Door bell with camera recommendations

patryn33

Sad....my electrician told me HDB doorbell is run by battery and he can't help me to wired my nest to the power source :( just cancelled my order of my nest already. Anyone has a electrician that knows how to do this?

There are a lot of YouTube video on wiring it to a 16-24V adapter. Don’t need electrician.
https://www.instructables.com/id/Making-a-Door-Bell-Chime-With-Integrated-Transform/

The spec on indoor adapter
https://store.google.com/product/ninety7_indoor_power_adapter_nest_hello
Power output: 20VAC, 500mAh

squidy

There are a lot of YouTube video on wiring it to a 16-24V adapter. Don’t need electrician.
https://www.instructables.com/id/Making-a-Door-Bell-Chime-With-Integrated-Transform/

The spec on indoor adapter
https://store.google.com/product/ninety7_indoor_power_adapter_nest_hello

Thanks for sharing the videos! But I think the issue for most of us is not about the adapter. Is about how can we connect the doorbell directly to a power source and not battery. Most of the electrician I approached is not willing to do it, I'm not sure why.

patryn33

Thanks for sharing the videos! But I think the issue for most of us is not about the adapter. Is about how can we connect the doorbell directly to a power source and not battery. Most of the electrician I approached is not willing to do it, I'm not sure why.

Power source is adapter! Don’t understand your issue, u want to connect directly to 220V cannot since device only accepts 16-24V. You must have one of these 2 things..
A: step down transformer which connects to wiring without need of outlet
B: a adapter that is a step down transformer which connects to 220V outlet

Power adapter isn’t battery, don’t think you click the videos. Nest doesn’t do battery.

djr81

I already post photo liao mah..

U can follow what user pat had say..

Is very easy..

Get a 24vac from usa and also a stepdown transformer

Or

Get a 24vac adaptor from china. I just tested and it work.. but remember to use resistor...

Or (for ring vdb2)
Use a 6v dc adaptor.

:s22:

djr81

Not hard mah :s22:

Set A
ok003pV.jpg

220v 24VAC 3amp Adaptor
50w25ohm Resistor
This setup is the best for Ring VDB2 as it will give you the white led ring. But charging will take sometimes.

Set B
327SM2g.jpg

6v Dc adaptor

Easy and hassle free, fast charging but no white led glow light :s22:

Set C (last time cant find the 220v24vac)
7aVy7uL.jpg

Step down transformer 220v to 110v
ELK TRG 2440 24 VAC adaptor
50w25ohm resistor

:s22:

Step down from 220v to USA 110v and a 110v to 24v step down transformer? That’s. Not easy

Easy is step all the way down from 220v to 24v either with adapter or transformer

Alibaba sell these transformers if adapter no way. I will go with adapter option
https://www.alibaba.com/showroom/step-down-transformer-220v-to-24v.html

Boliaolah

Anyone using xiaomi doorbell?

Mine got delivered a few days ago, comes with the speaker. After setup done, pressing the bell will ring the speaker, so no issue. However, i find that the phone notification part quite lousy. I press like 10 times over 1 hr, only like 2 or 3 notifications. Then when press the notification, the app connects so slowly till cannot live view unless press the bell again while I'm in the app...

Anyone have any solution? I already set the region to china, and reinstalled the app twice
Using LG-G7 btw.

Sent from Boliao Land using GAGT

wahjohreno

For those who install it on the wall or door separately from the HDB default doorbell, do you guys get the add on chime for the Ring 2?

If not how is it going to sound the bell in the house.

I did get the Chime, but it really wasn't necessary.

When someone presses the doorbell, it rings on my phone and all my Alexas around the house (I have 9 of them).

So instead of a chime, it ends up to be more of an ALARM.

wahjohreno

It's really easy.

For my case (Ring Pro):

Electrical socket >

220-110V step-down transformer >

110V - 18V/500mA adaptor (I bought this: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07454STN2/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1) >

Ring Pro

My electrician didn't even touch it as I wired it up myself with 1 screw driver.

jemcerato

Anyone got google nest to work with any doorbell for video streaming, other than using google nest hallo?

Hope to integrate a doorbell with can to nest if it works. Nest hallo is too expensive so hoping someone got it integrated with other brands and can share his experience 😊

infinity2030

My prev owner tore away all the doorbell wirings during his reno. ( which was stupid )

I had to get electrician to pull wire from DB box all the way to the door front. ( had to drill thru walls ) Bought a transformer from tabao to power up the doorbell. Wires not visible, just a doorbell on white wall. I didn wire Nest Hello together with a physical chime but let the notifications be announced by my google assistants . I have 5 of them. As long as wifi signals are robust the doorbell works, so I had a Google wifi puck near the door.

I subscribe to Nest Aware for the doorbell ( + other nest cams in household ). Without Nest Aware, the unit is quite handicapped. It is easy for me or wife to communicate via mobile with e.g postman or whoever pressed the doorbell when out.

It was only recently Google started selling a 3rd party power adapter for the Nest doorbell.

I dun think it is too different from Ring/Amazon. Just that you have to "adopt" the family that comes with them to work well. At least for now, until they make peace again.

I can use voice commands to chomecast various Nest cams / doorbell streams to TVs but I find it rather useless at least for my own usage . However only google home hubs auto display video stream when someone presses the doorbell. ( the mini hub getting cheaper and cheaper by the week )

I was not successful to link Nest doorbell to the Philips Hue e.g on press or motion detect certain zones light up gate light. i ended having a Philips motion sensor to turn on the said Hue light. If they gelled better it would be great to auto turn on night lights on motion detection in household. Not sure if they have improved integration on that front recently.

Bro able to share how you got your Nest Aware subscription on? I'm intending to setup Nest hello but heard that the subscription is limited to the states only?

shawnbright

I like the white one - clean look. Xiaomi Youpin Video Doorbell 2.4G Wireless Doorbell With 1080p HD Camera Night Vision.

HAN GAOZU

Keen to know more reviews on Xiaomi wireless doorbell. Mostly for live viewing. TIA

raffy06

Keen to know more reviews on Xiaomi wireless doorbell. Mostly for live viewing. TIA

Been using for about 6 months.

Live viewing doesn't really work for me. I only use it to see who's in front of the gate because I have an access area after the gate so the peephole doesn't work.

Maybe it's because China servers lag when sending back to SG. Sometimes it's fast when using certain versions of the Mi Home app.

Not sure if the other Youpin camera is better?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.