Can you afford a car?

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

ungtiong

Same like food... If u enjoy driving, then get a car... If not Grab or taxi. If u buy car, then worry about expensive petrol, expensive maintenance, expensive tyres...and cheap out on all these necessities.. Then just do Grab.

Spirax

Actually everyone born nothing, go back also nothing, it is the driving experience that count.
Can try rental or carsharing to get the driving freedom occasionally.

Or family trip once a while

kusuisland

Was looking at buying a brand new car , preferably a SUV for ferrying my parents and kid , SUV easier for elderly to get in , so i heard . Cannot stomach the DP Sia .. most car need at least 40K to 50K down payment . Sinkies so Rich sia.

My first car is a second hand Civic.. My Annual income is about 110K , but i think i cannot afford that DP without wiping my savings out. So most ppl who buy new car that rich? Does AD allow lower DP?

PsyClick

Was looking at buying a brand new car , preferably a SUV for ferrying my parents and kid , SUV easier for elderly to get in , so i heard . Cannot stomach the DP Sia .. most car need at least 40K to 50K down payment . Sinkies so Rich sia.

My first car is a second hand Civic.. My Annual income is about 110K , but i think i cannot afford that DP without wiping my savings out. So most ppl who buy new car that rich? Does AD allow lower DP?
Your income is good. But you have kid wife mortgage and living expense to think of too. Maybe even parent's allowance.

The loan package that requires 40% DP are regulated. Some dealers offer alternative loans with no or lesser DP, but the interest will kill you in the longer run. Hell, even the current packages the effective loan interest is already 3-4%.

If you need to touch your emergency savings for the DP, I dont think you should consider a brand new SUV. or psycho your wife to chip in haha

kusuisland

Your income is good. But you have kid wife mortgage and living expense to think of too. Maybe even parent's allowance.

The loan package that requires 40% DP are regulated. Some dealers offer alternative loans with no or lesser DP, but the interest will kill you in the longer run. Hell, even the current packages the effective loan interest is already 3-4%.

If you need to touch your emergency savings for the DP, I dont think you should consider a brand new SUV. or psycho your wife to chip in haha
Haha thanks ,, my wife wont chip in as she is not earning a lot. I guess you are right,. I prob can’t afford it ………..

myviowner

If you taking loans, means not ready to own a car. Save it up both and pay full cash on next new/pre-own ride.
Lower DP is possible with some AD only even zero dp. The interest is super high!

kusuisland

If you taking loans, means not ready to own a car. Save it up both and pay full cash on next new/pre-own ride.
Lower DP is possible with some AD only even zero dp. The interest is super high!
Pay cash , 100K one shot damn fierce ,, i know i am never willing to do that even if i can , maybe buy preowned or wait strike Toto …

warr

it's a transportation tool only. If u need it, then consider it. Otherwise it doesn't serve any purpose. Won't sit in any car as driver or passenger, no matter how luxury, if not for going from one place to another. My shabby living room is always a better place.

Most people in Australia don't spend 50k on a luxury one, but here a high percentage either spend or take on debt to spend 200-250k on one. haha.
Thanks for contribution to nation building.

eversomighty

Haha thanks ,, my wife wont chip in as she is not earning a lot. I guess you are right,. I prob can’t afford it ………..
bro, your earnings are alright, I'm a car dealer myself, I have seen people with monthly income of 1.5k(before cpf) asking me can buy or not? buy motorbike also difficult lor. remember pre-owned cars doesn't always mean cheaper and more affordable.

dilphinus

bro, your earnings are alright, I'm a car dealer myself, I have seen people with monthly income of 1.5k(before cpf) asking me can buy or not? buy motorbike also difficult lor. remember pre-owned cars doesn't always mean cheaper and more affordable.
Have you seen people with no income but able to pay for a brand new car in full?

Does dealer prefer those who take a loan or those who can pay in full?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.