DBSS after MUP

sk0065

Maybe the 25% is to upkeep the extras like the card access system.. =:p

eh....
say my 25% is = $10
700 units = $7000

one month need $7000 for access gate? i rather they remove the gate and refund me $10

hahahahahhaha

sk0065

It is NOT a condo. Doesn't make sense if DBSS has all of that, then what makes it different from an EC?

BBQ pit I think some DBSS have but definitely not the other stuff.

BBQ pit -- have,
washing area, toilet -- no.

dunno which idiot draw up the blueprint for DBSS.

derrickgoh

BBQ pit -- have,
washing area, toilet -- no.

dunno which idiot draw up the blueprint for DBSS.
If have washing area and toilet the S&CC charges will be even higher 'cos needs to be cleaned plus sure have some idiots wasting water.

dustyRoom

go for either hdb or ec, no point getting dbss. sorry to those who bought dbss :s13:

derrickgoh

go for either hdb or ec, no point getting dbss. sorry to those who bought dbss :s13:
EC too expensive. And when after 10 years it is privatised lagi terok as the maintenance fees will sky rocket compared to town council S&CC charges.

HDB affordable but let's face it lah, exterior doesn't look great. Interior also very blah. Even if you renovate, there is only that much that you can do as there are constraints.

From the beginning HDB already said DBSS was for those who want something better than HDB but can't afford EC or condo.

Anyway, not all DBSS are the same. The one I am eyeing is in Bishan. Its very near the MRT compared to other DBSS. Also, its one of the few (The Peak Toa Payoh being the other) that is fenced up with card access via side gate.

DavCha

DBSS is an overpriced HDB.. it doesn't convert to private after 5 years.

Case in point : Pasir Ris One 4 room selling for 600+. With that amount you might as well buy EC...

Eh.... please compare apples to apples.

600+k buy what EC? DBSS may be expensive but the design inside is different from normal HDB and location is usually in better mature estates. How you going to get EC of SAME size at 600+k?

DavCha

I personally feel that DBSS is a money-making scheme by the government, though they don't tell you.

They know they will be importing a lot of rich immigrants here and give them citizenships. These new Singaporeans will have no problems buying up DBSS flats at much higher prices than BTOs.

I go to my cousin's place... fwahhh, saw quite a number of China Chinese or India Indians. They are probably Singaporeans now.

I don't mind them. Some are nice people. What I am angry is, during 2007-early 2013, people have been asking the government to stop building such expensive DBSS flats. There were many people waiting for a BTO flat and couldn't get one.

That was when, if you remember, resale flat prices shot up like mad. $700k, 800k flats, COV of $120k are not uncommon. Those who can't wait to own a flat had no choice but to proceed.

Have you all wondered why they ding dong and refused to build BTO flats (under the reign of Mah Bow Tan then?)

This is only my theory and may not be true.

I realized from reports the government lost a lot of money (our money likely!) during the 2008 economic crisis. By not building more BTOs, they saved money and trouble from building more flats. This of course also artificially caused resale flat prices to shoot up quickly. When new owners need to buy their flats, they usually take HDB loans and use their CPF money to pay. So these hard-earned money get sucked into the government's pocket. Makes sense?

On top of that, they continued with the DBSS projects. Why? Cos it's a business transaction they made with the private developers. They can sell the lands to the higher bidders. The HDB/MND make more profits like that than building BTOs.

For the developers, they can choose to price their flats whatever they like also. They too make profits. And anything they build outside, like balconies or planter areas, air-con ledges, are all discounted or not charged by MND!!! So it's a win-win for HDB/MND and the developers. But it's lose all the way for DBSS home buyers.

At one point, a DBSS flat went as high as $880,000!!! Remember?

Only after 2013 did this brilliantly cunning government realized the citizens are not stupid after all as they had appeared to be for sometime. Then only they decided ok, we have to build more BTOs.

Now, all the resale flat prices have dropped. From high COV, to zero or even -ve COV.

Think about it. It makes sense.

fire

I personally feel that DBSS is a money-making scheme by the government, though they don't tell you.

They know they will be importing a lot of rich immigrants here and give them citizenships. These new Singaporeans will have no problems buying up DBSS flats at much higher prices than BTOs.

I go to my cousin's place... fwahhh, saw quite a number of China Chinese or India Indians. They are probably Singaporeans now.

I don't mind them. Some are nice people. What I am angry is, during 2007-early 2013, people have been asking the government to stop building such expensive DBSS flats. There were many people waiting for a BTO flat and couldn't get one.

That was when, if you remember, resale flat prices shot up like mad. $700k, 800k flats, COV of $120k are not uncommon. Those who can't wait to own a flat had no choice but to proceed.

Have you all wondered why they ding dong and refused to build BTO flats (under the reign of Mah Bow Tan then?)

This is only my theory and may not be true.

I realized from reports the government lost a lot of money (our money likely!) during the 2008 economic crisis. By not building more BTOs, they saved money and trouble from building more flats. This of course also artificially caused resale flat prices to shoot up quickly. When new owners need to buy their flats, they usually take HDB loans and use their CPF money to pay. So these hard-earned money get sucked into the government's pocket. Makes sense?

On top of that, they continued with the DBSS projects. Why? Cos it's a business transaction they made with the private developers. They can sell the lands to the higher bidders. The HDB/MND make more profits like that than building BTOs.

For the developers, they can choose to price their flats whatever they like also. They too make profits. And anything they build outside, like balconies or planter areas, air-con ledges, are all discounted or not charged by MND!!! So it's a win-win for HDB/MND and the developers. But it's lose all the way for DBSS home buyers.

At one point, a DBSS flat went as high as $880,000!!! Remember?

Only after 2013 did this brilliantly cunning government realized the citizens are not stupid after all as they had appeared to be for sometime. Then only they decided ok, we have to build more BTOs.

Now, all the resale flat prices have dropped. From high COV, to zero or even -ve COV.

Think about it. It makes sense.

simple... Profit Above People.

derrickgoh

Ok ok let's not get into politics and keep the discussion to DBSS.

Anyone here bought a resale DBSS yet? I read online that the Tampines one have people selling for $600 to $700K.

Nirvani

Ok ok let's not get into politics and keep the discussion to DBSS.

Anyone here bought a resale DBSS yet? I read online that the Tampines one have people selling for $600 to $700K.

I did consider but prices really not attractive...

derrickgoh

I did consider but prices really not attractive...
Guess it depends on which DBSS also lah. If those like Bishan or Toa Payoh which are near to MRT, confirm will cost more.

Well, at the end of the day its a DBSS so high price is expected lah. Unlike most flats in mature HDB estates which are old (20 years & more), DBSS are much newer. And even if you are not impressed by the more atas looking exterior of the DBSS compared to HDB, there is also the interior.

No doubt you can renovate the place but I personally find the layout of older HDB flats very limited. Even if you have half a million to blow on renovations, there is not much you can do as certain things you can't change such as the exposed water pipe in the toilet or the horrible layout of the toilet.

For DBSS the interior looks more posh, machiam like condo. If its in good condition and you are not fussy, can even save money by doing minimal reno.

DBSS layout also better. Some even have bay windows and planters. I always don't bother with show room pics as those are meant to impress. But I look at floor plans to see what I can renovate.

Nirvani

I guess its ok if you have combined salary near to 10k a month or have a lot of cpf savings and you intending to stay long term. Otherwise its going to be a stretch.

Exposed pipes in hdb can it be boxed up?

derrickgoh

I guess its ok if you have combined salary near to 10k a month or have a lot of cpf savings and you intending to stay long term. Otherwise its going to be a stretch.

Exposed pipes in hdb can it be boxed up?
Not allowed to box up. Of course you can probably find some shady contractor who will agree but even then its just a false wall made of wood boxing it up lor so its still noisy when your upstairs neighbour bathe. DBSS one is like the new units where its inside the concrete wall. Very quiet.

Anyway pipes is just one issue lah, there are other things such as the layout of flat, type of window, possibly bay window, layout of toilet, etc. I have seen a flat where the toilet bowl is inside and the shower is outside. Bathe only all the water come out even if door is closed. :s22: Dunno which idiot designed it. Its only common sense to put shower inside and toilet bowl outside mah!

Carnage

EC too expensive. And when after 10 years it is privatised lagi terok as the maintenance fees will sky rocket compared to town council S&CC charges.

HDB affordable but let's face it lah, exterior doesn't look great. Interior also very blah. Even if you renovate, there is only that much that you can do as there are constraints.

From the beginning HDB already said DBSS was for those who want something better than HDB but can't afford EC or condo.

Anyway, not all DBSS are the same. The one I am eyeing is in Bishan. Its very near the MRT compared to other DBSS. Also, its one of the few (The Peak Toa Payoh being the other) that is fenced up with card access via side gate.
I wonder who told you all that hogwash abt privatisation hiking up S&C charges.

I think you have a misconception about ECs. Privatisation has nothing to do with whether S&C charges goes up or down. The only reason why S&C charges goes up is because the estate ages so it costs more to maintain the upkeep.

Every condo undergoes that, be it EC or pte condos.

More importantly, Don't Be So Stupid.

derrickgoh

I wonder who told you all that hogwash abt privatisation hiking up S&C charges.

I think you have a misconception about ECs. Privatisation has nothing to do with whether S&C charges goes up or down. The only reason why S&C charges goes up is because the estate ages so it costs more to maintain the upkeep.

Every condo undergoes that, be it EC or pte condos.

More importantly, Don't Be So Stupid.
Its a known fact that condo conservancy charges are higher than HDB. So why does it not make sense for and EC's conservancy charges to go up after privatisation?

My aunt used to live in a HUDC estate and when it privatised the conservancy went up.

rymchardware

Its a known fact that condo conservancy charges are higher than HDB. So why does it not make sense for and EC's conservancy charges to go up after privatisation?

My aunt used to live in a HUDC estate and when it privatised the conservancy went up.

Nowadays, the maintenance fees (i.e. conservancy charges) for ECs are ALREADY high - as high as PCs, since the facilities are (almost) as similar as PCs (PCs still generally have better finishes). Some of the newer ECs even have maintenance fees that are higher than PCs.

So no need to wait for privatisation (which is 10 years after TOP - which means can sell to foreigners) for the fees to increase for ECs.

And I agree with Carnage (at least for the new ECs) that privatisation in itself is not the cause of higher maintenance fees. Besides the reasons given by Carnage, higher maintenance fees could be due to higher costs of doing business (e.g. salary increase of security guards).

Options

Erm.. to some ppl here, if you plan to buy house, need to do more research lar. if u just listen to others blindly, how u know what they tell u is true? they themselves might not know the truth also.

Juz to share my 2 cents here:

HDB - cheaply built, expensively sold by HDB. Most mature estate HDB are old and designs are not nice compared to newer ones built in punggol etc. Some differences include full height or 3/4 windows, partially concealed pipings, younger building age etc.... of course newly built BTO in mature estate also have all this but the price are sky high... like pinnacle or skyterrace. But HDB S&C charges are low and have subsidy from gov whenever election is near :)...

DBSS - costly to built, even more costly to buy. Looks like a condo minus the facilities. Some ppl say its a HDB y so ex? Well... the materials like
larger windows, underground carparks (some have), fences (some have), included aircons, wardrobes, kitchen stuffs are actually costly. U actually used your CPF to pay for the 'reno cost' which you need to fork out in cash if you buy BTO. Due to the high price, location of DBSS are better (but now land sale for DBSS stop liao lar)... Try comparing DBSS with new BTO + reno of the same area and you will know the differences are actually not that big... S&C charges are abit higher den BTO but I dunno y...

Biggest diff btw HDB vs DBSS is no matter how you reno your HDB, it can nv look like condo style... the larger windows from some newer BTO are also formed by smaller pieces of glass (save building cost) compared to larger glass of DBSS. The smaller glass with more window frame makes it look ugly.

EC - Cheaper than Condo. But after privatized, don't expect your selling price to be as high becos u brought it at much lower price. S&C charges are actually same as condos, all goes buy the amount of shares u are allocated to. Why someone says their S&C charges raise after privatized? Maybe they mistaken it becos as your building ages, problems comes. BCA requires your building to be repainted every few years etc... Water leaking issues after 10-20 years etc... Maintenance of aging lift, swimming pool pumps and as they age they become more expensive to repair or replace etc... Security also human, need pay raise also. So as time pass by, every privilege over HDB/DBSS you gets, aka the facilities, gets more ex to maintain and your sinking funds becomes unable to cope, that is when the MCST will raise the S&C charges. Don't forget, the subsidy given by our papies near election don't applies to ec or condo...

So before buying a house, need to do your maths properly. Most importantly is to get what you like followed by what you can afford. S&C charges for ec & condo can add up to very high and ppl seldom take that into account when buying. A replacement of any mechanically parts to the facilities can easily cost hundreds over thousands. But if you can afford one at the current high price, doubt it will be peanuts to you.

Hope it clears the S&C charges misunderstanding here.

swathe

Erm.. to some ppl here, if you plan to buy house, need to do more research lar. if u just listen to others blindly, how u know what they tell u is true? they themselves might not know the truth also.

Juz to share my 2 cents here:

HDB - cheaply built, expensively sold by HDB. Most mature estate HDB are old and designs are not nice compared to newer ones built in punggol etc. Some differences include full height or 3/4 windows, partially concealed pipings, younger building age etc.... of course newly built BTO in mature estate also have all this but the price are sky high... like pinnacle or skyterrace. But HDB S&C charges are low and have subsidy from gov whenever election is near :)...

DBSS - costly to built, even more costly to buy. Looks like a condo minus the facilities. Some ppl say its a HDB y so ex? Well... the materials like
larger windows, underground carparks (some have), fences (some have), included aircons, wardrobes, kitchen stuffs are actually costly. U actually used your CPF to pay for the 'reno cost' which you need to fork out in cash if you buy BTO. Due to the high price, location of DBSS are better (but now land sale for DBSS stop liao lar)... Try comparing DBSS with new BTO + reno of the same area and you will know the differences are actually not that big... S&C charges are abit higher den BTO but I dunno y...

Biggest diff btw HDB vs DBSS is no matter how you reno your HDB, it can nv look like condo style... the larger windows from some newer BTO are also formed by smaller pieces of glass (save building cost) compared to larger glass of DBSS. The smaller glass with more window frame makes it look ugly.

EC - Cheaper than Condo. But after privatized, don't expect your selling price to be as high becos u brought it at much lower price. S&C charges are actually same as condos, all goes buy the amount of shares u are allocated to. Why someone says their S&C charges raise after privatized? Maybe they mistaken it becos as your building ages, problems comes. BCA requires your building to be repainted every few years etc... Water leaking issues after 10-20 years etc... Maintenance of aging lift, swimming pool pumps and as they age they become more expensive to repair or replace etc... Security also human, need pay raise also. So as time pass by, every privilege over HDB/DBSS you gets, aka the facilities, gets more ex to maintain and your sinking funds becomes unable to cope, that is when the MCST will raise the S&C charges. Don't forget, the subsidy given by our papies near election don't applies to ec or condo...

So before buying a house, need to do your maths properly. Most importantly is to get what you like followed by what you can afford. S&C charges for ec & condo can add up to very high and ppl seldom take that into account when buying. A replacement of any mechanically parts to the facilities can easily cost hundreds over thousands. But if you can afford one at the current high price, doubt it will be peanuts to you.

Hope it clears the S&C charges misunderstanding here.

Very well described.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.