Air purifier?

lala81

Instead I got those circular filter (RMB48, free ship to 4PX), Japan Home sells the Powerpac fans for SGD16.90 at my place so no need to ship from taobao. Filtration airflow is low, but it'd do coz I got 2 filters. And 10X easier to store. :)

T1z36qFR4XXXXXXXXX_!!0-item_pic.jpg_400x400.jpg

Bro, you are referring to Box fans is it?
Any link to the taobao filters?

WussRedXLi

THANKS, BRO!!

I thnk i'll hoot from amazon cos buy things quite frequently from there.

If regular buyer from Amazon with FSSG, then confirm no issue lah. Pay a bit more and get piece of mind with Amazon quality + Amazon A-Z warranty.

I've been getting from Taobao also. Got a refund, instead of going into my POSB savings (I paid with eNETS), it went into my Taobao account (sort of a gift card kind of thingy). And before I can use that RMB, I need to provide a sort of alipay password. I do not have that password. And to reset it, it is asking me to scan all sorts of stuff like passport, bank account etc.

Taobao is nice, but once things go awry, you can tear your hair out!

Even the activated charcoal filters or pellets also can get from there and play. :s12:

WussRedXLi

Yeah, box fans. The small ones.

Search for
HEPA 过滤网
HEPA DIY 过滤网

Sort by highest sales volume.

There are 2 sizes that I have seen. 275 x 15mm and 290 x 20mm.
Some sites give you cotton prefilter, some don't.

BTW, the airflow is very low, so do not be surprised if you put it in front of the box fan and there seems to be really low output.

But if you see on smartfilters website, the guy did a Dylos laser air particle counter test with this in a 15sqm room which is like our newest HDB MBR size, it can clean decently in 60 mins time. The drop is around 70-80% micrograms per m3 of PM2.5 and PM0.5, so that's really decent.

I'd just have to tape 1 HEPA in front of my iFAN and another one to my box fan, which I have yet to buy. I don't think i'd buy it, coz downstairs Japan home is selling.

Should be enough to lower and maintain say PSI 300 conditions to ~ PSI 100 condition for the living room within 2 hours. ie choking to the healthy individual -> still can tahan

WussRedXLi

Ok, like you, I was pretty sceptical, even with smartfilters doing the laser particle counter testing.

Check out the smoke clearing video here in this taobao listing as well as constant drop on the Dylos Laser Particle Counter. IT's youku, so I cannot embed

hepa

And also this
http://particlecounting.tumblr.com/...directly-comparable-tests-diy-versus-blue-air

1. Is the air coming out of the purifier clean? This is the easier question to answer, and my tests are as clear as can be. The DIY purifier shoots out very clean air.

2. But is that enough to actually clean the ambient room air? For example, if you have a really tiny filter and a huge room, the filter could work properly but still not be strong enough to make a difference.

Answering this question is more difficult because you need a controlled environment (you can’t open and close windows during the test), and you need to test the air for a longer period of time. Fortunately for you, I’m a nerd, and I’ve been doing these tests for fun for the past few weeks.

RAW Data for the box fan in the 15 sqm room. Biggest drop is in 1hr mark, continues to slowly drop till 2nd and 3rd hour.
tumblr_inline_muqdqoitzP1s4lgm1.png

WussRedXLi

Cheap HEPA from taobao measured here on the first page of particlecounting site. 92% efficient. That's like between HEPA10 and HEPA11. Not too bad.

Particle Counting

WussRedXLi

Ok, finally found the taobao page of SmartAir Filters. The original guy who started it all.

Ê×Ò³-Smart Air-ÌÔ±¦Íø

His HEPA filters are tested to be True HEPA, H13. But definitely significantly more expensive than the other taobao sellers, naturally due to the higher quality.

His tested another DIY fan + filter combo (ard H11 quality) and found it to be 21% slower in cleaning (as posted above)

Asakura

Air purifier need to buy true HEPA type.

Other types are not as effective.

Not say totally true lah, but also not totally untrue.

I'd further refine that statement to say that buying HEPA 10, 11, 12 or HEPA-13 (ie True HEPA) is best for our usage here in Singapore to combat haze.

Eg. Sharp A80 is H10. It pumps a heck lot of air @ 480 m3/h. Compared to a H13 True HEPA, that'd be 408m3/h @ 0.3 microns. (less 15%)

H10 still works great for particles smaller than 0.3 microns down to 0.01-0.1 microns. That is how HEPA works.

its good to understand the different levels of HEPA and the micron particles.
that way you will know where you are putting your dollars.

lala81

So in summary, u recommend in terms of super high PSI like last year, to try box fans + a Hepa Filter attached.

For cost effectiveness and since this HEPA is not going to be in a real air purifier, just to get some taobao ones.

wackykid

Don't think so leh. And doesn't make sense. By right, the device is 220V 60Hz. Our sockets are pumping out 240V 50Hz here. My home measures 235V to 239V most of the time even early morning. I don't think local Samsung supports. (the one at One Commonwealth, Commonwealth Lane)

Anyway, it's also only 1 year. I have already stress tested 1 month for you guys. :D

i'm considering buying the samsung AX40 from qoo10 too... does this slight difference in the voltage ratings really matter that much?? :o

regards,
wacky

Columbian78

Thanks for this interesting thread.

I am looking to get my first air purifier and looking at Sharp models. Is there any shop (local small shop or big retailers) that can offer good price at the moment?

For Sharp models, there are those that are purely air cleaning and those that has humidifier built in. Which type is better huh?

NWT1978

Thanks for this interesting thread.

I am looking to get my first air purifier and looking at Sharp models. Is there any shop (local small shop or big retailers) that can offer good price at the moment?

For Sharp models, there are those that are purely air cleaning and those that has humidifier built in. Which type is better huh?

well u can try T.S Yong Trading... got my first air purifier (from the last early haze) through their FB... reserved by PM too. The last one too :eek:

Blk 118 Aljunied Ave 2 #01-126 S(380118)

Tel: 6749 0285

chuanz

Goh Ah Bee is also another popular one... In Hougang. Got FB page also.

plasticpistola

If regular buyer from Amazon with FSSG, then confirm no issue lah. Pay a bit more and get piece of mind with Amazon quality + Amazon A-Z warranty.

I've been getting from Taobao also. Got a refund, instead of going into my POSB savings (I paid with eNETS), it went into my Taobao account (sort of a gift card kind of thingy). And before I can use that RMB, I need to provide a sort of alipay password. I do not have that password. And to reset it, it is asking me to scan all sorts of stuff like passport, bank account etc.

Taobao is nice, but once things go awry, you can tear your hair out!

Even the activated charcoal filters or pellets also can get from there and play. :s12:

Ya lor, I go to the taobao website like a bit messy leh, see liao quite headache lol

plasticpistola

Ok, like you, I was pretty sceptical, even with smartfilters doing the laser particle counter testing.

Check out the smoke clearing video here in this taobao listing as well as constant drop on the Dylos Laser Particle Counter. IT's youku, so I cannot embed

hepa

And also this
Particle Counting - Finally! Directly comparable tests: DIY versus Blue Air

1. Is the air coming out of the purifier clean? This is the easier question to answer, and my tests are as clear as can be. The DIY purifier shoots out very clean air.

2. But is that enough to actually clean the ambient room air? For example, if you have a really tiny filter and a huge room, the filter could work properly but still not be strong enough to make a difference.

Answering this question is more difficult because you need a controlled environment (you can’t open and close windows during the test), and you need to test the air for a longer period of time. Fortunately for you, I’m a nerd, and I’ve been doing these tests for fun for the past few weeks.

RAW Data for the box fan in the 15 sqm room. Biggest drop is in 1hr mark, continues to slowly drop till 2nd and 3rd hour.
tumblr_inline_muqdqoitzP1s4lgm1.png

Lidat not bad leh, can try to DIY one box fan n put in living room!

omegawatch

GAB
FU-Z31E 200
FU-Y30E 190
A28 150

Qoo
Ax41 Approx 280~

Using in a small bedroom..was thinking of getting sharp but the Ax41 has like double the cleaning power sia

Which would you recommend? Seems like A28 & Z31E has hepa filter?

omegawatch

Ok, finally found the taobao page of SmartAir Filters. The original guy who started it all.

Ê×Ò³-Smart Air-ÌÔ±¦Íø

His HEPA filters are tested to be True HEPA, H13. But definitely significantly more expensive than the other taobao sellers, naturally due to the higher quality.

His tested another DIY fan + filter combo (ard H11 quality) and found it to be 21% slower in cleaning (as posted above)

News got show NUS inventing cheap and good filter using similar concept.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/nus-develops-new-air/1120502.html
http://news.nus.edu.sg/press-releases/7718-nus-researchers-invent-cost-effective-filtration-system-to-efficiently-combat-indoor-air-pollution

By mid-june, should have cheap fit-over-fan filters.

Zabiyaki

Which would you recommend? Seems like A28 & Z31E has hepa filter?

All hepa..dif grade nia

News got show NUS inventing cheap and good filter using similar concept.

NUS develops new air filtration system - Channel NewsAsia
NUS researchers invent cost-effective filtration system to efficiently combat indoor air pollution

By mid-june, should have cheap fit-over-fan filters.

Yea quite upsetting when i read this awhile ago...in other countries they have been using such filters for years. How exactly is this an invention..more like a copycat. Have to w8 till launch to see more details tho..prolly not going to be cheap also

The NUS team took about 10 months to develop the system,
It will be marketed and sold by AiRazor Technologies, an NUS spin-off company.
The product will also be launched in Taiwan, China and Indonesia, markets that have what AiRazor called 'immediate needs'.
Prices start from 150 dollars.

Really nothing to say. Chop carrot chop

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.