DBSS after MUP

swathe

Pay so much for the location or for the finishing now?

Like I said, if you buy high how much higher can you sell?

And you will sell. I can almost guarantee you that. Because that's the direction this nation is moving towards. Your asset will be the one to be monetised once you age and no longer able to work. How many people from the previous generation are able to age in place? That number will continue to dwindle moving forward.

I still think you don't get the point. Okay lah, DBSS is for idiots.

straweffigy

I think you all missed the point about buying a home.

You live in it. Can sell off is a plus, because you sell higher and also buy higher. DBSS has given many couples chance to stay in a location they want because they can't seems to get BTO in a good location.

There are complaints why Clementi DBSS so expensive. You can try queuing for the BTO beside it and probably wouldn't get it. So what? Go ballot for the faraway Punggol that will come out next 2 months?

DBSS = Guaranteed location, priority queuing, upscale design, etc.

The closest analogy is government hospital private patient scheme. You pay more, can choose your doctor, get a earlier + quicker appointment, etc. You can argue you can pay a fraction of the price with polyclinic referral with a longer wait, sometimes you are lucky and get the same senior consultant (aka doctor).

Buying a home is for staying, for most people. That doesn't mean we shouldn't look long term into the future and plan for it. If we buy a home only to face problems while selling, isn't it a torture? For e.g unable to find a buyer or sell at a loss or minimal profit.

Especially when housing is a big ticket item for most people. All the more you should get your money's worth + easy to sell + future profit when selling.

Although if I top up a bit more and buy an EC equals to following the buy high sell high logic, which means my initial cash down payment may be higher, but my house can probably appreciate more in value, giving me a tidy sum of profit in the future. Can the DBSS do the same? I reckon buy high and sell at a loss or can't sell :s13:

Carnage

I still think you don't get the point. Okay lah, DBSS is for idiots.
I still think you refuse to wake up.

Let's see who is right in the coming years. Alot of DBSS will come online. The Peak @ TPY will fulfill MUP in 2018. Let's see whether their price can really reach the peak. :o

perry

I buy property not to invest in but to live in. Private has its pros and cons. The high conservancy fee or sinking fund contribution is one big disadvantage for me.

I have no issues with DBSS being under HDB. Main thing to me is the estate as well as the individual home looks atas. Sure it has no condo facilities like tennis court, swimming pool and security guard but at least its one notch above regular HDB. Also, at least there is a fence with key card access so security wise its a bit better than regular HDB flat.

i am surprise that DBSS has fence and key card. DBSS is public flat, design and build by private and maintain by HDB.

perry

Let's see who is right in the coming years. Alot of DBSS will come online. The Peak @ TPY will fulfill MUP in 2018. Let's see whether their price can really reach the peak. :o

The Peak @ TPY should command good price as it near amenities as well as not too far from NS Line and Circle Line.

perry

Not allowed to box up. Of course you can probably find some shady contractor who will agree but even then its just a false wall made of wood boxing it up lor so its still noisy when your upstairs neighbour bathe. DBSS one is like the new units where its inside the concrete wall. Very quiet.

why not? long long time, the kitchen cabinet already box up the water and gas pipe!

derrickgoh

why not? long long time, the kitchen cabinet already box up the water and gas pipe!
Do u know how many old flats have exposed water pipes? U are not allowed to box it up. Even if u do, its just a false wall which does not block out the noise.

derrickgoh

Some ppl here are clearly arguing for the sake or arguing. Firstly i am talking about resale DBSS. U cant buy BTO DBSS anyway as they have stopped building them. Secondly, those who know the market will know EC cost quite a bit more than DBSS. I laugh at the guy who said he would rather buy a resale EC for $600K. Who the hell will resell an EC for $600k? His grandfather?

derrickgoh

Why HDB reno cannot be better than condo?
Only the outlook cannot be done anything.
If outlook really matters, save more and buy condo better.

Good lucks to the DBSS owners. I think only going private (like the HUDC) can only help it a better buy.
I would love to see how u will change the layout of the flat. I have seen some toilets with toilet bowl inside & shower outside. Dumb design. U can move the toilet bowl meh?

If your HDB dont have bay window or full height window, u can renovate & put those in? If its old flat with noisy exposed water pipe u can brick it up? There are many things which u cant change even if u have the money.

derrickgoh

Buying a home is for staying, for most people. That doesn't mean we shouldn't look long term into the future and plan for it. If we buy a home only to face problems while selling, isn't it a torture? For e.g unable to find a buyer or sell at a loss or minimal profit.

Especially when housing is a big ticket item for most people. All the more you should get your money's worth + easy to sell + future profit when selling.

Although if I top up a bit more and buy an EC equals to following the buy high sell high logic, which means my initial cash down payment may be higher, but my house can probably appreciate more in value, giving me a tidy sum of profit in the future. Can the DBSS do the same? I reckon buy high and sell at a loss or can't sell :s13:
A home used to be affordable as ppl bought a flat to live in. Many ppl now only think of $. The minute they get a house they think of selling. This has resulted in the property prices going sky high. So in a way, these greedy people have spoiled the market.

derrickgoh

Well say!!!

Go for EC and not DBSS.
If u can't afford EC than HDB will be good enough.
And why must everyone subscribe to your thinking? If u r happy living in a HDB thats up to u but others want to upgrade. They may not be able to afford EC so they get DBSS. At least its 1 notch above normal HDB.

SKWSMC

Ok TS relax see your recent post all very angry one...
Layout wise if you buy resales you always can see what you are getting. There are good HDB and there are lousy DBSS too. Ok let not go to the exterme cases.
There are some people here saying DBSS has better quality (material used for renovation not talking about layout) but seriously if you have friend in this line you can ask them. You will be surprised that some DBSS material are not that good, I will not say lousy in case they want to sue me :).
So my advise open your eyes big big and check. Don't see nice then buy.
Some of the flooring and inside doors are jokes... Those material if you do your own research you will not buy kind. I am talking about quality and not design hoh.
All the best to shop for your dream home.

chehjin

like cars, some people got 4 wheels can already, some want evo, some want lambo. can afford or not is another thing. isn't housing the same.

Whether there is value in EC or DBSS depends on the buyer which is yourself, why worry so much about others.

if you want to talk pricing, DBSS is more pricier when first launched, but you get a nearly completed unit compared to bare HDB unit. And if you want to talk resale value, PSF is the only thing to see. PSF of DBSS is still similar to nearby HDB block last checked(also higher then launched). So end of day, it is still location location location.

regarding materials, yes DBSS materials are lowest quote, but open your eyes, look at the recent BTO fiasco, there also lowest quote. Whats the diff?

those who think EC are a better deal, it may be so a few years back, but the pricing now a days, it is not a simple top up. It is a big top up. you think developers stupid?

anyway, everyone situation different. you need a house, you need a house. All this talk about planning, whatever. Good luck.

civic3106

Do u know how many old flats have exposed water pipes? U are not allowed to box it up. Even if u do, its just a false wall which does not block out the noise.

Just a side note on the noisy water pipe.

The noise is normally due to water tap. A single faulty water tap will cause all water taps/pipe to chatter if any one (even a good one) is turn on (including your up/down neighbours). It is better to fit it asap or else one of the pipe joint will give way. The faulty tap is usually the one that causes very small leaking or heater problem. The culprit is the internal valve that vibrates and result in pressure fluctuation.

BTW drain pipe, water pipe and gas pipe all can cover up with cabinet, L-Box and false ceiling/wall. I am one of the unlucky one that kena HDB inspection, but have no problem with the pipes.

chehjin

End of day, DBSS is just a HDB, but as this project is in TPY, I think their pricing won't be too shabby.

chehjin

you are assuming DBSS is over priced while EC is under priced. but in current markets, both are on the high. If you buy a EC recently, I doubt you are can buy high and sell high.

And it is not a bit more, the top up is quite significant now a days. if you compare 3 bedders, the difference can range from 300-400k easily. If this is considered a bit more, why don't you top up a little bit more and buy a proper condo?

if you want to get your money's worth, you should buy as cheaply as possible and pay off the loan asap to get back into positive cash flow. For e.g, if you have bought sengkang BTO 4 room about 5 years back, and you'd saved hard, you can pay off the loan in 10 years. Now 5 years later, the value of last sold arm is nearly double of the initial sale price. thats is 100% of your money back. Which EC can do that?

Zze121

I was confused by MUP mentioned, should be MOP.

Is a ppty over priced?
For buyer, ask yrself is the valuation on that ppty worth that much?
Though DBSS was fully furnished, but did the finishing worth 200k?
Most DBSS are 40 storeys high, not many condo have that.
One good point about DBSS & EC will be shorter queue being shorter waiting time than applying for a BTO.

So urgent buyer who had tried many times for a BTO will think it's worth every single cent.
Whats worried for many potential buyers was this extra cost may not be valued when selling, especially for DBSS.
Frankly waiting for yr BUC to TOP is unbearable, it's a matter of wanting something new n not second hand where nightmare of ah long etc.

BTO 400psf, resale HDB 500psf, DBSS 600psf, EC 750~800 psf & condo 900~3000psf so on n so for....buy something that we like, each segment has its plus points.

For example - condo, it can be freehold, come with basement carpark, pneumatic waste system where rubbish channel to basement level instead of bin collection center below every block, it can be mortgage, no MOP restrictions, next to GCB, a mix-dev with MRT at the door step etc.

But of cause with the high maintenance fee its come with better greenery n air-con lobby bah bah bah..
Some ppl feel that all these are of no importance n so the extra high construction cost is not worth.
Depend how u use yr ppty, each preferences r diff, some does not like near MRT or hospital, but for rental, investment n sellable those r consider prime without comparing to CCR ppty.

Be a valuer for yr own ppty, cos its our own money, each ppty has a value n its depend how u look at it.
Some ppl really go for life style like what ppty TVC always project a high life living.
But in actual living does it really happen?

When screening through all those condos listing, not all are nice n cosy.
Some recent years built condo does have latest design with build-in stuffs like micro wave oven, coffee mixer, wine chiller, washer, rain shower, keyless access, marble finishes, nice full glass facade, soft closing for cabinets, waterfalls land scape or roof top infinity pool. All this will depends on developer, project size, type of dev, of course nowadays many projects are cutting corner/cost at the same time jack up prices.

In the end, one rather go for a HDB or DBSS to incorporate some condo features into the flat, but ceiling height, air-con ducting, hot/cold water piping, floor to ceiling window glass panel, balcony barrier we can't alter or hide like condo style, especially in the toilet area where there is a 5 year bar on hacking, unless decide to waste some space just to concealed them, there will still be some limitation, but owner still get it cheap and still can retain a HDB/DBSS to purchase a condo, and not the other way round.

Lots of homework is required in looking for a dream home.
Just prioritise the needs, go through the details n prepare to queue for a dream home or unless one have a priority queue for a BTO with HDB?

straweffigy

you are assuming DBSS is over priced while EC is under priced. but in current markets, both are on the high. If you buy a EC recently, I doubt you are can buy high and sell high.

And it is not a bit more, the top up is quite significant now a days. if you compare 3 bedders, the difference can range from 300-400k easily. If this is considered a bit more, why don't you top up a little bit more and buy a proper condo?

if you want to get your money's worth, you should buy as cheaply as possible and pay off the loan asap to get back into positive cash flow. For e.g, if you have bought sengkang BTO 4 room about 5 years back, and you'd saved hard, you can pay off the loan in 10 years. Now 5 years later, the value of last sold arm is nearly double of the initial sale price. thats is 100% of your money back. Which EC can do that?

I didn't assume DBSS is overpriced. IT IS. I didn't say EC is underpriced but it is better value for others esp. if both are expensive.

How much top up it is, I guess it is up to individual.

kimcheng123

DBSS is HDB , got GST Voucher, S&CC rebate.
Dont't have swimming pool, car park, etc , don't have to pay for it.
Location, good . Like Pasir Ris One, 200 m to MRT and future food centre.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.