Dell Laptop User Thread

GreenArrow2002

naro said:
the dell hidden partition cannot be removed one leh..

Use Partition Magic 8.05 if u want to delete tjis hidden area. I reformat my HD after backing up the original settings as provide by DELL. Reinstall programs I need and this does speed up your system.

darrenlee78

saigonblack said:
im using MOL 2000. This is a noob question but does using wireless to connect to your router makes downloading and uploading slower as compared using a lan cable to your router? Thanks
slight difference in speed + latency but should not be noticeable.

Littlewild

I got a Dell 9300.

Any idea where I can get a 17" Zeroshock sleeve for it? Or for that matter, any place where I can get a nice looking backpack for a 17" laptop besides crumpler ($215 for the backpack...zzz)?

teguan

Hi all,

I am a 700m user. Would like to know how or where can I obtain the CD for the Sonic DigitalMedia (cd-burning software) and Sonic DMX PowerDVD (dvd player software) for my combo drive??

Lost the one that comes with it.

Thanks alot.
Cheers. :)

scramblur11

Hi I just order an Inspirion 6000, hopefully can receive next wed. Got a pretty good deal of $1549 for 1.73Ghz, 512 RAM, 100G HDD, DVD burner.

I have actually read thru the this thread and just wan confirm something..

1) So it is better to reinstall the whole thing when the lappie arrive? Is it in the manual coz I never actually done it before.. :)

2) If I using the AC, I can just take out the battery is ok? Won't there be a hole or something tat is exposed?

Anything else I need to take note?.... Thanks for any help rendered? :)

theory_87

i usually juz take out the batt wen i'm running on AC...
if u wan to partition ur hdd, u shld reformat... if nt, den i dun c the need...

zeq

scramblur11 said:
Hi I just order an Inspirion 6000, hopefully can receive next wed. Got a pretty good deal of $1549 for 1.73Ghz, 512 RAM, 100G HDD, DVD burner.

I have actually read thru the this thread and just wan confirm something..

1) So it is better to reinstall the whole thing when the lappie arrive? Is it in the manual coz I never actually done it before.. :)

2) If I using the AC, I can just take out the battery is ok? Won't there be a hole or something tat is exposed?

Anything else I need to take note?.... Thanks for any help rendered? :)

how did you get this price?

megatop8

I'm thinking of buying another dell lappy but still not decided which model. This is to replace my inspiron 1150 2.8ghz cpu due to the weight and power consumed by this lappy. The centrino technology is great on reducing the weight and power. Proud user of dell.

scramblur11

theory_87 said:
i usually juz take out the batt wen i'm running on AC...
if u wan to partition ur hdd, u shld reformat... if nt, den i dun c the need...

Actually I ask dell partition for me liao...didnt know tat I can actually do it myself...

Just to confirm, reinstall = reformat? ...sorry I realli know nuts in comps....I thought they say if I should reinstall the laptop's software after I receive from dell so tat it can free up more resources?

zeq said:
how did you get this price?
I got tis price from online....they having free delivery till thurs I tink....so is $1549....the E value code is M51145-web if I nt wrong....

d3n

teguan said:
Hi all,

I am a 700m user. Would like to know how or where can I obtain the CD for the Sonic DigitalMedia (cd-burning software) and Sonic DMX PowerDVD (dvd player software) for my combo drive??

Lost the one that comes with it.

Thanks alot.
Cheers. :)
i can burn a copy for you... just pass me a blank disc :)

darrenlee78

megatop8 said:
I'm thinking of buying another dell lappy but still not decided which model. This is to replace my inspiron 1150 2.8ghz cpu due to the weight and power consumed by this lappy. The centrino technology is great on reducing the weight and power. Proud user of dell.
great! Buying 700m ?

theory_87

scramblur11 said:
Actually I ask dell partition for me liao...didnt know tat I can actually do it myself...

Just to confirm, reinstall = reformat? ...sorry I realli know nuts in comps....I thought they say if I should reinstall the laptop's software after I receive from dell so tat it can free up more resources?

I got tis price from online....they having free delivery till thurs I tink....so is $1549....the E value code is M51145-web if I nt wrong....
if u ask dell to partition for u liaop, i dun c the need for u to reformat liao... reinstall not = reformat... reformat is clear everything is ur hdd...

theory_87

all ur Dell lappy gt Battery Recalibrating sw? coz Acer, BenQ dey all gt... den Dell i cant find... or anyone noe of 3rd party battery recalibrating sw to intro?

darrenlee78

theory_87 said:
all ur Dell lappy gt Battery Recalibrating sw? coz Acer, BenQ dey all gt... den Dell i cant find... or anyone noe of 3rd party battery recalibrating sw to intro?
just do a full discharge and recharge. thats sufficient.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.