Ask a Bicycle Question - Part 5

Broadwalk

Please even my mini velo wheels are not true but I don't mind. Cause the bike price is the price of the wheels on my road bike

Its all About marginal utility from getting the bike.. maybe he buy expensive stuff he don't feel shiok. Or he has a budget to work w. End of the day aleoca makes more people cycle and I'm thankful to them for that (when I started riding aleoca didn't exist used a urata)

To say that the bike is unsafe is an exaggeration ..

Learn to spend within the limit I see so many people buy 10~20 k bike don't dare to push it hard cause scared crash really wasted to see especially since those bikes are designed to go fast

Sent from Asus ASUS_T00P using GAGT

I would say riding responsibly will reduce accident and enjoyable. Aleoca might not be a fanciful brand and I think it is really tough handling the aleoca when I compare with Tern, dahon and other brands. But it is free and is a gift from 1 kind edmwer. I appreciate his kindness generosity and I am learning to enjoy cycling which the interest was rob from me when I grew up to adult.

Aleoca serve my needs today and I have admitted I will have to upgrade once I have the confidence and the budget to do so. It is not easy to splurge a few hundred to thousands for a foldie. I need to be prudent. :(

Broadwalk

**** u lah, troll other thread then say keep integrity. As if u have any. Get lost from here, go back and troll your cheese pie. You're not welcome here. No money wanna buy bike and find fling. Knn ******* shameless.

I think I am here in this thread to learn and to find information in cycling and I am glad some kind people here do share despite the differences in expectation in cycling experience and perspective. :o

HexenHeretic

Comtemplating getting this Topeak PanoComputer to allow me measuring cadence for my roadie...anyone use before?

http://www.topeak.com/products/PanoBikeAndRideCase/panocomputer_w_scs_bk

I have the speed/cadence and heartrate sensor.
If i buy this computer, then i'll have the full set.

But factoring cost and ease/convenience to use, u're better off with garmin edge 510.
Garmin has backlit on screen, which is fairly critical if u ride alot at night.

patcheon

I have the speed/cadence and heartrate sensor.
If i buy this computer, then i'll have the full set.

But factoring cost and ease/convenience to use, u're better off with garmin edge 510.
Garmin has backlit on screen, which is fairly critical if u ride alot at night.

Was looking at the garmin edge 510, 810, 1000 as well as the cateye stealth evo+ too. What attracted me other than the price is the rated battery life. Remembering to charge up all the lights and cameras (front and rear) way before the rides are already like a hassle and a chore to me. :s22:

Sadisticnoob

Was looking at the garmin edge 510, 810, 1000 as well as the cateye stealth evo+ too. What attracted me other than the price is the rated battery life. Remembering to charge up all the lights and cameras (front and rear) way before the rides are already like a hassle and a chore to me. :s22:
Interesting concept especially connecting to phone .. seems like it's just a device that mirrors what the app is saying

HexenHeretic

The topeak isn't exactly cheap if u get the full set
And the speed/cadence sensor doesn't fit all kinds of bikes, especially foldies and mtb

If u own more than 1 bike, garmin still makes better economic sense, at least the computer still works without the sensors, which is not the case for topeak.

Even the cateye offering still makes more sense to me than topeak.

erwinrommel

Please even my mini velo wheels are not true but I don't mind. Cause the bike price is the price of the wheels on my road bike

Its all About marginal utility from getting the bike.. maybe he buy expensive stuff he don't feel shiok. Or he has a budget to work w. End of the day aleoca makes more people cycle and I'm thankful to them for that (when I started riding aleoca didn't exist used a urata)

To say that the bike is unsafe is an exaggeration ..

Learn to spend within the limit I see so many people buy 10~20 k bike don't dare to push it hard cause scared crash really wasted to see especially since those bikes are designed to go fast

The problem is.. for a folding bicycle, the weight limit should be stated down in their website but its not even stated in Aleoca website. The bare minimum is that it should meet rigorous U.S. and European strength and safety standards, as well those of Japan, Germany, the UK and France.

I asked the Aleoca staff about the weight limit of Aleoca Pratiche and he said maybe 80kg. Asked another staff and he said around 90kg. Asked another staff just now and he said he has no idea. The weakest links are the hinges, and these must be tested.

In this case, I have no idea whether the spokes will give way. If my naked eye can see the wheels wobbling, it seriously is super untrue. Unless the people who buy these bicycles see these as expendable commodity, they are just wasting money in the long run when they keep going back for replacements/repairs. I know, because I have many friends who keep messaging me in FaceBook and even here who keep asking me for better folding bicycle recommendations cuz their "economical" folding bicycle sucks. It encourages more people to cycle, and then dump their bikes and rot at void decks or tied at trees and lamp posts.

I already have 3 seasoned cyclists who suffered from foot cramps cycling on $88 Aleoca foldie and the number one culprit is the poor frame geometry that resulted in shorter cockpit length.

But I concur with you on your second paragraph. Its useful to cycle to the market 1km nearby and back. =:p Any longer, I rather take bus or walk.

Jay Bee

The problem is.. for a folding bicycle, the weight limit should be stated down in their website but its not even stated in Aleoca website. The bare minimum is that it should meet rigorous U.S. and European strength and safety standards, as well those of Japan, Germany, the UK and France.

I asked the Aleoca staff about the weight limit of Aleoca Pratiche and he said maybe 80kg. Asked another staff and he said around 90kg. Asked another staff just now and he said he has no idea. The weakest links are the hinges, and these must be tested.

The reason why i didnt buy a aleoca bike when i started re-cycling :s22:

quite a risk for me actually, since the last time i cycled was >12years ago that time.....
heng i didnt forget how to cycle :D

oh well, buying an expensive bike force me to cycle more for ROI :s22:

SmilingDevil

Guys, know of anyone who needs part time job on weekends?
Working Hours: 9 am to 9 pm.
Salary: $70.
Looking for students to do rental of bikes. Mainly weekends and Public holiday.
Location in my signature.

Sadisticnoob

quite a risk for me actually, since the last time i cycled was >12years ago that time.....

wanna cycle sexpensive bike to office but only intern cannot be show off so ride cheapo bike to work
I want to get. Have put my trip on hold so I don't need the items urgently. Kinda busy these few days. Will drop you a PM as soon I have time to go check the website again.
i have around 110 eur worth of products only, no hurries everyones busy now. will probably order on friday the public holiday

In this case, I have no idea whether the spokes will give way. If my naked eye can see the wheels wobbling, it seriously is super untrue. Unless the people who buy these bicycles see these as expendable commodity, they are just wasting money in the long run when they keep going back for replacements/repairs. I know, because I have many friends who keep messaging me in FaceBook and even here who keep asking me for better folding bicycle recommendations cuz their "economical" folding bicycle sucks. It encourages more people to cycle, and then dump their bikes and rot at void decks or tied at trees and lamp posts.

I already have 3 seasoned cyclists who suffered from foot cramps cycling on $88 Aleoca foldie and the number one culprit is the poor frame geometry that resulted in shorter cockpit length.

But I concur with you on your second paragraph. Its useful to cycle to the market 1km nearby and back. =:p Any longer, I rather take bus or walk.

imposing regulatory standards will always have cost incurred. pay peanuts get monkey. I dont think they will design it weakly, but rather beef up the joints , i havent seen any break yet.

wheel wobbling is okay la, as long as there is tension to counteract the centrifugal force when the wheel is spinning and the load. you see the bangla on the road the wheel wobble like siao still riding on

Broadwalk

Guys, know of anyone who needs part time job on weekends?
Working Hours: 9 am to 9 pm.
Salary: $70.
Looking for students to do rental of bikes. Mainly weekends and Public holiday.
Location in my signature.

Can I do? So I can pcw during weekend too. :o

erwinrommel

Erm.. initially i thought you meant you started recycling Aleoca bikes! :s13::s13:

Some things can be bought cheaply, but there are others that I won't. I buy helmets, bicycle frame that meet minimum safety requirement, etc.

Only when one has the confidence in your bike will you push hard on it.

If I pass an Aleoca bike to a somebody who is considering cycling and after cycling, he feels it sucks, so does cycling suck to him, or does the bicycle suck?

That's why I am always more than willing to lend my bicycle to others, including strangers who are pondering whether to pick up cycling. To date, I have lent my bicycle to at least 15 strangers to let them test ride and actually befriended a few of them. I have frequently mentioned in the forum that any potential newbies who are interested to pick up cycling can always drop by AMK and I will be willing to let them test ride.

Numerous friends also tested mine and I am proud to say quite a handful have picked up cycling as a hobby and they are now poisoning me with expensive accessories! :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.