anyone studying RMIT-SIM course?

kazuki666

Does anyone know of any email addresses of slightly more high level staff in SIM?

I just cant stand my course coordinator attitude. BBMPT.

We can call them and email them for 1 whole wk and no reply wan.

Just got my timetable recently. Guess what. 1 of the 3modules i am taking, it has 6 lessons on sats! WTF!
So i am left with 4 blank wkdays lor. I have other personal commitments on sats wan sia.

Yes, some may say LT hard to find. But then, is that us students' problem? They happily take in more and more students without considering the availibility of LT, thats not us students prob right.

I am freaking pissed. I want to bring this up to some higher or else they will never learn their lesson.

Whatsmore after the crazy idea of removing refreshment.
Personally I never really drank their sub-grade beverages or snacks. But I know my classmates do. (They always happily take ALOT, even tapao home). Take note, they are my classmates, not friends. :)
But I still believe that they deserve to be given the food.

And with the implementation of refreshment removal, we noticed that vending machines on level3 and level4 have been removed too.
Smart move. They remove vending machines and then bring their own food carts in, earn even more. They better be sure that the carts are really going to sell reasonable priced stuff as they promised. If not, they are really only screwing thinigs further.

Toons

You called and emailed them for 1 week without any reply? Thats unacceptable. Poor service. Should complain.

For your timetable woes, frankly, I too hate having sat classes, but to be fair, they made it clear from the start that classes will be from mon to sat, so you can't say that they are wrong to schedule sat classes.

Anyways, if you want to lodge your complaint, try their quality service hotline 6248 9673 or email them at qs@sim.edu.sg

kazuki666

Basically i am not alone. My coursemates face such unresponsive service too.

Call, no answers, so was put on voice message. Left voice message, also no response.
Emailed, no responses.

Also, my course always release our results and new semester's timetable much later than the other courses.
I have friends doing rmit-sim econs & finance. They always get results and timetable at least 1wk before mine.
rmit's side of delay? sim's?

I understand the difficulties in arranging LT to match everyone. If its just like 3-4 sats, i can still accept it. But its 6 sats! Thats half the lessons!!! And leaving so many blank weekday slots for my timetable.

I am actually quite disappointed in this organisation.
They are very efficient when it comes to issuing invoice. I just received invoice for the Jul-Dec 08 semester, and must pay by 26 June. Thats like one week only!

I will definitely reconsider furthering my post-grad with them after i complete my bach degree here. My stay with them dun seem that amazing...

bigass

I also shared the same encounters together with some of us here had faced during the course periods.I once lost the SIM password and need to reset but due to some technical freak problems, I nv rcvd the new password tru my email.

I rem'd I need the email for some impt info that day. I called my course co-ordinator that day for an hr but the voicemail machine was always there to entertain me. Finally a kind soul came and help me to solve my problems. On a funny note, I rcv'd an email from my course co-ordinator 3 days with my new passwords. I was like --- :s11::s11:

Hence I nv like my course co-ordinator and think she is very lazy, maybe smoking in one corner or eating snake on the other because I hardly see her ard when I need her help but only when during my class test, she is there to shout around claiming my class is very noisy.

The other day I was having a meal with my gf, she was a graduate from MDiS, she actually shared her experience and told me actually its very common that we faced such a problem. This is because there is only 1 pathetic co-ordinator to do admin works for 1000 pple from one course, yr 1-3. I didn't know much such a case until she sounded off to me because like some of us above, she went to complain but the problem will never be solved in the end. Anyway tru that incident, she also learnt that it's really not easy for 1 person to handle/cater so many pples' needs at one time esp during this is a transition period. The turnover rate for a course co-ordinator is also pretty high from what she told me, I don't know for SIM. For her case, she just bear through it as her tolerance level is pretty high and she is those just study and bo chap after exam kind.

For my comment, I just hope you guys may provide infos/solutions to improve/solve the problems. Complaints will never help you. Imho, they will just merely reply with an apologetic letter. In the end, you may still feel a slap on your face as the problem will continue to be around so long you haven't graduate.

This comments are just mainly my own point of view. Pls dun flame/curse me if my comments never help you/make you more angry. Thanks

kazuki666

I all along knew abt the 1 course co-ordinator issue. But in my shoes as the customer, i dun see why i should bear the responsibilities.

They are earning soooo much (believe me, its A LOT) from our sch fees, cutting refreshments, bringing in their own canteen to sell food instead. So why cant they just allocate more funds to hire another 1-2 more staff?
They have a HR problem, not ours. remember that.

If their 1 staff really is not able to handle all students and cases, they are wrong to be just happily stuck with 1 pax.

Btw, i noticed that most of their co-ordinator are mostly those aunties from earlier days. Typical gov iron ricebowl workstyle if u ask me. That makes things even worse worst...

IMO, instead of just sitting back and accept it. I say we voice out our comments. Make problems known to mgmt.

ascdf13

I all along knew abt the 1 course co-ordinator issue. But in my shoes as the customer, i dun see why i should bear the responsibilities.

They are earning soooo much (believe me, its A LOT) from our sch fees, cutting refreshments, bringing in their own canteen to sell food instead. So why cant they just allocate more funds to hire another 1-2 more staff?
They have a HR problem, not ours. remember that.

If their 1 staff really is not able to handle all students and cases, they are wrong to be just happily stuck with 1 pax.

Btw, i noticed that most of their co-ordinator are mostly those aunties from earlier days. Typical gov iron ricebowl workstyle if u ask me. That makes things even worse worst...

IMO, instead of just sitting back and accept it. I say we voice out our comments. Make problems known to mgmt.

i had a friend who onced work as a coordinator. but after 1 or 2 mths into the job she quited. reason was too stressful and time consuming. can u imagine working till 11pm everyday to settle all the admin stuff before the sem starts?.. so i think its not that SIM not hiring more is just that none want the job.

not siding any party here, just my opinion...although i am also studying in SIM. but from what i know the allocation of classes are not done by the coordinators... correct me if i am wrong

Toons

Frankly, the level of service you get depends on who your coordinator is, the no of students in the programme, the period which you call/email etc. A lot of variables. Sometimes, the coordinator goes for mc for 2 days, then you just gonna wait. However, there is normally at least 2 staff servicing students in each programme.

My only suggestion is not to wait til the last min. If you need something done, contact your coordinator earlier and give her some time to do it. Personally, i dun expect same day response kinda of service, but to not reply even after 1 weeks is just pure bad service, go complain at that QS hotline and email i gave you.

As for class allocation, it is a complex balancing act consisting of room availability and lecturer availability. Imo, at this point in time, it is very unlikely that they will change your 6 sat classes. LTs already booked, even if they want to change also might not have any LTs left. Lecturers also contracted, even if want to change lecturers also might not be free etc. The best scenario, if you make enough noise, they try to schedule less sat classes for next semester.

Go make yourself heard!

kazuki666

Me in the edu sector, but not sim.

In my org, booking of LT is one hell of a problem every sem. Profs and lecturers will be killing to get the best venue for their students.
sats not alot, evening classes not often too.
Thats for full-time students.

But for sim, the tricky part is that quite a no of their lecturers are doing part-time teaching wan. So the timetable may then also have to depend on these lecturers freetime.

Fair? They free, not neccessary means we students are free right?
We are already doing our very best to attend classes regularly on top of our own work commitment. And its soooo frustrating to get lecturers whom u really feel like F#@king them coz they are way tooooo lousy, teaching offtrack, lousy handouts, lessons not in line with teachings.

I am not too sure abt sim policy. I had tried applying for a position with them before, rejected them coz pay wasnt amazing for me to quit my current workplace.

From what i know, different depts have different system in sim.
The dept i applied, they required me to clear the min 7sats a year(heard that that dept clear the 7sats by apr already...), and more sats to come, work till 7.30pm on a few wkdays in a wk.

Good? Bad?

I mean, if one feels the job sucks, quit then. Dun stay and yet provide half bucket service. Its not the right mentality right?
Then like what ascdf13 mentioned abt his friend, shouldnt the sim mgmt sits down and think what they have been doing is right, and TRY to really be a education orientated organisation?

kazuki666

But then i wont deny some of their depts have good customer service.

Their lib staff are pretty gd. They can show u stuff and services on a personal basis, i really appreciate that effort.

I think previously my course had 3 co-ordinators. 1 AO and 2 supports. But heard that the AO and 1 support left.
Before the resignation, i had very good service actually.

There was one evening i left a VERY IMPT doc under the table after my night lessons. So i called the next morning and got their help to find it and keep it aside for me, and they did.
I was very very amazed by their willingness to do it for me coz it seems out of their jobscope.

BUT, i dun see such commitment now...

Now after 2sems with them, IF i can get exemption on joining other pte schs, i will cfm leave.

ascdf13

But then i wont deny some of their depts have good customer service.

Their lib staff are pretty gd. They can show u stuff and services on a personal basis, i really appreciate that effort.

I think previously my course had 3 co-ordinators. 1 AO and 2 supports. But heard that the AO and 1 support left.
Before the resignation, i had very good service actually.

There was one evening i left a VERY IMPT doc under the table after my night lessons. So i called the next morning and got their help to find it and keep it aside for me, and they did.
I was very very amazed by their willingness to do it for me coz it seems out of their jobscope.

BUT, i dun see such commitment now...

Now after 2sems with them, IF i can get exemption on joining other pte schs, i will cfm leave.

i agreed with you..some coordinators are good...sometimes best is to go up lvl 6 and talk to them face to face..its abit troublesome but it will solve the problem quickly mah...

royallyme

RMIT text books

HI, these textbooks for sale :s12:

1 Management Accounting & Business

Management Accounting - Information for managing and creating value
by Kim Langfield-Smith, Helen
Thorne, Ronald W. Hilton
4th edition

-available in photocopied version. binded. totally brand new. going at $25

2. Commercial Law 1

Singapore Business Law
by Benny S Tabalujan &
Valerie Du Toit-Low
4th edition

-available in original copy. almost mint condition with few writings. going at $30

do PM me if interested tks!

Toons

Who having Organisational Theory classes tonite? Sibeh sian hor, classes tonite, thu, fri and sat ... now i really peifu those who completed part time studies.

kazuki666

Who having Organisational Theory classes tonite? Sibeh sian hor, classes tonite, thu, fri and sat ... now i really peifu those who completed part time studies.

ME ME ME!!!

What modules u taking?

me coz i failed IA in my 1st sem, so everything is pushed back. :(
I am doing HMT, HRM and OT this sem...

I this wk mon to sat lor! sibey angry with the coordinator...:s27:

Jazlyn10

Me!~
Guess this week, all cfm tired.. omg!~
I wonder tonight RMIT lecturer gd or not.. :D

Jazlyn10

ME ME ME!!!

What modules u taking?

me coz i failed IA in my 1st sem, so everything is pushed back. :(
I am doing HMT, HRM and OT this sem...

I this wk mon to sat lor! sibey angry with the coordinator...:s27:

Heard that for this sem the HMT change format..
No more test.. 2 projects; individual and grp..
I guess quite gd..

HMT is boring.. and there is so many thing to memorise!~!~!

kazuki666

Me!~
Guess this week, all cfm tired.. omg!~
I wonder tonight RMIT lecturer gd or not.. :D

From past exp, they have never been gd leh...

Heard that for this sem the HMT change format..
No more test.. 2 projects; individual and grp..
I guess quite gd..

HMT is boring.. and there is so many thing to memorise!~!~!

personally i prefer test. One good night of midnight oil should be able to revise finish.
But individual assignment more time and efforts leh...

But i heard coz last sem the ppl test results were very bad, maybe thats why they change the format.
But if with the bad results, i think quite a no of gd grades also...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.