Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

Can already smell very faint haze this morning @ 1000hrs liao.

156210370.TTu39462.1.jpg

WussRedXLi

No marnee to buy :(

$149 for the Sharp A28 only leh, bro. Actually no need to aim for very clean air. Even if you use that small Sharp A28 in a big living room, it can easily bring PSI 200 conditions down to a very tolerable PSI 50 after 1 hour, which would be ok even for the sensitive group people.

Close the doors and windows though, and no air-con = HELL during this period.

thewiseone

Possible but it will end up costly in the long run. Each time i need to replace the HEPA filters, it will cost me a bomb!!! :eek:

Not all air coolers are noisy, especially the bigger ones. They are only loud when operating at med speeds and above. The noise however is quite refined.

I have the middle unit (beige colour) model ...

At the lowest speed, the air flow is already much stronger than the Samsung AX40 at max speed. I suppose if i really want to do it, i can probably convert it to an air purifier which can cover the whole house. =:p

WussRedXLi said:
Well, actually if one already has an air cooler in the storeroom unused and want to do that is can lah.... Just have to tape up 3 or 4 smaller pieces together. Buy from taobao, they even sell pre-filters.

Coz some of those evaporative air coolers is quite powerful for the big ones. But damn noisy.

Gixxer1000

They are pretty easy to cut. But now with taobao, I would not recommend that.

But nowadays you can get HEPA filters from taobao. Some are H11 grade thereabouts, some are between H12 and H13.

All will work. Just have to find a size that's bigger.

The is by smartfilters, they have tested theirs with a Dylos laser particle counter to be approx. 99.3%, so that's H12 thereabouts.

SmartAir

They tested other taobao HEPA filters, some are only like about 92% clean at the outout.

Anyway, this is one of the biggest that I can find.

hepa

I suppose this need to be cut too in order to fit into sharp purifier?

tmkedmw

Residents warned over haze returning to Sumatra
Apriadi Gunawan, The Jakarta Post, Medan | Headlines |
Sun, June 22 2014, 11:35 AM

The National Disaster Mitigation Agency (BNPB) has called on residents to prepare for the worst as forest and peatland fires intensify leading up to the peak of the dry season in two months.

BNPB spokesman Sutopo Purwo Nugroho said some parts of Riau were once again blanketed in choking haze.

The affected areas include Rengat, Pelalawan, Dumai and Pekanbaru. Haze, however, has yet to severely reduce visibility in those areas.

“In Rengat, the visibility is 3 kilometers, while Dumai is at 6 kilometers and Pekan Baru is 8 kilometers. Those numbers are still normal,” Sutopo told The Jakarta Post on Saturday.

Sutopo also said the reappearance of haze in Riau was undoubtedly caused by forest and land clearing, usually done to make way for plantations. According to the Terra and Aqua satellites, as of Saturday, there were at least 250 hotspots across Riau.

Rokan Hilir recorded the highest number of hotspots, 157, followed by Bengkalis, Dumai, Rokan Hulu, Pelalawan, Kampar, Inhil, Kuansing and Siak.

“The number of hotspots has increased significantly, as of yesterday [Friday] there were only 80 hotspots detected,” Sutopo said, adding that higher temperatures had contributed to the spike.

It is predicted that the number of hotspots would peak between August and October.

Instead of conducting firefighting efforts, strict law enforcement aimed at prevention would be more effective in combating haze, Sutopo said. “It is not easy to extinguish peatland fires.”

He went on to say that the forest and peatland fires that hit from February to April in Riau alone had caused Rp 20 trillion (US$1.6 billion) in damage. As many as 2,398 hectares of biosphere reserve and 21,914 hectares of land were razed.

The haze resulting from the fires affected 6 million people, with 58,000 suffering from respiratory illnesses.

The BNPB previously disbursed Rp 134 billion and deployed 4,931 personnel to tackle the problem.

“It really takes a lot of money to handle the forest and peatland fires. Therefore, the most effective way is applying strict law enforcement,” Sutopo said.

Meanwhile, BNPB head Syamsul Maarif said that he had called on local governments, especially the Riau provincial administration, to help prevent forest and peatland fires.

The haze has been a major problem for Riau and other provinces in Sumatra for years.

Last year, a diplomatic war of words ensured after the haze drifted over to Malaysia and Singapore, causing a severe health hazard for residents there. President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono eventually issued a formal apology to the two nations.

WussRedXLi

I suppose this need to be cut too in order to fit into sharp purifier?

Definitely. Just a penknife with a newly exposed blade does wonders. Then plug up the sides with scotch tape and what nots.

Every 9-12 months change to keep the airflow optimal, no issue at all since it's cheap.

On Amazon, you won't find a similarly sized HEPA filter with Freeship to SG.

WussRedXLi

Not all air coolers are noisy, especially the bigger ones. They are only loud when operating at med speeds and above. The noise however is quite refined.

I have the middle unit (beige colour) model ...

At the lowest speed, the air flow is already much stronger than the Samsung AX40 at max speed. I suppose if i really want to do it, i can probably convert it to an air purifier which can cover the whole house. =:p

Yeah, I played before with the Mistral 200 something model and also one Honeywell biggie air cooler, damn friggin power.

Must compare apples with apples. If you'd remove the HEPA filter of the Samsung AX40, you'd find that the High speed shifts a heck lot of air too.

But actually can compare. Samsung is centrifugal, 34W. Mistral 200 is about 200W in high. If really can DIY stick HEPA, even a Blueair 650E can get lost. :eek::eek::s12: Will be noiser than stock after fitting in the HEPA due to added resistance though, but boy would it shift some air.

Maybe use that 5kgf 3M double sided tape to stick 4 small pieces together. I know that double sided foam tape is damn power one. Actually the normal 3M foam tapes also can, up to the individual if he wants to go overkill or not.
Get from taobao I think $50 can gao dim if consolidate with your other taobao orders. :D

Smartfilters, the Ang moh tested another HEPA to be 92% clean at the output. That's still very decent, between H10 and H11 range. Why not?

PS. You can start a project to retrofit your air cooler with 4pcs of HEPA from taobao - for emergency uses. Can clean a living room with 10 ACH easily. Forget about simi AirRazor from NUS. :zotto:

But trust me - it will be quite noisy. But just scrub the air 1-shot clean chean and tahan for 30 mins, it should be bearable for the short term.

Was playing with this one, too big though. Think it's 1 model above yours.
sg_appliances.4698.1.gif

thewiseone

The Mistral is powerful but its nowhere near the Europace's performance. Yes, if the HEPA filter is removed, the airflow for the Samsung AX40 will be higher. Not forgetting, if i remove the honey comb pad from the Europace, the airflow will also improve. With the pad in place, the max airflow is 1500 m3/h, more than 4 times higher than the Samsung AX40! :eek:

Not a fair comparison though, one consumes only 34W while the other takes 200W (a little less if i shut off the water pump). Having said that, if i were to get some decent HEPA filters for it, it will probably out perform many of the bigger and much more expensive air purifiers! :s13:

Yeah, I played before with the Mistral 200 something model and also one Honeywell biggie, damn friggin power.

Must compare apples with apples. If you'd remove the HEPA filter of the Samsung AX40, you'd find that the High speed shifts a heck lot of air too.

But actually can compare. Samsung is centrifugal, 34W. Mistral 200 is about 200W in high. If really can DIY stick HEPA, even a Blueair 650E can get lost. :eek::eek::s12: Will be noiser than stock after fitting in the HEPA due to added resistance though, but boy would it shift some air.

Maybe use that 5kgf 3M double sided tape to stick 4 small pieces together. I know that double sided foam tape is damn power one. Actually the normal 3M foam tapes also can, up to the individual if he wants to go overkill or not.
Get from taobao I think $50 can gao dim if consolidate with your other taobao orders. :D

WussRedXLi

Fwah...your Europace so powerful?
eek.gif

I thought the Mistral MAC200 already super satki.

thewiseone

I owned the Mistral MAC200 for exactly ONE hour, after that i returned it to the shop. Airflow is not bad, it does work to cool down the room temperature BUT... there is that big but.. its freaking NOISY. I cant even watch the TV with that unit in the living room, even with fan speed at low. :(

Fwah...your Europace so powerful? http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/img/forums/hwz/smilies/eek.gif

thewiseone

Look at the pic that i have posted above. The model i have is the ECO 017, the second in the lineup. Look at the unit on the right of it... that is what should be termed powerful!!! 280W, 3500 m3/hr!!!!!!!!! :eek::eek::eek:

Fwah...your Europace so powerful?
eek.gif

WussRedXLi

thewiseone

4pcs of the above will be too big... i dont think the filters can be cut down to size. I will probably need to look out for either 2 big pcs or 4 smaller pcs which can fit without cutting.

WussRedXLi

As for adhering or fixing the 4pcs of HEPA to the air cooler.....I guess other than using double sided foam tape (which may destroy the HEPA filter material coz it's quite sticky should you wanna remove later), can use (1) stretchable nylon strings to tie, can get the white ones that they use in trousers or (2) those stretchable ropes that they tie to supermarket trolleys, get from ABC shops or (3) get this from taobao, connect 2 together if not long enough.

T21C94XyxXXXXXXXXX_!!737634551.png

WussRedXLi

4pcs of the above will be too big... i dont think the filters can be cut down to size. I will probably need to look out for either 2 big pcs or 4 smaller pcs which can fit without cutting.

No, for this usage, better don't cut.

I think too long only lah, the width seems ok.

From what I see regarding the prices on taobao, min is ard RMB 45.

Or if you can find 3pcs with 1 length 45cm (which fits your air cooler's 45cm), then ok. But I don't remember seeing any filter that's that long.

thewiseone

For my air cooler, if i can find the right sized filters for it, i probably dont even need any adhesive or double side tape. Just behind the blower unit is a panel with grids running across, top to bottom to support the HEPA filter.

WussRedXLi

Look at the pic that i have posted above. The model i have is the ECO 017, the second in the lineup. Look at the unit on the right of it... that is what should be termed powerful!!! 280W, 3500 m3/hr!!!!!!!!! :eek::eek::eek:

Get taobao 4pcs filters, get that big Europace for $649. Put into landed property's big living room. $700 + some elbow grease, Gao dim. The HEPA filters are facing the back, so it still would look great.

Sure beats getting 3pcs of Blueair 650E @ 5k. :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.