Divorce Procedure -

jack-320

In the end marriage problem is resolved easily, a small matter that is resolved easily

very good for TS

hope it stays that way, wish you well

Emperor_Hippo

Good news is we sort out our issues. Hopefully it stays that way...

I really appreciate your advise...
Communicate, communicate, communicate.

one doesn't enter a marriage to change another party. One enters a marriage to accept the other party, both parties compromise AND move ahead

d3n

- Force urself on her and let her pop a baby and HOPE the baby will change her.
Dumb idea. What makes u think if have baby wun divorce? Even worst for the guy cos if the wife fights and win the custody , you still have to pay monthly maintenance fee!

if got divorce intention best not to have any kids to complicate things

Spike

But I not sure. Coz she rather sensitive lei... Later trigger lei, let me think...

Anyway thanks for your support and ideas, really appreciated it.
Since you have got up to the point of mentioning divorce to her, I don't see why you cannot recommend going for counselling with a third party to find out the cause of the problem, and resolve this together as a couple.

If she rejects the suggestion without a clear reason, chances are that this temporary peace will turn out to be temporary. It is a matter of time before one party cannot withstand the pressure, and do something silly.

You are obviously not good with managing stress.

SpicyBird

contested jin siong... as long as she didn't sign on uncontested condition, she can still retract her decisions and go for contested.

not favorable to guys.

basically both assets will be pooled together to derive a weightage to split.

direct contribution (monetary - you and her savings + cpf + investment etc) = X% from the pool asset eg, your total is 500K, hers is 300K , total pool money is 800K, you are 62% , she is 38%
indirect contribution (non monetary - taking care of family, parents, housework etc) = Y% (try go for 50% - 50% both agreeable, otherwise if she gets higher % for indirect, it will pull down you overall weightage)

overall weightage = X% + Y% = split weightage from the pool amount will be the final split $$ for you and her.

dun scrimp on getting a good lawyer to fight for you. and try not to drag the process too long.
yes contested siong... but most of the time ppl wanna get over with it fast and move on with life so they don't wanna care so much about the terms or money. if go contested mean must drag and see who can last longer with $$ lo

d3n

yes contested siong... but most of the time ppl wanna get over with it fast and move on with life so they don't wanna care so much about the terms or money. if go contested mean must drag and see who can last longer with $$ lo
not worth to drag, my friend drag 3 years and incurred $60+k legal fees, in the end still lose quite a big % to the ex wife, now not even enough to buy his own place and have to rent.

eflash

I overlook them mah... But once honeymoon is over, the issues is still there...

Then should work on the issues... There will always be relationship honeymoon, importance is what comes after - how to work through conflicts.

If you feel that she's quarrelsome, seek mediation (even if you think is useless), it can present you with new perspective on the relationship. Right now edmw is just listening to your side of the story. We don't hear from your wife's perspective.

In addition, if a discussion gets interrupted by arguments, maybe you'd like to write down on a notepad and pass to her. Thoughts get think through, words used are not based on heat of emotions. No name calling, just addressing issues in the marriage.

Multiversal

Why? You still have feelings for her?

Or you are just being such a nice guy, you want her to live well, at least have a roof over her head, while you will try to sort things out on your end, even if it means going back to sleep in your parents' house?

Or is your line of thinking conditioned by archaic societal values, that condition a man's thought processes, to think that he must provide, pay for this and that, and if the wife pays even a bit, he should be appreciative because he owes her a big favour, and after divorce, he must continue to provide?

Time to abolish all these old thinking.

The woman is an equal half. Not an unequal half. In a divorce, see her as a an equal just like the way you would do business in the commercial world. You don't see your supplier or buyer as "needing your protection", do you?

The house is probably the most valuable asset in the family. It's the matrimonial home. Let the law run its course, instead of going to the Family Court and telling the judge "I have decided to let her have the house!". And I believe she isn't going to tell the judge "I have decided to let HIM keep the house!". She probably knows when to act the part of the "weaker" sex.

UK, New Zealand, South Korea all had women as Prime Ministers/Presidents.

North Korea is likely to have one, after Ah Un

Our President was a woman before.

Japan's Prime Minister is a woman.

Many of you have bosses who are women, from whom you take ORDERS.

It's about time for both men and women to stop thinking that the MAN is smarter, and being stronger, he was the one who went to the jungle to catch an edible animal. You can now buy meat at the wet market or supermarket, and the woman might be able to afford to buy the tenderloin cut or salmon fish while the man eats ikan bilis in his two room HDB rental flat.

Get real, and stop acting like a white knight because the one sitting on that white horse is not you, but the woman.

tricolours

Anyone knows how to go about Divorce Procedure or Divorcing
DM me if you need more info. Divorce proceedings has been simplified. No need to engage lawyer unless your going to be ex wife and yourself are not able finalised how to allocated your property and children.

I just did mine last year and it will take 4-6 months to get it done.

Khun Kitt

I dunno... Maybe will throw a tantrum...

Is it all law firms can do divorce or
If both parties mutually agree to divorce, the engagement of a lawyer for the proceedings and costs is minimal. If the engagement of the lawyer is to contest the divorce, the proceedings can be tedious, lengthy, and costly. Try this law firm, consult them and seek their advice...https://pkwalaw.com/

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.