Can you afford a car?

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

eversomighty

Have you seen people with no income but able to pay for a brand new car in full?

Does dealer prefer those who take a loan or those who can pay in full?
No income ok ar. got housewife buy with 50-60% down payment. if she cant pay after 1 year and car gets towed away, who's happier? Bankers, right?

dealers prefer those with loan cos got commission. of cos got some guys here like to act big shot, buy car must pay cash theory. honestly lah.. most car salesman have met very rich and also poor as f ppl in their line of work, we really dont care u rich or big shot. we only care if u dont sign on the sales agreement.

batniss

No income ok ar. got housewife buy with 50-60% down payment. if she cant pay after 1 year and car gets towed away, who's happier? Bankers, right?

dealers prefer those with loan cos got commission. of cos got some guys here like to act big shot, buy car must pay cash theory. honestly lah.. most car salesman have met very rich and also poor as f ppl in their line of work, we really dont care u rich or big shot. we only care if u dont sign on the sales agreement.
they always force me to sign with loan. No loan, the cost price becomes higher and less free things (though I know all of these are already factor into the price).

eversomighty

they always force me to sign with loan. No loan, the cost price becomes higher and less free things (though I know all of these are already factor into the price).
U can choose not to buy also ar. most price shown would require loan. well most free things like u mentioned are lump into the cost but there are some weird requests here and there that are not within the 'package'. u bargain no issue but bargain liao, met all their requirements liao then don't sign..

kusuisland

bro, your earnings are alright, I'm a car dealer myself, I have seen people with monthly income of 1.5k(before cpf) asking me can buy or not? buy motorbike also difficult lor. remember pre-owned cars doesn't always mean cheaper and more affordable.’

But the downpayment too much to stomach lol

dilphinus

if u talking about me, dont contact me.. I don't deal with anyone here, ok? I'm here to bitch and share, not sell or buy cars.
What's the tips on how to deal with agents/dealers when buying with full cash? What do I need to take note of? Like inform them upfront that I intend to pay in full?

What can I negotiate for if I'm paying in full?

eversomighty

What's the tips on how to deal with agents/dealers when buying with full cash? What do I need to take note of? Like inform them upfront that I intend to pay in full?

saying it in the very first moment is pretty important. cash deals also depends on the type of cars u buying too. If u buy from ADs, most likely they will charge u a fee. if u kena a smart sales guy, he will calculate a win win situation for both parties. that's doesn't mean a lower interest rate but at a rate that get u some more discount off the price and u can also opt for early settlement.

batniss

saying it in the very first moment is pretty important. cash deals also depends on the type of cars u buying too. If u buy from ADs, most likely they will charge u a fee. if u kena a smart sales guy, he will calculate a win win situation for both parties. that's doesn't mean a lower interest rate but at a rate that get u some more discount off the price and u can also opt for early settlement.
not easy to find such guy.

EJB

Discuss first, get the price, let the SE assume you will go for minimal loan.

If the SE smart and capable, he will get the same price without loan for you. There was a period of time they did that, same price without the in-house loans, insurance etc...

BigMonkey

se and ad prefer buyer that can incur the maximum profit outside of selling price of car, take 100% loan, take everything that in-house can offer to inccur more long term buyer debt.

jumpmanz

U can choose not to buy also ar. most price shown would require loan. well most free things like u mentioned are lump into the cost but there are some weird requests here and there that are not within the 'package'. u bargain no issue but bargain liao, met all their requirements liao then don't sign..
Nowadays still can bargain for more freebies? Esp with the higher COE prices now.

myviowner

Nowadays still can bargain for more freebies? Esp with the higher COE prices now.
Is up to your nego skills lor. Asking /bargain is free. Like what eversomighty said, many bargain liao then dun want sign the deal.
Therefore, better do some homework and know what you what before into bargain /nego stage. Save times for both buyer/seller.

EJB

I'm not keen for freebies, the 'worth' of these freebies are overpriced to begin with. I rather they take back all of it and rebate me from the car price instead.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.