CPF nomination question

reddevil0728

just curious.
how many of us know ENS before this post?
And how many of us will opt for ENS instead of CASH?

I first time come across ENS.
If CPF ask me.. want cash or ENS.. 99.9% I will opt for CASH

We have to wait until 55 or 65 then can take out CPF and not all. Do we want our nominees wait long long to see the money :ROFLMAO:
not sure why cpf remove much reference to it from their website. Last time got.

Well, there are some who doesn’t believe cpf is a locking money device but a money making device might fancy ENS to pump in as much money into cpf as possible which they can’t do it in the normal course of life
Just wanna know, can I walk in to CPF building and fill up the nomination form? Previously I hearsay need book appointment but now after liftup the COVID restrictions, not sure whether can walk in or not. Thanks
That one ask cpf lor

anddrool

I've just called CPF and asked about the scenario of ENS for a minor nominee. Was assured that upon member's demise and ENS kicking in, each and every nominee even minors will receive the funds into their SA then MA or vice versa depending on the chosen mode up to the respective annual caps and if there is still more cash to be disbursed then the cash portion due to Minor will be transferred to PTO.
Good for you to share on how the money is credited into CPF account.
Before your post, i'm wondering how the money will be credited. Will it going to be everything going to OA or split according to mandatory CPF contributions ratios.

Sounds like nominations under ENS main goal is to ensure nominee will have enough money to retire. Unable to touch the money until 55 years old.
Unless the inheritance is more than SA and MA limit.

BBCWatcher

Good for you to share on how the money is credited into CPF account.
Before your post, i'm wondering how the money will be credited. Will it going to be everything going to OA or split according to mandatory CPF contributions ratios.
The CPF Enhanced Nomination Scheme (ENS) doesn't pay anything into the nominee's OA. It's just about SA (or RA if the nominee is age 55+) and MA. The SA limit is the Full Retirement Sum, the RA limit is the Enhanced Retirement Sum, and the MA limit is the Basic Healthcare Sum. The CPF member can choose a "fill MA first, then SA/RA" or "fill SA/RA first, then MA" nomination strategy. Any excess will be paid to the nominee in cash.
Sounds like nominations under ENS main goal is to ensure nominee will have enough money to retire. Unable to touch the money until 55 years old.
Not quite. MA dollars can be used for all MA things. That includes a bit of monthly income if the nominee is severely disabled.

I'm not sure if ENS dollars flowing into SA/RA are treated the same as "top ups" or not. If they are then (with fairly rare exceptions) they have to be paid out as CPF LIFE income. So that's minimum age 65. However, even if so the recipient might feel a bit more comfortable making a lump sum withdrawal (or larger lump sum withdrawal) from his/her own eligible dollars (if any) at age 55+.

I'm not generally a fan of the ENS, but it has its uses. When my spouse had "low" CPF balances I had an ENS nomination in place. My spouse would be absolutely fine financially with or without those particular dollars. I picked a "reasonable default," basically, so my spouse would have one less thing to worry about.

We should also bear in mind that CPF dollars are well shielded against creditors and court judgments. Inherited cash is not.

henrylbh

Oooh so it is not cannot will to mum it is becuz mum already got another HDB under her name I see. That dead hubby very scheming sia. He plan everything before he pass away. That few years he must have done a lot of research and explore various ways.
If flat under tenants in common, can still will the flat to the mother even though she is owner of an existing hdb flat. Dont assume the dead husband is scheming. He can't make a will if the flat is held under joint tenancy.

henrylbh

possible..
husband scare.. wife remarry. and form a new family.
New husband might have issue on the step-children once new husband has his own children.

So dead husband.. left the money to his mother. Hope that his mother can look after his children.
as the wife will get the house. no need to pay loan
That's is a despicable husband to give CPF money to the mum if he was thinking that the wife will go for another man when he dies.

henrylbh

alright thank you

yes i contacted cpf and public trustees office. but still very confused whether if its under ens or cash nomination lo. i mean its a good thing if its under ens as in the future i wouldn't have to worry about buying a hse as i have funds in my cpf account but at the same time i feel like my mom deserves and needs the money more. so yea thats why i rched out if i can find out abt it
Ownself confused ownself :unsure: If ENS, money would in your CPF within weeks of father's death. If default nomination, money will go to public trustee until you are 18.

Darwinson

Ok guys. How do I know I am a nominee in my dad cpf. He told me so but I never see by my own eyes. My dad (love him) no more. Cpf email me like doubtful liao.

reddevil0728

Ok guys. How do I know I am a nominee in my dad cpf. He told me so but I never see by my own eyes. My dad (love him) no more. Cpf email me like doubtful liao.
Very confusing what you saying.

you can check by logging to the nominator cpf account

RedsYWNA

If you are being nominated, CPF will TT you the money in around 3 weeks time. So just wait!

Darwinson

Ur dad love u no more?
My dad is a kiasu la. Confirm want the money to be utilised by family rather than give gahmen. Although he always threaten(for fun) he will donate it to community chest if I don’t get married. He cannot ubderstand these days very hard to convince women to marry you if you are average joe. I love him and miss him a lot. He saved me from a certain death when I was a child. He is my superstar and hero. Go talk to you parents and spend time with them.

qhong61

My dad is a kiasu la. Confirm want the money to be utilised by family rather than give gahmen. Although he always threaten(for fun) he will donate it to community chest if I don’t get married. He cannot ubderstand these days very hard to convince women to marry you if you are average joe. I love him and miss him a lot. He saved me from a certain death when I was a child. He is my superstar and hero. Go talk to you parents and spend time with them.
Will u be unhappy if he dontated to charity?

sohguanh

Will u be unhappy if he dontated to charity?
Depend on individual some not happy the funeral anyhow do lor faster send to burn. If got monies happy do grand funeral let him go good. That is why some old elderly reserve some monies hope got ppl do grand funeral for them when they go. Stupid thinking. You lie flat close eyes already can see how they do for your grand funeral?

Darwinson

logically his family is poor enough to qualify for charity funds. He would have donated to his wife and kids for sure.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.