Digital TV (DVB T2) in Singapore [consolidated]

noobzpro

Hey guys i bought a digital tv. Plug it into the hdb antenna port...cant find digital channels....whats wrong ah

Adi Dassler

Anyone using drago set top box to receive digital channels? Mine can receive but the screen alignment seems abit off. Anyone experience the same issue??

PoloBoiBoi

I used a simple omnidirectional antenna about 9 inch tall which could not pick up any signals. I have tried near windows and balcony but failed miserably.

9inch ? Please lah ... comes with the tuner one isit? Those short short don bother

You try get those cheap 1m long telescopic one
That one alot better

PoloBoiBoi

Hey guys i bought a digital tv. Plug it into the hdb antenna port...cant find digital channels....whats wrong ah

Can it receive analogue channels 1st?
If analogue have problem then don bother about digital

PoloBoiBoi

Anyone using drago set top box to receive digital channels? Mine can receive but the screen alignment seems abit off. Anyone experience the same issue??

How off is your off?
It might be the way your tv is processing the hdmi signal from the box

chakuman

any idea when will channel 8 HD be available via Starhub's HD set-top box?

GUYS!

Omg I am gonna repeat this again.

MediaCorp is still in discussions with both pay TV operators to carry the 3 HD channels. The (HD) you have seen is just the description, to show ppl that this show is available in HD.

The HD channels are not gonna replace the SD channels on their platform, and that is because MDA mandates the pay TV operators to carry both SD and HD version of the channels.

As for the carriage of the HD channels, once again, I say that both of them currently only carry Channel 5 HD, because it was launched 1st back in 2007. They are now in discussions to carry the remaining 3 HD channel on their platforms.

When the HD channels are opened on their channel list, they will announce it.

There is no HD packs or whatsoever because when they launch them, they must be offered at no cost.

i-Movies

GUYS!

Omg I am gonna repeat this again.

MediaCorp is still in discussions with both pay TV operators to carry the 3 HD channels. The (HD) you have seen is just the description, to show ppl that this show is available in HD.

The HD channels are not gonna replace the SD channels on their platform, and that is because MDA mandates the pay TV operators to carry both SD and HD version of the channels.

As for the carriage of the HD channels, once again, I say that both of them currently only carry Channel 5 HD, because it was launched 1st back in 2007. They are now in discussions to carry the remaining 3 HD channel on their platforms.

When the HD channels are opened on their channel list, they will announce it.

There is no HD packs or whatsoever because when they launch them, they must be offered at no cost.

Thanks! I can see only Channel 5 HD is available, the rest are still SD quality although many talks in the street/newspaper about free channels on HD are available by end of last year.

Some Channel 8 programs via Starhub are already named as (HD) although the picture is defiantly not HD, I also thought Starhub might not be really ready for broadcasting HD by MDA's deadline so they had to sell horse meat as beefsteak... But any inside news, when will they be ready?

noobzpro

More details about your Digital TV you bought perhaps?

What are the analogue channels you able to receive?

Panasonic e6s. I receive channel5,8,u,newsasia,suria,okto i rmb have starhub screen and also one malaysia channel

PoloBoiBoi

Panasonic e6s. I receive channel5,8,u,newsasia,suria,okto i rmb have starhub screen and also one malaysia channel

got starhub screen means you connected your tv to starhub cable point, not hdb antenna

you need to connect it to HDB antenna
if don have then connect tv to UHF antenna and stick it out of your window

LxIxVxE

Senior Mentor
this kind of tv antenna cheap n good, dun need power
can get for less than $10 in neighbourhood hardware/value shops
comes with 5~6m long cable, can hang at ur windows easily

01_zps56154e79.jpg~original

LxIxVxE

Senior Mentor
The most important thing is if it is v1.3.1 compliant

If not it will be just like my usb dvb t2 from aliexpress

Can lock onto channel but cant decode anything :(

my 2 years old T2 card cannot even detect the T2 channels leh
my new v1.3.1 pc tuners can detect the T2 channels easily with the same signal source
ur tuner still got chance :s11:

PoloBoiBoi

my 2 years old T2 card cannot even detect the T2 channels leh
my new v1.3.1 pc tuners can detect the T2 channels easily with the same signal source
ur tuner still got chance :s11:

tried liao ... t2 cant get anything, cant even decode dvb-c properly :sad:

what v1.3.1 pc tuner u using ... tell me leh :(

noobzpro

got starhub screen means you connected your tv to starhub cable point, not hdb antenna

you need to connect it to HDB antenna
if don have then connect tv to UHF antenna and stick it out of your window

Any other way around it? How to change my cable point to hdb de?

Coolsun9

9inch ? Please lah ... comes with the tuner one isit? Those short short don bother

You try get those cheap 1m long telescopic one
That one alot better

I even tried the cheap antenna shown in #734 would not get any signals. Must be the Feng Shui...

How do you paste an image here, the insert image requires an URL?

Hmm....a longer antenna would improve the reception. Shall see...Thanks

mingfreakrsx

I even tried the cheap antenna shown in #734 would not get any signals. Must be the Feng Shui...

How do you paste an image here, the insert image requires an URL?

Hmm....a longer antenna would improve the reception. Shall see...Thanks

Copy the url here and remove the " http:// " from the url. :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.