Clementi Ridges - Discussion here!

dropfromsky

4 months from now..when i will sign the lease.
not many ppl choose 191 because its directly beside the expressway ba..
2ndly, its beside the rubbish chute,
3rdly, the "L" shape formed by the rubbish chute and unit 191 might constitute to a large surface which might reflect the sound of the traffic up and causing it to be unbearable.

I m interested in the fengshui of clementi ridges too!! Any reviews of the whole area?(Althought I wont back off now..hahhaha):s22:

but if stay on high floor, will it be really unbearable (MSCP,rubbush chutes,highway)?
I hv little idea of Fengshui, and it really worry me if i choose unit 191, which is the least popular. or shld i take the lower floor at other unit if still available by then.. *scratch head*..:s11:

gnt888

wow, thanks for the info. I realised that SERS developments tend to get the best plots of land..

Comparing to their old flats, it may not consider better location. Their current blocks are Blk 321-323. Nearer to Mrt station.:)

Liang32

I got mine also..
Que number 236 for 4rm flat..
Selection date on 18th May...

Finally hahaha..
Greatest commitment ever...

a1vin1983

I have applied 4 rm too , Number is 38*... Die seems like there's no choice.. i'm Chinese & i've seen the balances of Chinese occupancy is left with 170.

Any idea how will HDB handle this or do we have to just move on to accept the fact that there's no more units left for Chinese

Keeganho

Hi all potential neighbours,

Maybe I can try to answer the query on Plot Ratio (PR). No guarantee that my observation and research is right. Lol.

Plot Ratio is essentially a multiplier used to times by the site area to give the Gross Floor Area(GFA) which could be built on the site. For example, if the site area measures 10,000sqm and the plot ratio is 2.8, a total GFA of 28,000sqm is allowed to built on the land itself. So what's GFA? GFA broadly refers to any built-up area or what I term it as walkable area within the development. It is inclusive of the stairs, the common areas and the housing units itself. In condos, the common property i.e. swimming pools and other facilities are included as well.

To place this in the context of clementi ridges, you might wanna take a look at Master Plan 2008 for the plot of land where the temp bus interchange is situated and the plot of land beside Nan Hua Primary if you are considering sea view units. A plot ratio of 4.2 is allocated to the plot of land which the temp bus interchange is on. In other words, it is likely to have a high building density of perhaps up to 40storeys. The PR does not indicate a maximum building height, neither does it tells us specifically what height are the future buildings gonna be. It merely states the allowable GFA. (In this sense, architects are given more flexibility to design their buildings. Note: other places may have a max building height such as areas around airport. Not quite sure for this cos i lazy to check. Lolz).

Drawing reference from the clementi mall land which has a PR of 5.0 and clementi ridges of 3.5, i speculate that the temp bus interchange will have buildings of 40 storeys approximately. On top of what many had mentioned that there will be a SERS development, I speculate that there may also be a private development as the Masterplan 2008 indicates 2 Plots of land there instead of just one. (So I was thinking one plot for HDB, one plot for private devt). My reason for this is that a PR of 4.2 is rather uncommon for land zoned for residential purposes. The clementi mall land is zoned as 5 as it has commercial spaces at the ground floor.

As for the land beside Nan Hua Primary, it has PR 2.8. Based on my research and observation, a land with PR 2.8 usually will have buildings up to 25 or 30storeys max. (Note: this is purely my estimation. It may be incorrect. You may want to do your own study). Therefore, potential buyers of units facing sea might wanna consider this.

Similarly, buyers of units facing the bukit timah hill may want to take note that the existing HDB flats behind (11 storeys currently) is zoned as PR 2.8 as well. In my opinion, this means that there may be a chance of SERS taking place there in the future to fully utilise the land. Therefore, you might want to factor this into your consideration when selecting a unit facing that side.

All in all, I hope my 2 cents of opinion and knowledge helps :s13:. I am not trying to discourage anyone or to derogate from anybody's decision. Instead, I hope it helps in weighing your pro and cons in unit selection. I am saying this cos I faced the same delimma too when I was choosing my unit a few days back.

lampano

No one can gurantee seaview, unless u stay to it. Much as there re many blocks out there in ave 3 will be torn and rebuilt to higher storeys years to come, not forgetting clementi west as well, which will/may go the same route. So many area will blockout the seaview

My personal advice, get the best unit block with the lowest noise level for living conditions.
The mrt tracks and roads are really noisy.....

DarthGW

is unit 163 good?i realise not a lot of ppl taking those..why ?

itmhitmh

Hi everyone,

I just selected my flat today.

Just to share some information. When I went down to the cluster of flats (304, 303, 302 ... basically the cluster of flats north of Clementi Ridges), I noticed that most of them have just had their lifts upgraded. Also I cannot remember if it was block 305 or 307, but the lift upgrading is still ongoing.

Im not sure how much you can infer from this but seeing as the lifts are still being upgraded, I suppose the cluster of flats might still be around for some time and would not be selected for SERS any time soon?

Just sharing some information to help those choosing ... not sure what you can infer from it though.

jesszheng

163 b blocked by our dbss neig..so no matter how high floor u choose oso wont get any good view. 177 might b blocked by 163.. 175, 185 n 187 if you choose low floor at least u get e park view. Choose anything above 12. U will get a unblocked. Get alittle higher den 12 to get bt timah hill view. 191 n 189 u nid to stay really high flOor to see e pandan reservoir view. As its quite far away....

lampano

Hi everyone,

I just selected my flat today.

Just to share some information. When I went down to the cluster of flats (304, 303, 302 ... basically the cluster of flats north of Clementi Ridges), I noticed that most of them have just had their lifts upgraded. Also I cannot remember if it was block 305 or 307, but the lift upgrading is still ongoing.

Im not sure how much you can infer from this but seeing as the lifts are still being upgraded, I suppose the cluster of flats might still be around for some time and would not be selected for SERS any time soon?

Just sharing some information to help those choosing ... not sure what you can infer from it though.
Hada talk with SERS officer before, he mentioned lift upgrading will not deter SERS schedule whch was planned 5 yrs before.

Anyway from my pov, if that area say, 5 yrs later declared for SERS, add another 5 yrs for new building replacement for affected residents to shift in. (10yrs already)The area will be left barren again, likely till for the next enbloc replacement use which is easily another 10 years above later.

Limestone

Hi all potential neighbours,

Maybe I can try to answer the query on Plot Ratio (PR). No guarantee that my observation and research is right. Lol.

Plot Ratio is essentially a multiplier used to times by the site area to give the Gross Floor Area(GFA) which could be built on the site. For example, if the site area measures 10,000sqm and the plot ratio is 2.8, a total GFA of 28,000sqm is allowed to built on the land itself. So what's GFA? GFA broadly refers to any built-up area or what I term it as walkable area within the development. It is inclusive of the stairs, the common areas and the housing units itself. In condos, the common property i.e. swimming pools and other facilities are included as well.

To place this in the context of clementi ridges, you might wanna take a look at Master Plan 2008 for the plot of land where the temp bus interchange is situated and the plot of land beside Nan Hua Primary if you are considering sea view units. A plot ratio of 4.2 is allocated to the plot of land which the temp bus interchange is on. In other words, it is likely to have a high building density of perhaps up to 40storeys. The PR does not indicate a maximum building height, neither does it tells us specifically what height are the future buildings gonna be. It merely states the allowable GFA. (In this sense, architects are given more flexibility to design their buildings. Note: other places may have a max building height such as areas around airport. Not quite sure for this cos i lazy to check. Lolz).

Drawing reference from the clementi mall land which has a PR of 5.0 and clementi ridges of 3.5, i speculate that the temp bus interchange will have buildings of 40 storeys approximately. On top of what many had mentioned that there will be a SERS development, I speculate that there may also be a private development as the Masterplan 2008 indicates 2 Plots of land there instead of just one. (So I was thinking one plot for HDB, one plot for private devt). My reason for this is that a PR of 4.2 is rather uncommon for land zoned for residential purposes. The clementi mall land is zoned as 5 as it has commercial spaces at the ground floor.

As for the land beside Nan Hua Primary, it has PR 2.8. Based on my research and observation, a land with PR 2.8 usually will have buildings up to 25 or 30storeys max. (Note: this is purely my estimation. It may be incorrect. You may want to do your own study). Therefore, potential buyers of units facing sea might wanna consider this.

Similarly, buyers of units facing the bukit timah hill may want to take note that the existing HDB flats behind (11 storeys currently) is zoned as PR 2.8 as well. In my opinion, this means that there may be a chance of SERS taking place there in the future to fully utilise the land. Therefore, you might want to factor this into your consideration when selecting a unit facing that side.

All in all, I hope my 2 cents of opinion and knowledge helps :s13:. I am not trying to discourage anyone or to derogate from anybody's decision. Instead, I hope it helps in weighing your pro and cons in unit selection. I am saying this cos I faced the same delimma too when I was choosing my unit a few days back.

Thanks Keegan for the great insight. Following your analysis, i have taken some time to read up more on the 2008 masterplan.

For those interested to know where to see it, view here:
Master Plan 2008

I will note my observations on top of the excellent observations by Keegan:

1) If you see the plot that is taken by Clementi Ridges (CR) and Trivelis (TR), note that it is zoned as 1 big space of PR 3.5, and not separated into 2. From this we can see that HDB or URA can arbitrarily break up the land space within a zone, and develop it separately. (as in the case for CR and TR).

2)I concur with Keegan, that the space taken by the old temp interchange is too large for 1 HDB development. Given that it has a large PR of 4.2, and as we already know that HDB is building SERS in the site, there is a high chance in my opinion that the SERS neighbours has the potential to be an EC, private condo, or a more grand HDB project similar to Duxton.

3) Units north,south, east and west of CR/TR all have a land PR of 2.8. However, masterplans do change, and when they do an en-bloc to clear a zone, my opinion is that it is also likely that they will update the PR of that land for the next project. I would not be surprised if in 10-20 years, the neighbouring plots of land around CR/TR will see the PR upgraded to 3.5 or 4 as well.

4) This means that in the long future, whether you choose north or south facing units for your CR selection, there is really no guarantee that your unit will have unblocked view. it's really a matter of how URA chooses to plan and design clementi's landscape in the next 20-30 years. But one thing is definitely more certain, URA cannot so easily move a highway, compared to HDB blocks. So you need to assume that the highway is not gonna move in the next 30 years.

B2NB2N

Hada talk with SERS officer before, he mentioned lift upgrading will not deter SERS schedule whch was planned 5 yrs before.

Anyway from my pov, if that area say, 5 yrs later declared for SERS, add another 5 yrs for new building replacement for affected residents to shift in. (10yrs already)The area will be left barren again, likely till for the next enbloc replacement use which is easily another 10 years above later.

Yes, but for those who are concerned with selling price, this will be affected once announcement is made.

B2NB2N

Those ratios are done trying to figure out if layout is a reason for people going for 185 instead of 187.

Clementi Ridges 4-room units taken up after 7th day (but captured on 11 May 9:20 a.m.):
163: 28; 32; 18 38; 35; 05 07; nil; nil;
165: 36; 33 38; 06; 09; nil; 18 34; 23;
175: 18 28 32 36 38 40; 23 30 33 35 37 39; 11 17 31; 10 12 25 26 29; 08 16 21 22 27; 09 19 20 24 34; 13 15;
177: nil; nil; 38; 10; nil; 07; 28;
185: 16 17 18 37 40; 09 15 22 28 38 39; 14 20 29; 04 08 10 19 24 30 31 32 33 35 36; 034; 12 26 27; 23;
187: 21 35 39; 18 23 38; 17 28 37; 27 33; 20 30; 29; 02 31 32 34 36 40;
189: 06 35; 18 30; 22; 38 40; 39; nil; nil;
191: nil; nil; nil; 28; nil; nil; nil;
Total 18+20+14+24+11+12+11=110 units
Most popular unit: 32x 175, 30x 185, 20x 187
Most popular level: 7x 38, 6x 18, 6x 28, 5x 35
Layout:
Overall: selected ratio is 31:79 vs available ratio 26:78 (1:3) (units in 185 & 191 vs the rest)
North facing: selected ratio is 30:55 vs available ratio 28:56 (1:2) (units in 185 vs 187 & 175)
312C: selected ratio is 31:28 vs available ratio 28:28 (units in 185 & 191 vs 187 & 189)
312C north facing: selected ratio is 30:20 vs available ratio 20:20 (units in 185 vs 187)

Just noticed this thread. Should post my tracking here.
For first few days, try to search it under the March BTO thread.
Anyway, the selections on different days are separated by semi-colons.
------------------

Seems like those who don't mind facing, there is a high chance of selecting a [high level] unit even if queue no. is large. The two popular north facing units 175 and 185 are almost gone, and 187 could be catching up soon while some unpopular units still have lots of units left.

Clementi Ridges 4-room units taken up after 6th day:
163: 28; 32; 18 38; 35; 05 07; nil;
165: 36; 33 38; 06; 09; nil; 18 34;
175: 18 28 32 36 38 40; 23 30 33 35 37 39; 11 17 31; 10 12 25 26 29; 08 16 21 22 27; 09 19 20 24 34;
177: nil; nil; 38; 10; nil; 07;
185: 16 17 18 37 40; 09 15 22 28 38 39; 14 20 29; 04 08 10 19 24 30 31 32 33 35 36; 034; 12 26 27;
187: 21 35 39; 18 23 38; 17 28 37; 27 33; 20 30; 29;
189: 06 35; 18 30; 22; 38 40; 39; nil;
191: nil; nil; nil; 28; nil; nil;
Total 18+20+14+24+11+12=99 units
Most popular unit: 30x 175, 29x 185, 14x 187
Most popular level: 7x 38, 6x 18, 5x 28, 5x 35
Layout:
Overall: selected ratio is 30:69 vs available ratio 23:69 (1:3)
North facing: selected ratio is 29:47 vs available ratio 24:48 (1:2)
312C: selected ratio is 30:22 vs available ratio 22:22
312C north facing: selected ratio is 29:14 vs available ratio 14:14

lampano

Thanks Keegan for the great insight. Following your analysis, i have taken some time to read up more on the 2008 masterplan.

For those interested to know where to see it, view here:
Master Plan 2008

I will note my observations on top of the excellent observations by Keegan:

1) If you see the plot that is taken by Clementi Ridges (CR) and Trivelis (TR), note that it is zoned as 1 big space of PR 3.5, and not separated into 2. From this we can see that HDB or URA can arbitrarily break up the land space within a zone, and develop it separately. (as in the case for CR and TR).

2)I concur with Keegan, that the space taken by the old temp interchange is too large for 1 HDB development. Given that it has a large PR of 4.2, and as we already know that HDB is building SERS in the site, there is a high chance in my opinion that the SERS neighbours has the potential to be an EC, private condo, or a more grand HDB project similar to Duxton.

3) Units north,south, east and west of CR/TR all have a land PR of 2.8. However, masterplans do change, and when they do an en-bloc to clear a zone, my opinion is that it is also likely that they will update the PR of that land for the next project. I would not be surprised if in 10-20 years, the neighbouring plots of land around CR/TR will see the PR upgraded to 3.5 or 4 as well.

4) This means that in the long future, whether you choose north or south facing units for your CR selection, there is really no guarantee that your unit will have unblocked view. it's really a matter of how URA chooses to plan and design clementi's landscape in the next 20-30 years. But one thing is definitely more certain, URA cannot so easily move a highway, compared to HDB blocks. So you need to assume that the highway is not gonna move in the next 30 years.
Haha i dun think the 4.8 plot will be use for EC or private condo. After the use for the SERS, the plot willl be reduced to about 2.2 only.

It will likely be used for future replacement site for nearby future SERS as well. Maybe the blocks infront of Clementi rigdes? haha

Limestone

Haha i dun think the 4.8 plot will be use for EC or private condo. After the use for the SERS, the plot willl be reduced to about 2.2 only.

It will likely be used for future replacement site for nearby future SERS as well. Maybe the blocks infront of Clementi rigdes? haha

No la, the plot ratio will not change even after SERS takes up half of that land space. the other half will still have 4.2 PR, which is more than the given PR for clementi ridges.

I personally find it strange that URA assign PR of 4.2 for that land instead of the 3.5 given to CR/TR. So the only logical thought extended from that is that the residential establishment will be more complex than trivelis or CR.

But as it is, we are trying to predict what URA is thinking in this case =)

lampano

yes your are right, i misunderstood the plot ratio.
likely the masterplan is outdated LOL.

Limestone

yes your are right, i misunderstood the plot ratio.
likely the masterplan is outdated LOL.

let's keep an eye on the masterplan updates.. =) The next update will be next year, 2013... i think around april to july 2013 we can visit the website to check.

In fact, i had a small idea just now.. why not we try to bring together all the future owners of Clementi Ridges, and put together a new forum, so that we can get to know each other, and update things like masterplan etc..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.