DBSS after MUP

derrickgoh

I believe EC are considered HDB initially but after MUP it is like private condo. I pressume the S&CC fees will also go up then since its no longer hdb.

What about DBSS? Does the same apply i.e. after 5 years its considered private hence S&CC will go up? Or is it still considered hdb even after MUP.

Carnage

Correction: EC is not under HDB. The only thing similar to HDB flats is the 5 years MOP. HDB doesn't rule over EC, individual EC by-laws are in effect.

Whether or not S&C fees will rise after MOP is up to the MCST. It may even increase before MOP, the 2 are not positively correlated.

Nirvani

I believe EC are considered HDB initially but after MUP it is like private condo. I pressume the S&CC fees will also go up then since its no longer hdb.

What about DBSS? Does the same apply i.e. after 5 years its considered private hence S&CC will go up? Or is it still considered hdb even after MUP.

DBSS is an overpriced HDB.. it doesn't convert to private after 5 years.

Case in point : Pasir Ris One 4 room selling for 600+. With that amount you might as well buy EC...

derrickgoh

Correction: EC is not under HDB. The only thing similar to HDB flats is the 5 years MOP. HDB doesn't rule over EC, individual EC by-laws are in effect.

Whether or not S&C fees will rise after MOP is up to the MCST. It may even increase before MOP, the 2 are not positively correlated.
Ok but what about DBSS. I understand that unlike EC it does not become private. So would say a 4 room DBSS flat in AMK pay the same S&CC charges as a 4 room normal HDB flat in AMK?

tk

DBSS is treated just like a normal HDB flat :vijayadmin:

derrickgoh

DBSS is treated just like a normal HDB flat :vijayadmin:
So same conservancy charges lah. That's good. I still have a long way to go in terms of saving up for it, but good to know that at least the conservancy charges are affordable. Very siong if its going to be high like a condo.

derrickgoh

Case in point : Pasir Ris One 4 room selling for 600+. With that amount you might as well buy EC...
I buy property not to invest in but to live in. Private has its pros and cons. The high conservancy fee or sinking fund contribution is one big disadvantage for me.

I have no issues with DBSS being under HDB. Main thing to me is the estate as well as the individual home looks atas. Sure it has no condo facilities like tennis court, swimming pool and security guard but at least its one notch above regular HDB. Also, at least there is a fence with key card access so security wise its a bit better than regular HDB flat.

fire

almost bought Pasir Ris One due to location n short TOP.

fire

I buy property not to invest in but to live in. Private has its pros and cons. The high conservancy fee or sinking fund contribution is one big disadvantage for me.

I have no issues with DBSS being under HDB. Main thing to me is the estate as well as the individual home looks atas. Sure it has no condo facilities like tennis court, swimming pool and security guard but at least its one notch above regular HDB. Also, at least there is a fence with key card access so security wise its a bit better than regular HDB flat.

not all dbss has that...pasir ris one doesnt have fence or card access

tk

which DBSS got fence and card access system? those that I've seen dun have leh...

derrickgoh

which DBSS got fence and card access system? those that I've seen dun have leh...
Natura Loft at Bishan has a fence. I see a door where residents go in and out. Logically should have card access lah. If not what's the point of a fence right? Doesn't make sense to erect a fence if the gate is unlocked and anyone can walk in and out.

The Peak at Toa Payoh confirm have fence and card access. I visited a friend there.

Of course no system is full proof lah. Anyone can follow a resident in and claim to be fellow resident who forgot the key. But as the saying goes, its better than nothing.

sk0065

Ok but what about DBSS. I understand that unlike EC it does not become private. So would say a 4 room DBSS flat in AMK pay the same S&CC charges as a 4 room normal HDB flat in AMK?

no
i stay in a dbss

my 5 room rates are like 25% more than the 5 room flat across the road

there is even a mailer sent to us to inform us - make me angrier only.

because, my corridor is narrower, my lift more efficient.
thus by right, TC should allocate lesser resource to upkeep my corridor.

haiz.....

Aaron_soh80

Natura Loft at Bishan has a fence. I see a door where residents go in and out. Logically should have card access lah. If not what's the point of a fence right? Doesn't make a sense to erect a fence if the gate is unlocked and anyone can walk in and out.

The Peak at Toa Payoh confirm have fence and card access. I visited a friend there.

Of course no system is full proof lah. Anyone can follow a resident in and claim to be fellow resident who forgot the key. But as the saying goes, its better than nothing.

Gt security guard ma? or swimming pool ,GYM? tennis or BBQ pit? got any one of this?

derrickgoh

no
i stay in a dbss

there is even a mailer sent to us to inform us - make me angrier only.

because, my corridor is narrower, my lift more efficient.
thus by right, TC should allocate lesser resource to upkeep my corridor.

haiz.....
Unlike condos that hire their own cleaners and technicians, etc DBSS is under HDB so still relies on town council for cleaners and other staff right? So since its the same team what's the rationale for higher S&CC charges? Its not as if there is a swimming pool to clean. :s8:

Which DBSS are you in?

sk0065

Unlike condos that hire their own cleaners and technicians, etc DBSS is under HDB so still relies on town council for cleaners and other staff right? So since its the same team what's the rationale for higher S&CC charges? Its not as if there is a swimming pool to clean. :s8:

don't ask me la
i also don't work for TC.

derrickgoh

Gt security guard ma? or swimming pool ,GYM? tennis or BBQ pit? got any one of this?
It is NOT a condo. Doesn't make sense if DBSS has all of that, then what makes it different from an EC?

BBQ pit I think some DBSS have but definitely not the other stuff.

tk

no
i stay in a dbss

Maybe the 25% is to upkeep the extras like the card access system.. =:p

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.