[Build Log] Ebony and Ivory

shadow84

i put it flat on on the base. my res not long so ok.
photon 170 with d5 pump integrated.

go see my build lor.

don't like the rad to face the front leh haha the clearance below the case better than front cause of filter and the cover.

with the drain port. can close the filter bo?

the ball valve from barrows ok leh. looks good..

^shadow, my ball valve and rotary ok already, not loose. managed to stay in place. haha looks damn good.

got the idea from OCN to put the drain port there.

Gpgt at ur thread bah.... i oso cant visualise.. lol.

monikernemo

gosh by brute force and using plier and other fittings (to increase the moments applied to the valve), finally can close the valve.

As such re-planning front rad to GPU part. Gonna use a 90 degree fitting, use double-threaded fitting then go into a 5 Way fitting (ordered previously but cannot use).

Then straight compression one to GPU, use another double threaded fittings go to the ball valve.

So what I need to order now is around 5 stop plugs (one for pump top, one for res top, I lost one from radiator bottom port, two more for the 5 way fitting), two double threaded fittings. Hmm going to order now.

monikernemo

UZhL2e1l.jpg

Almost completed!!

Destroyed the threading on one of the front rads by tightening a dual inner-threaded fitting too tightly. Now it is spinning around damned loosely, and is prone to leaks at that fitting end. Guess lesson learnt.

Feel like adding another 240 radiator for future expandability hmm but at the same time also feel quite redundant getting that; I can do that when I have money for dual Pascal GPUs. Not to mention, I may change case. The 5.25 inch bay too zhor deng Liao some more not removable without hard modding.

Guess with a single Gtx 780Ti and a single 360 rad, the temps wont be too bad?

Still looking around on taobao for mobo extension cables, PSU jumper. Also to get some cable combs to neaten some stray cables. Also the fan splitter from Swiftech. Was deciding if I should get a qdc for the gpu. But then, like no point leh. By the time I change gpu I should be adding radiators also.

Sent from microwave oven using GAGT

monikernemo

Was looking around for other ideas then came across carbon vinyl wraps!

Took out PSU and prolly gonna mod the PSU as well as the SSD! Maybe throw in one more SSD

monikernemo

Dlcowi8l.jpg

Managed to mount the pump alot higher so have ample space for 240 rad at the bottom.

Really torn whether if I should get a 240 rad just to mount on the bottom. If I get a higher capacity PSU, have to change mounting again. But by then I should be changing my casing too. Damn leychey leh 75D Haha. Wish that the case could be much longer. Putting on hold for now.

khiqJyUl.jpg

Cf wrapped the PSU. Tried many many attempts, but the edges, up close, are still jagged and not that smooth. From far looks okay can Liao. Not a Virgo, not a perfectionist, and I can choose to live more happily. :)

monikernemo

jJhzE8bl.jpg

Dxg583fl.jpg

Test fitted with old rad. I think I will get another 240 rad bah. If need upgrade PSU I think just go and change casing?

Aside, I think looping from pump out to gpu will affect the aesthetics to some degree.

X0Ullj7l.jpg

Almost didn't clear. Perhaps should get XT45 instead of UT60? Pay just come in, hand itchy to get some hoots :)

shadow84

Might be better off mounting the rad at the front... HDD can go elsewhere...

monikernemo

Might be better off mounting the rad at the front... HDD can go elsewhere...
I getting new rad. I spoiled one of the ports and made it leaking. Tried to mount ODD but then I have a lot of issues as the res blocking the wires on the bottom most slot. Have this 5.25 inch bay adapter for HDD. Maybe can try

shadow84

I getting new rad. I spoiled one of the ports and made it leaking. Tried to mount ODD but then I have a lot of issues as the res blocking the wires on the bottom most slot. Have this 5.25 inch bay adapter for HDD. Maybe can try

What i did was to get a 240 rad and put at front. But i turned it upside down, so that it can fit in. With a monsta rad + 25mm fans, the overall thickness is just slightly shorter than the ODD tray length...

HDD as thrown onto the 1st ODD tray, then fan controller onto the 2nd lvl. 3rd lvl occupied by the 360 rad. SSD mounted onto the ssd tray, going for m.2 so as to remove 1 more cable.

monikernemo

What i did was to get a 240 rad and put at front. But i turned it upside down, so that it can fit in. With a monsta rad + 25mm fans, the overall thickness is just slightly shorter than the ODD tray length...

HDD as thrown onto the 1st ODD tray, then fan controller onto the 2nd lvl. 3rd lvl occupied by the 360 rad. SSD mounted onto the ssd tray, going for m.2 so as to remove 1 more cable.
Upside down meaning that you positioned the rad so that the side with dual port nearer to the odd bay?

I think first bah because my drain port will be on second rad. Vertical mounting will feel like more difficult to access the drain valve unless I get another piece of fitting to attach itself to drain valve.

shadow84

Upside down meaning that you positioned the rad so that the side with dual port nearer to the odd bay?

I think first bah because my drain port will be on second rad. Vertical mounting will feel like more difficult to access the drain valve unless I get another piece of fitting to attach itself to drain valve.

Inlet/outlet ports will b nearer to the bottom.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.