Can u swim? How u learnt swimming?

• Yes - training class when young / parents taught

• Yes - natural can swim/ self learn

• No - I can't swim

• Others: elaborate below

Results are only viewable after voting.

seanyboydad

never had lesson.... learn the frog in my teens, tried learning free in my thirties and from 5m, now can swim laps.... most of the time is technique.... common mistake is raising the head instead of rotating. forties, starting butterfly. can only do a half F one....... that can survive only 25m.... think technique wrong. any teacher here to teach? 😁

relax dude.... take it easy.

FrogGreen

never had lesson.... learn the frog in my teens, tried learning free in my thirties and from 5m, now can swim laps.... most of the time is technique.... common mistake is raising the head instead of rotating. forties, starting butterfly. can only do a half F one....... that can survive only 25m.... think technique wrong. any teacher here to teach? 😁

relax dude.... take it easy.
Bro start from freestyle lah. Nobody swims butterfly leh.

106gunner

Can u swim?

Did you self learn or went classes?

How frequently u swim?
Not a good swimmer and seldom went swimming

NS we are force to swim in lap in pool in uniform and also make to jump down from level 2 & level 3, those humji will be push down

While swimming in lap, there are ppl who held onto the side of the pool to rest or trek water but were hit with pole by the PTI

There are even non swimmer seen grasping for air and drown halfway swimming

This is how we learn swimming back then

messidona

Not a good swimmer and seldom went swimming

NS we are force to swim in lap in pool in uniform and also make to jump down from level 2 & level 3, those humji will be push down

While swimming in lap, there are ppl who held onto the side of the pool to rest or trek water but were hit with pole by the PTI

There are even non swimmer seen grasping for air and drown halfway swimming

This is how we learn swimming back then
yours is 30-40 years ago? you boomer?

BlueBull

Primary School time kept soaking in the swimming pool water in Farrer Park Swimming Pool, home ground of the legend Ang Pen Siong, then suddenly one day can swim already. Dunno what happened.

weiess

self taught and verified during bmt, no need to go for extra swimming lessons..
but long time no go swim liao.. coz tiagong public pools got many ghey..

LoneTraveller

Veri zhai in swimming after learning when young.

During NS BMT swimming test, I realized that I onli remembered the stroke but no form so swim veri slow.

Anyone try to relearn swimming when adult? Is it popular or laughing stock if go learn swimming again?
Self learn lor. I learnt in my 40s using youtube and online resources. During my own swim, I noticed that there are adults learning to swim from those swim coaches at public pools but mostly is aunties.

LoneTraveller

frog style.. can swim quite well.. in fact i go swim 3-4 times every week. 30 mins = 20 laps = 1km

I find swimming frog style even if i chiong all the way not tired one.. I think I can swim for one whole day
also can frog style

free style swim 1 lap liao tired like mad
Because u kick non stop mah.
Try using a 2 beat kick freestyle and the result is different.

-nyox-

Yes, love swimming and still do so a couple times a week.

Went swim training since young, certified Nassa gold star and also certified open water diver.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.