DBSS after MUP

derrickgoh

Biggest diff btw HDB vs DBSS is no matter how you reno your HDB, it can nv look like condo style... the larger windows from some newer BTO are also formed by smaller pieces of glass (save building cost) compared to larger glass of DBSS. The smaller glass with more window frame makes it look ugly.
Precisely the reason why I'm considering DBSS. As I said, even if you have a million bucks to renovate, there is only that much you can do with a HDB flat especially those older flats in mature estates. Perhaps the newer BTO flats still can spruce up till quite close to condo style if you have the budget for reno. But old flat confirm you can't.

Only problem with newer flats is they are mostly in far away places like Sengkang and Punggol. BTO flats in mature estates are very rare and even then they are usually not that near MRT such as Toa Payoh Apex and the one in Hougang. Kampung Admiralty is in mature estate and near MRT but its all studio apartments.

Nirvani

Precisely the reason why I'm considering DBSS. As I said, even if you have a million bucks to renovate, there is only that much you can do with a HDB flat especially those older flats in mature estates. Perhaps the newer BTO flats still can spruce up till quite close to condo style if you have the budget for reno. But old flat confirm you can't.

Only problem with newer flats is they are mostly in far away places like Sengkang and Punggol. BTO flats in mature estates are very rare and even then they are usually not that near MRT such as Toa Payoh Apex and the one in Hougang. Kampung Admiralty is in mature estate and near MRT but its all studio apartments.

Which DBSS are you looking at? I suppose is resale right? All the upcoming ones already no more quota for chinese..

Carnage

Its a known fact that condo conservancy charges are higher than HDB. So why does it not make sense for and EC's conservancy charges to go up after privatisation?

My aunt used to live in a HUDC estate and when it privatised the conservancy went up.
Did u check whether it went up before privatisation?

I never said condos paid lesser S&C fees than HDBs. Liekwise, ECs pay the SAME amount of S&C fees as condos. I know because I'm will be paying for one soon and the estimated amount is already more than $300.

S&C fees is related to the age of the estate and the amount of homes paying for them, nothing to do with privatisation.

Carnage

All I can say is, my friends who bought DBSS regretted it afterwards.

Carnage

Care to share y he regretted?
This is related to the clementi BTO fiasco from 2012/13 and Trivellis. The 2 projects are within stone throw of each other. The price difference is more than 15%.

Another case is the DBSS at Yuan Ching. The price paid 2 years ago can buy a BTO at TPY now.

At the end of the day, both friends realise they overpaid for their houses.

straweffigy

If DBSS is really that good, why the govt stop it?

DBSS while looks good on paper, is still an overpriced rebranded HDB. It blurs the gap between HDB BTO and EC. As a result, you get neither here nor there. You pay a premium for the so cold DBSS and its finishing but still sub par compared to EC or private condos. You don't get facilities like swimming pools, club house, gym, security guards or guard house, estate wide fencing and key card access. Meaning for most DBSS (or those I know off), anyone can walk into your estate, as well as underneath your block.

Google for sub par finishing for DBSS as well as DBSS hard to let go after MOP.

derrickgoh

If DBSS is really that good, why the govt stop it?

DBSS while looks good on paper, is still an overpriced rebranded HDB. It blurs the gap between HDB BTO and EC. As a result, you get neither here nor there. You pay a premium for the so cold DBSS and its finishing but still sub par compared to EC or private condos. You don't get facilities like swimming pools, club house, gym, security guards or guard house, estate wide fencing and key card access. Meaning for most DBSS (or those I know off), anyone can walk into your estate, as well as underneath your block.

Google for sub par finishing for DBSS as well as DBSS hard to let go after MOP.
Toa Payoh Peak has key card. Govt stop DBSS as some sour grapes who cant afford complain its too ex. Not that its "no good".

Cant sell after MUP is because ppl too greedy. It happens not only for DBSS even BTO. Some joker buys from govt for say $400K then try his luck & sell for $900K, hoping to earn big bucks. Serve them right for being too greedy.

straweffigy

Toa Payoh Peak has key card. Govt stop DBSS as some sour grapes who cant afford complain its too ex. Not that its "no good".

Cant sell after MUP is because ppl too greedy. It happens not only for DBSS even BTO. Some joker buys from govt for say $400K then try his luck & sell for $900K, hoping to earn big bucks. Serve them right for being too greedy.

That's why. The premium one pays for DBSS, means its upward potential for any value increase is reduced or minimal. Compared to the upward potential for BTO.. or say EC and private condo.

DBSS 4room at Pasir Ris One around 600k+, how much higher can it go?
Compare the above to a BTO 4 room, or EC / Private condo 3 bedder configuration, even though for EC and PC the upfront down payment is higher but if you can afford it, the value will still increase.

Carnage

Buy high, you can sell how much higher?

If you buy high but location is good, then you shouldn't have problems selling higher in future.

But if you buy high because FINISHING is good, how much higher can you sell when the furnishing turns bad. :s11:

straweffigy

If you buy high but location is good, then you shouldn't have problems selling higher in future.

But if you buy high because FINISHING is good, how much higher can you sell when the furnishing turns bad. :s11:

That's why.. DBSS buyers always very defensive and turn a blind eye to this.

Buy DBSS 600k (4 room HDB) after 5 years MOP.. can sell how much?
Resale HDB in the same area transacting at 480-500k when the above DBSS at 600k.. So 5 years down the road, can the DBSS sell a lot higher than resale HDB in the same area? :s13:

Buy a 750-800k EC (2 bed room config, essentially a 3 room size) still can have upward potential of hitting 950k-1m after 5 years.

sk0065

spot on.
i think my location not bad...

the finishing is sai

like some bros correctly said: its just like using CPF to pay for reno.

sk0065

given that there should be more than 10 DBSS projects,

meaning there should be more than 10 MP(s) with unhappy DBSS owners, complaining to them at every MPS.

but ....for so many years, have we ever heard any DBSS mentioned in the parliament / news?

fire

That's why.. DBSS buyers always very defensive and turn a blind eye to this.

Buy DBSS 600k (4 room HDB) after 5 years MOP.. can sell how much?
Resale HDB in the same area transacting at 480-500k when the above DBSS at 600k.. So 5 years down the road, can the DBSS sell a lot higher than resale HDB in the same area? :s13:

Buy a 750-800k EC (2 bed room config, essentially a 3 room size) still can have upward potential of hitting 950k-1m after 5 years.

this is the reason i pondered for a long time while considering pasir ris one 4 room. i look to it only because its near mrt and top soon.

decide to forgo given the high price i have to pay for a much smaller size unit as compare to similiar hdb unit. upside is little and the reno is nothing to shout abt.

swathe

I think you all missed the point about buying a home.

You live in it. Can sell off is a plus, because you sell higher and also buy higher. DBSS has given many couples chance to stay in a location they want because they can't seems to get BTO in a good location.

There are complaints why Clementi DBSS so expensive. You can try queuing for the BTO beside it and probably wouldn't get it. So what? Go ballot for the faraway Punggol that will come out next 2 months?

DBSS = Guaranteed location, priority queuing, upscale design, etc.

The closest analogy is government hospital private patient scheme. You pay more, can choose your doctor, get a earlier + quicker appointment, etc. You can argue you can pay a fraction of the price with polyclinic referral with a longer wait, sometimes you are lucky and get the same senior consultant (aka doctor).

Zze121

Same theory applys for buying any ppty.
Fine details cost a lots more than some ppty, while general speaking most people pay extra for a reason.
Those hard to come by, limited in supply will always command a premium.
It's how buyers classified each property value, and also greatly affected by the loan quntuam available.
With today finance constraints, public housing loan will still be suppress by TDSR.

lampano

Why HDB reno cannot be better than condo?
Only the outlook cannot be done anything.
If outlook really matters, save more and buy condo better.

Good lucks to the DBSS owners. I think only going private (like the HUDC) can only help it a better buy.

noel13

Good lucks to the DBSS owners. I think only going private (like the HUDC) can only help it a better buy.

Well say!!!

Go for EC and not DBSS.
If u can't afford EC than HDB will be good enough.

Carnage

I think you all missed the point about buying a home.

You live in it. Can sell off is a plus, because you sell higher and also buy higher. DBSS has given many couples chance to stay in a location they want because they can't seems to get BTO in a good location.

There are complaints why Clementi DBSS so expensive. You can try queuing for the BTO beside it and probably wouldn't get it. So what? Go ballot for the faraway Punggol that will come out next 2 months?

DBSS = Guaranteed location, priority queuing, upscale design, etc.

The closest analogy is government hospital private patient scheme. You pay more, can choose your doctor, get a earlier + quicker appointment, etc. You can argue you can pay a fraction of the price with polyclinic referral with a longer wait, sometimes you are lucky and get the same senior consultant (aka doctor).

Pay so much for the location or for the finishing now?

Like I said, if you buy high how much higher can you sell?

And you will sell. I can almost guarantee you that. Because that's the direction this nation is moving towards. Your asset will be the one to be monetised once you age and no longer able to work. How many people from the previous generation are able to age in place? That number will continue to dwindle moving forward.

acetylcholine

Don't think DBSS can be privatised like HUDCs or ECs. After completion, they default back to being normal HDBs which are managed by the respective town councils.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.