ocean called the Niño 3.4 region in the mid-Pacific has reached the +0.5 degree Celsius threshold typically used to define the start of an El Niño. That figure will have to persist or strengthen for the next six months (June to November) for an El Niño to be officially declared.

But the atmosphere hasn’t yet picked up the bait. For this El Niño to strengthen, the easterly trade winds will have to slow down. Once that happens, the upwelling of cold ocean water off the coast of South America is suppressed, and water temperatures at the surface will warm further, potentially unleashing a litany of effects across the globe.

New data from Australia’s Bureau of Meteorology for June show that while the warming ocean temperatures are revving toward El Niño, the Southern Oscillation Index—the atmospheric manifestation of El Niño and a proxy for the strength of the trade winds—is still firmly stuck in neutral.

The BOM has this insight into why:

Sea surface temperature (SST) anomalies in the tropical Pacific Ocean have increased steadily since February, and are now greater than +0.5 °C in the key NINO regions. However, above-average SSTs also extend into the western tropical Pacific, meaning strong west to east gradients in tropical Pacific SST anomalies are yet to become established. As a result, atmospheric indicators—such as the Southern Oscillation Index and trade winds—have only shown a weak response.

Still, according to BOM, Australia may already be feeling the effects of the new El Niño. May was hot and dry across the eastern part of the country.

Kevin Trenberth, a scientist at the National Center for Atmospheric Research who studies El Niño, told me in an email that we have essentially entered into a weak El Niño and it’s already changing our weather:

Yes, we are into El Niño of sorts but it has not yet taken off in a major way that suggests strong coupling between the atmosphere and ocean has set in. But then we don't usually expect this either at this time of year: the climatological sea surface temperatures are coldest about September and the trade winds strongest. It is after that we really expect it to take off setting the stage for next winter. What we can say is that conditions are such that we have a weak El Nino and the weather will already be quite different with respect to where tropical storms develop and move.

So, where does El Niño go from here?

The most recent model-driven forecast of ocean temperatures by the International Research Institute for Climate and Society shows continued warming consistent with a moderate El Niño, peaking around the end of 2014.

To take into account the atmospheric components of the El Niño phenomenon, NOAA scientist Klaus Wolter helped create a more comprehensive assessment called the “Multivariate ENSO Index,” which combines wind speed and air pressure anomalies, cloudiness, and the more traditional measures of temperature across the tropical Pacific Ocean to determine whether an El Niño might be occurring and its relative strength.

In an analysis by Wolter taking into account all the years since 1950 that have had a similar MEI progression as 2014, eight out of the 10 closest matches eventually went on to become a full-fledged El Niño. Most notably, the 1997-1998 super El Niño was not among the historical analog cases.

It’s still too early to say just how strong this year’s El Niño will be, but its clock has already started: El Niño is here.

Zabiyaki

GAB
FU-Z31E 200
FU-Y30E 190
A28 150

Qoo
Ax41 Approx 280~

Using in a small bedroom..was thinking of getting sharp but the Ax41 has like double the cleaning power sia

choochoo87

WussRedXLi - Thanks for the reply on PM. Just wish to thank you publicly for your great advise rendered on the queries on AX40. Based on your recommendation, I got 2 units and they work like a charm!

Perhaps this has been answered before but for how long do these filters last on average and what's your recommendation on standby filters?

stam

T2hpPsXqdaXXXXXXXX_!!1975012179.jpg
T2hUYrXr4aXXXXXXXX_!!1975012179.jpg
T2cw_rXxXaXXXXXXXX_!!1975012179.jpg
bro,

got the link to buy from china?

Asakura

WussRedXLi - Thanks for the reply on PM. Just wish to thank you publicly for your great advise rendered on the queries on AX40. Based on your recommendation, I got 2 units and they work like a charm!

Perhaps this has been answered before but for how long do these filters last on average and what's your recommendation on standby filters?

its just 5 post up

chuanz

Bro wrx!!!!!!!!!!! No haze leh ?????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!wat happen?????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

U think haze like liu lian got bao jiak wan? Anyway for sure haze will come before you change your posting pattern (for good).............................................. :s13:

Asakura

his loss will be my gain. if he gotten a purifier and wanna sell. i can help him offload.
but i hope he don't talk in real the same like his post.....or in sms/whatsapp...............................

WussRedXLi

bro,

got the link to buy from china?

Opening a can of worms here, the unfortunate thing is that Amazon does not sell their 9210/8210/9211 cheaply nowadays. OOS sometimes even.

The can of worms is that you get from taobao. They cheong the 3M masks there. Qoo sellers also get from there (esp Singapore ones).

The good thing is that if you go sea.taobao.com and search for KN90 and stuff, and sort by number of sales, you are likely to get a legit product.
Add to cart, and look for the 真 icon. (they can be punished by taobao in certain ways if there are complaints regarding authenticity). There are also security features like 3M 3D seals etc.

Nothing is 100% there, but you can ship 2 boxes over for a really good price. It's not Amazon's usd7 to usd9 per box of 20 standard, but then again Amazon needs usd125 for FSSG and this one no need.

Look for 3M 9002V, i also like 9042 which is KN90 + activated charcoal.
I remember last year PSI401 I had 9210 N95 on, it filters excellently but the chao dar smell is still there.

How to forward from Taobao. I'd recommend 4PX as the forwarder, based in Shenzhen. It's RMB35 for 1st kg and RMB12 per subsequent 0.5kg. Try to use eNETs also, which means you'd need to use your dongle.

Second good thing is that very rarely that you'd kena volmetric shipping, in fact i have not seen any. They just weigh and report, you consolidate and pay, they ship. Not like Amazon to CGW, HSG or borderlinx....can get heart attack coz Amazon over pack also.
Just don't go crazy and try to ship over shipping packing peanuts or something.

Tips for buying on Taobao from Singapore | The Elusive Sleuth

Asakura

any good ones to share for big items. im talking real big. like furnitures. lol maybe can pm me if u hav any

WussRedXLi

any good ones to share for big items. im talking real big. like furnitures. lol maybe can pm me if u hav any

This you can check out the taobao thread. Part 1 2 and 3. But be careful about MIC stuff meant for domestic consumption, not all you will like and some are downright dangerous.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.