Door bell with camera recommendations

trueb1u3

If the power socket is outside main door, wouldn't it be the weak point in any security setup?

Whether it is a electrical point or switch socket outlet it up to you to decide.
Switch socket is for user convenience, just buy camera then plug your power adapter. Usually people hide behind metal gate.
If electrical point like those police cam, u need to ask your electrician to come 2 times, one time to do wiring, one time is after u bought your camera then fix up.
If someone want to cut your camera, no matter what type of wiring, they will still be able to destroy it one.

Tucksoon

Hi everyone,

I am in the midst of renovating and rewiring my house. I'm considering fixing a wired doorbell with camera solution from scratch. I read with interest on Google Nest Doorbell and UniFi G4. I was wondering if you were my situation, which doorbell solution would you go for? Thanks!

windwaver

Hi everyone,

I am in the midst of renovating and rewiring my house. I'm considering fixing a wired doorbell with camera solution from scratch. I read with interest on Google Nest Doorbell and UniFi G4. I was wondering if you were my situation, which doorbell solution would you go for? Thanks!
I suggest before you read anything, see if you can manage to get a power line into the wired doorbell first.

Most default wires are just CMI unless you stay landed, different story.

Tucksoon

I suggest before you read anything, see if you can manage to get a power line into the wired doorbell first.

Most default wires are just CMI unless you stay landed, different story.

My current flat does not have an existing door bell point and no wire to door. More than 30 years ago HDB does not fix door bell point in kitchen or near door. Hence everything will start from scratch.

wacko

My current flat does not have an existing door bell point and no wire to door. More than 30 years ago HDB does not fix door bell point in kitchen or near door. Hence everything will start from scratch.
it would be extremely challenging in your scenario to do a wired camera doorbell. do consider a battery operated one instead.

Tucksoon

it would be extremely challenging in your scenario to do a wired camera doorbell. do consider a battery operated one instead.

Thanks bro. I realized the challenges too. Will discuss with my electrician.

wacko

Thanks bro. I realized the challenges too. Will discuss with my electrician.
technically you can only install a wired device on your door, as you are not allowed to drill a hole on an external wall (not your property). this means the wires inside will need to traverse the door and door frame, which is aesthetically and practically challenging. unless you are able to find a way to install it on the external part of your door frame, and have a clever wire routing internally to a power point.

in short, forget it lah.

Tucksoon

technically you can only install a wired device on your door, as you are not allowed to drill a hole on an external wall (not your property). this means the wires inside will need to traverse the door and door frame, which is aesthetically and practically challenging. unless you are able to find a way to install it on the external part of your door frame, and have a clever wire routing internally to a power point.

in short, forget it lah.

Roger. Wireless all the way liao 😁

Gambler.

perhaps you were using export set? cos export using china server, will sometimes have issues connecting to server

the one i linked is official local set

i am currently using export set, bought several years ago, when local set was not available, working ok, but a bit of lag

just bought the official local set, will test it when it arrives
how's the experience?

caterham7

how's the experience?
good so far

as usual, do read the instruction manual

was wondering why i couldn't remove from holder, actually need to use pin to enable release, good anti-theft feature

footage is clear, notification seems prompt also

Tornesoul

For the current default doorbell point, do u snip the wires internally?

Outside unit remove doorbell button/faceplate?

HMAN

update on Google doorbell.
recent Google home update allows video clip of event be saved.
use case of event is handy, we don't want to save perpetual not useful video stream but straight to the point of capturing evident.

an event is what we defined like people taking a parcel from your door step.

battery life of 50 days with battery level from 88% to 11%. not so bad.

Sent from EDMWER Pro app!

IceX

Thinking of getting a Google nest doorbell as my current brand from china has stopped sending notifications to my phone and there is always latency lag. My flat is a 3 years old BTO

A few questions that I would like to ask.

1. Any issues with the lag when you view from your handphone or use the speaker to talk to someone at your door?

2. Recommendations for battery operated or wired? I found one online retailer where they provide installation services and the wired one is around $100 more expensive.

3. Do you install it on your door or the wall outside your door?

4. Any recommended retail/online shop to get from? Any recommended installers to recommend as well if there's a need?

5. Does it allow microsd card to be used if I do not want to take up the google nest subscription?

daniel_83

Tapo-D230S1-5MP-CVR.jpg

This just came out recently

only $99 on shopee, i think it is a great buy

personally would buy this over google's

RyanJ

Thinking of getting a Google nest doorbell as my current brand from china has stopped sending notifications to my phone and there is always latency lag. My flat is a 3 years old BTO

A few questions that I would like to ask.

1. Any issues with the lag when you view from your handphone or use the speaker to talk to someone at your door?

2. Recommendations for battery operated or wired? I found one online retailer where they provide installation services and the wired one is around $100 more expensive.

3. Do you install it on your door or the wall outside your door?

4. Any recommended retail/online shop to get from? Any recommended installers to recommend as well if there's a need?

5. Does it allow microsd card to be used if I do not want to take up the google nest subscription?

1. Minimal, can hold a proper conversation.

2. Personally prefer wired.

The 1st gen wired has higher resolution, cheaper, less features if you do not get subscription.

The 2nd gen wired has lower
resolution but more features if you do not get the subscription.

Since I subscribe to their Nest Aware, functionalities are same for both, I still will stick to 1st gen wired.

3. Installed on wall next to door.

4. Amazon ( USA ) ship to Sg.
1st gen wired. ( in USD )
53227680426_4ab4f6535b_b.jpg

2nd gen wired. ( in USD )
53228181435_3341ac7561_b.jpg

I dun have recommended installers, the one that did for me during house reno went back msia..

5. no Microsd.

* Nest Aware subscription supports an 'unlimited' number of devices. I have 5 nest cams alongside my nest hello doorbell, so it makes sense to have the subscription *

zenify.me

Tapo-D230S1-5MP-CVR.jpg

This just came out recently

only $99 on shopee, i think it is a great buy

personally would buy this over google's
I am personally using xiaomi doorbell 3 and while tp link's model is indeed feature rich, it's a bummer that it doesn't come with free cloud storage.

I feel more assured that even if my doorbell is stolen, the footage will still be accessible via the cloud to identify the culprit.

tazzi80

I am personally using xiaomi doorbell 3 and while tp link's model is indeed feature rich, it's a bummer that it doesn't come with free cloud storage.

I feel more assured that even if my doorbell is stolen, the footage will still be accessible via the cloud to identify the culprit.

The SD Card for the tp link doorbell is in the hub, which should be inside your house.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.