Car owner maths ??!?!

Unic0rn

Ocasionally when those low convertibles come as hitch, I would be like f****&^&£^$£** ............. ! I'm not so young anymore and the last thing I want to do is to bend up and down for those low seats and "exercise" my knees. 😓 lol. But no car, can't hiam hitch. :s13:
bend down to avoid hitting my head but will zg then knees up to step into the car or step out of the car will again zg 😊

barbaricboon

I sometimes take grab hitch and ocasionally driver (car owner) will ask how much is the usual full fare to my destination, I said around $15 during peak hours and around $10 during off peak. This is for about 7-8km and I do it almost every day, one way. Without fail, they would always freaked out, gasped and said "wahhh so expensive ah".

I don't understand, they own a car, how is $10 - $15 for 7km any more costly than all their car cost and expenses added up ? At first I thought it was only one or two weirdos who can't do maths but then it happened a few more times.

I know there's girl maths, but is this a car owner maths thing or what ?

Are there any secret maths formula that car owners is aware of that I don't ? Unless the car + COE was gifted to them by someone else, how is it possible that taking a phv is more expensive than owning a car (any car!) right ?

Can edwmers pls enlighten ?
Nonsense lah you. Your normal trip $10. If hitch, only $6-7+?? Only idiot hitch drivers will accept the trip, or you telling tall tales

Let's say there are really hitch driver accept your trip. Of course they will say so expensive har, cos they only earn less than $5 accepting yours.

They are not thinking about your assumed car cost vs PHV blah blah. They are thinking why so stupid accepting your trip, wasting his time, he is thinking of the price difference between hitch and normal PHV pricing

Meemoosaa

Simple fact is that without car owner “math” you wouldn’t have your hitch rides almost everyday. Without your parents’ car, you wouldn’t enjoy all your convenience.

You are absolutely right. As many bros pointed out both hitch driver and me were comparing oranges and apples based on very different lifestyle needs and choices. I was just puzzled and wanted to make sure my maths hasn't failed and if I did what went wrong with my calculations. Lol

I wouldn’t question and debate and even worse refer to all your parents’ problems, I would be grateful for the ride 😂

I do enjoy and appreciate all rides from everyone, from parents to hitch drivers but the response was towards another poster who seems to base his entire life and identity on the car they own, something is not right somewhere and I see that from my parents firsthand.

Meemoosaa

Nonsense lah you. Your normal trip $10. If hitch, only $6-7+?? Only idiot hitch drivers will accept the trip, or you telling tall tales

Let's say there are really hitch driver accept your trip. Of course they will say so expensive har, cos they only earn less than $5 accepting yours.

They are not thinking about your assumed car cost vs PHV blah blah. They are thinking why so stupid accepting your trip, wasting his time, he is thinking of the price difference between hitch and normal PHV pricing

You know what, you have a point... LOL My peak hours rate to work is around $15, hitch is about $9 so they probably get $7.... No more $5 hitch bro. These days lowest is $7.

You may be the one who has finally unlock this mystery. :s13:

We might all have been looking at this the wrong way.

On this note, I've also come across some obnoxious hitch drivers who would say things like "oh you are very lucky to have gotten a match from me". :s22: .

Meemoosaa

bend down to avoid hitting my head but will zg then knees up to step into the car or step out of the car will again zg 😊

Eh.. your details are too creepy.

I am now wondering whether you are one of those bbfa who goes around hitching for female company.

ghregular

That was what happened to my retired parents who had a car all their life. After they gave up their car, had identity crisis, it seems like they don't know how to live a fulfilling life anymore. Everyday just stay home, get depressed which I suspect fuelled all the various illnesses. Ask them take grab as if asking them to eat poison.
thks buddy. your words are somewhat poignant. i shall take note.

Botakkid

having a car is important if you treasure your time, I got experienced before want get car also no driver want fetch you situation on a weekly basis on multiple platforms

this one is called you got money also no car :ROFLMAO:

Gattaca1812

Can afford to buy time, always buy time. If cannot, then trade time for money. No one person is right or wrong. Just a matter of circumstances. The only commodity in life that is precious and same for everyone is time.

TitanSmall

they said 'wah so expensive ah'.... but did they say 'might as well buy car?'

if not, why are u comparing riding taxi/phv to owning a car?

invigo79

buttbERry

Honorary Mentor
Depends on mood. Will usually do hitch and I often get a match at around $9 during peak hours and $8 for non-peak. If got mood, will take public transport to return home.

I'm a dink, so no dependent, no tuition, no need to run home for errands. I guessed I just prefer to live a lighter burden lifestyle but I totally understand those with seniors and kids that a having one is very important.
Jin rich jin satki

goodluckchuck3

I sometimes take grab hitch and ocasionally driver (car owner) will ask how much is the usual full fare to my destination, I said around $15 during peak hours and around $10 during off peak. This is for about 7-8km and I do it almost every day, one way. Without fail, they would always freaked out, gasped and said "wahhh so expensive ah".

I don't understand, they own a car, how is $10 - $15 for 7km any more costly than all their car cost and expenses added up ? At first I thought it was only one or two weirdos who can't do maths but then it happened a few more times.

I know there's girl maths, but is this a car owner maths thing or what ?

Are there any secret maths formula that car owners is aware of that I don't ? Unless the car + COE was gifted to them by someone else, how is it possible that taking a phv is more expensive than owning a car (any car!) right ?

Can edwmers pls enlighten ?
yes its sexpensive to own a car, i own one because i can; and it get my things done.

not sure about car owner math, i dont drive hitch because i dont need to. cant speak for the hitch drivers.

tho you sound pretty sour for someone who cannot afford to own a car and yet trying to justify why. hehe

nothopingtogether

I don't get $15 everytime, sometimes it's only $10 - $12.

And why would I go to Orchard everyday during peak hours ?

When I'm not in a rush during the weekends, I take public transport or hitch that's why I was in their car ?! Of course when not in the mood, will use phv too. Admittedly, I do use a lot of phv but not everyday lah.

My monthly phv expenses is around $400 - $500 every month. Sometimes reaching $600. Can I get a car with that including cost of car + COE ?

Say even if my monthly phv expenses is close to $2K per month which is A LOT OF PHV ( 80 trips of $25 ! Lol) , it's also not any more expensive than owning a car right ? But don't know why the car owners gasp and feel like taking phv prices are so out of this world for them. lol.. I just find it amusing.
its always 'car-owner-math' vs 'i-take-phv-cheaper-than-car-math'.

Some people choose to spend more to save time and convenience, some people choose to save more to spend time and convenience. both sides of the fence will find the other side irrational.

standarture

To be honest, the waiting time for a PHV can also be quite long. From waiting for the match, and then waiting for the PHV to arrive... easily 10-15 mins.

junlove

Errr...

Cost of having a Car:
Monthly Expenses: $2000
Having a car for 10 years = 164,488/10years/12mth = $1370
Total: $3370/mth

Cost of taking grab /taxi:
i.e $20/trip, 365days usage = $608/mth

Meaning: 3370/608 = 5.5 times travel if by grab per day, everyday to be worth it
shld be >2k for a car that is 168k. Need to calculate the car loan, or the opportunity cost even if pay in cash (financially wrong to ignore the fact that even you have 168k to pay lump sum, you don't incur cost. your 168k put in simple SSB also wld grow in 10 yrs. just that taking loan is higher cost)

so... the above car cost, plus Road tax, Maintenance routine/adhoc, insurance, petrol, parking, ERP, cleaning and misc,

simple simple also >2k per mth.

pushtopen

if you need to count until like that then you shouldn't buy a car

last time when I ginna always hear relatives and friends complain petrol expensive or parking expensive don't want fetch or go anywhere

knn now I seriously see them no up

not that I haolian or what, but sunk cost fallacy already applies the moment you took the plunge to own a car here

can afford to pay so much for car then want to kbkb petrol/ERP/parking

although the petrol tax nowadays is ridiculous la.

junlove

if you need to count until like that then you shouldn't buy a car

last time when I ginna always hear relatives and friends complain petrol expensive or parking expensive don't want fetch or go anywhere

knn now I seriously see them no up

not that I haolian or what, but sunk cost fallacy already applies the moment you took the plunge to own a car here

can afford to pay so much for car then want to kbkb petrol/ERP/parking

although the petrol tax nowadays is ridiculous la.

Half right nia. Should count before you commit. Commit liao dun kpkb.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.