Car owner maths ??!?!

Meemoosaa

yes its sexpensive to own a car, i own one because i can; and it get my things done.

not sure about car owner math, i dont drive hitch because i dont need to. cant speak for the hitch drivers.

tho you sound pretty sour for someone who cannot afford to own a car and yet trying to justify why. hehe

If you actually took time to check my other response, you will know that I'm not against buying a car and totally understand the awesomeness of owning one. I am only puzzled by why the car owners gasped in disbelief when I said my trip cost $10 - $15 for a 7km journey. Even if it wasn't any cheaper than owning a car, the total cost inclusive should be thereabouts or perhaps just a bit more but their reactions was as if the phv cost was out of this world. I just wanted to check where did my maths go wrong. Anyway, many bros here have highlighted that both driver and I were comparing totally different things entirely with too many variables.

I don't know where you got the bit that I'm sour.

Meemoosaa

they said 'wah so expensive ah'.... but did they say 'might as well buy car?'

if not, why are u comparing riding taxi/phv to owning a car?

Good point but being a good guest in their cars, I don't think it would be appropriate to question their statement. LOL

Meemoosaa

how can be half right, any sane person making such a big ticket purchase would have counted beforehand, literally common sense

not like going to fish mkt buy fish then regret and throw away

As many bros here pointed out, car owner probably wasn't considering sunken cost, I on the other hand was considering the overall total cost. We were basically on different channels comparing based on our own preferred lifestyle choice. Too many variables + different channel. Lol

esandwich

You know what, you have a point... LOL My peak hours rate to work is around $15, hitch is about $9 so they probably get $7.... No more $5 hitch bro. These days lowest is $7.

You may be the one who has finally unlock this mystery. :s13:

We might all have been looking at this the wrong way.

On this note, I've also come across some obnoxious hitch drivers who would say things like "oh you are very lucky to have gotten a match from me". :s22: .
long long time ago when i did hitch, i never take males
:o

Wu-Han Clan

if you need to count until like that then you shouldn't buy a car

last time when I ginna always hear relatives and friends complain petrol expensive or parking expensive don't want fetch or go anywhere

knn now I seriously see them no up

not that I haolian or what, but sunk cost fallacy already applies the moment you took the plunge to own a car here

can afford to pay so much for car then want to kbkb petrol/ERP/parking

although the petrol tax nowadays is ridiculous la.

lmaoooo... i dont knw why bt i oso cannot stand ppl who buy car then kpkb everything exp... worst is those buy car liaooo then they intentionally boycott some place becoz the parking v exp... :s11: :s11: :s11:

knn wtf man... like want to go drink at mbs then gt frens kpkb say $14 v chor.... dont want go mbs then go where?? go heartland mall??? then buy car for fk??? wear $2 slipper can go down heartland mall liaooo... no ned buy car for tt....... :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Meemoosaa

lmaoooo... i dont knw why bt i oso cannot stand ppl who buy car then kpkb everything exp... worst is those buy car liaooo then they intentionally boycott some place becoz the parking v exp... :s11: :s11: :s11:

knn wtf man... like want to go drink at mbs then gt frens kpkb say $14 v chor.... dont want go mbs then go where?? go heartland mall??? then buy car for fk??? wear $2 slipper can go down heartland mall liaooo... no ned buy car for tt....... :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

I think this is more of a Singaporean math rather than car owner math.

I once had a peer who threw a big housewarming party in his fancy condo, the house was literally REALLY WARM because he didn't bother to turn on the bloody AC with so many of us in the house. And the food was AWFUL. He went to buy his own beehoon, cooked his own veg .. not that I hiam home cooked food but it just tasted awful and limped. He didn't even bother to arrange for catering. . :s22:

I also know someone who would splurge on designer stuff in Europe, return to Singapore like a queen and then turn around and complain to me take cab to xxxx destination very expensive.

RedRedWine

I sometimes take grab hitch and ocasionally driver (car owner) will ask how much is the usual full fare to my destination, I said around $15 during peak hours and around $10 during off peak. This is for about 7-8km and I do it almost every day, one way. Without fail, they would always freaked out, gasped and said "wahhh so expensive ah".

I don't understand, they own a car, how is $10 - $15 for 7km any more costly than all their car cost and expenses added up ? At first I thought it was only one or two weirdos who can't do maths but then it happened a few more times.

I know there's girl maths, but is this a car owner maths thing or what ?

Are there any secret maths formula that car owners is aware of that I don't ? Unless the car + COE was gifted to them by someone else, how is it possible that taking a phv is more expensive than owning a car (any car!) right ?

Can edwmers pls enlighten ?
I think they meant expensive compared to what u paying for hitch

d5dude

Because you only travel 8km and its only sometimes. PHV will end up costing you more money if you take 2 x 20km trips during peak hours everyday.

Nemesis_lane123

I sometimes take grab hitch and ocasionally driver (car owner) will ask how much is the usual full fare to my destination, I said around $15 during peak hours and around $10 during off peak. This is for about 7-8km and I do it almost every day, one way. Without fail, they would always freaked out, gasped and said "wahhh so expensive ah".

I don't understand, they own a car, how is $10 - $15 for 7km any more costly than all their car cost and expenses added up ? At first I thought it was only one or two weirdos who can't do maths but then it happened a few more times.

I know there's girl maths, but is this a car owner maths thing or what ?

Are there any secret maths formula that car owners is aware of that I don't ? Unless the car + COE was gifted to them by someone else, how is it possible that taking a phv is more expensive than owning a car (any car!) right ?

Can edwmers pls enlighten ?
This is gonna be v specific so do read the whole post. In summary you are paying 3 times more than a car owner like myself based on usage.

My car mileage a month is 1500km minimally
Car cost a month is $1110.7
Cost per km = 74 cents per km.
Your cost = $15/7km = $2.14 per km

Thus in summary you are paying 300% more than me.

Full Breakdown

Maintenance -
Engine Oil -totachi self buy -40
Atf - self buy -50
Servicing mechanic friend - every 4 months -30
Total every 3 months - 120
Xtra buffer - 500 for any other maintenance

Insurance - third party, fire , theft - 630
Road tax-1100
Vicom -65
Year petrol - 3000
Yearly cash card top- 1200
Yearly parking -1293.6

Total = 360+500+630+1100+65+3000+1200+1293.6= 8184.6 yearly or 679.05 monthly all in

If add in cost of car. Paid 51.8k for a 10 yr civic plus top up of 10yr Coe. 431.6 monthly.

Real total is 679.05+431.6 = 1110.7 per month.

bbfa1965

One can pay $200k for car and find it worthy, but not $20 for caipng without fish. Perception of value.

finkslain

Mai goondu leh, they say expensive so that it sticks in your brain that hitch is cheaper therefore you will keep taking hitch meaning they get to earn more.

So simple also dunno?

junlove

This is gonna be v specific so do read the whole post. In summary you are paying 3 times more than a car owner like myself based on usage.

Full Breakdown

Maintenance -
Atf - self buy -50

Road tax-1100
Vicom -65
Year petrol - 3000
Yearly parking -1293.6

Total = 360+500+630+1100+65+3000+1200+1293.6= 8184.6 yearly or 679.05 monthly all in

If add in cost of car. Paid 51.8k for a 10 yr civic plus top up of 10yr Coe. 431.6 monthly.

Your costs are atypical (coe car, diy, mechanic buddy). How can compare.

junlove

how can be half right, any sane person making such a big ticket purchase would have counted beforehand, literally common sense

not like going to fish mkt buy fish then regret and throw away

U will be surprised how many dont really calculate.... many ostriches in SG. Buying houses also many no count properly, dont say buy car....

Meemoosaa

Full Breakdown

Maintenance -
Atf - self buy -50

Road tax-1100
Vicom -65
Year petrol - 3000
Yearly parking -1293.6

Thanks for breaking it down in such details.

Did your 51.8K civic came with 10 years coe ? When did you buy it ? Why would anyone sell after paying for a coe ? Also how much did you top up for the additional 10 year ?

koster

I think this is more of a Singaporean math rather than car owner math.

I once had a peer who threw a big housewarming party in his fancy condo, the house was literally REALLY WARM because he didn't bother to turn on the bloody AC with so many of us in the house. And the food was AWFUL. He went to buy his own beehoon, cooked his own veg .. not that I hiam home cooked food but it just tasted awful and limped. He didn't even bother to arrange for catering. . :s22:

I also know someone who would splurge on designer stuff in Europe, return to Singapore like a queen and then turn around and complain to me take cab to xxxx destination very expensive.

I can understand where they are coming from. At the end of the day, your peer owns a fancy condo and the person owns the designer stuff for the latter.

Meemoosaa

Because you only travel 8km and its only sometimes. PHV will end up costing you more money if you take 2 x 20km trips during peak hours everyday.

Yeah sure, I understand that but my question wasn't about whether it cost more if I take 20km x 2 everyday for phv, but rather is $10 - $15 for 7-8km so out of this world for someone who actually owns a car ? Please don't tell me not to count sunken cost as that would be false economy... lol.

It's pretty reasonable for the convenience that I get, I mean when off peak at $10, even more so.

Mecisteus

U will be surprised how many dont really calculate.... many ostriches in SG. Buying houses also many no count properly, dont say buy car....

Don't say the big ticket items.

Buy cai pang or nasi padang scared to open mouth to confirm price first before ordering.

Order liao then kaopei so expensive.

Nemesis_lane123

Thanks for breaking it down in such details.

Did your 51.8K civic came with 10 years coe ? When did you buy it ? Why would anyone sell after paying for a coe ? Also how much did you top up for the additional 10 year ?
Hi I bought my 10 year old civic in 2018. I paid 13k for the car and 38.8k for the coe. It will last me till 2028. I would not sell my car and possibly scrapping it in 2028 as I already have another car given by my FIL.

At 2029, my father in law underutilized new civic will reach 10 years. I have prepared 150k to top up the coe then. That is my plan. 2039 I don plan to drive anymore.

nothopingtogether

if you need to count until like that then you shouldn't buy a car

last time when I ginna always hear relatives and friends complain petrol expensive or parking expensive don't want fetch or go anywhere

knn now I seriously see them no up

not that I haolian or what, but sunk cost fallacy already applies the moment you took the plunge to own a car here

can afford to pay so much for car then want to kbkb petrol/ERP/parking

although the petrol tax nowadays is ridiculous la.

you dont realize their complaining is just a form of humble bragging. "aiya petrol now so ex, go orchard 1 hour $6, tsk tsk tsk, why did i buy a car COE can pay for home downpayment..."

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.