Driving in US

icube

I'm gonna book with AVIS too because got DBS 15% off :s13:

I bought a GPS from amazon,refurb set $70,after using probably just mail to my friend in US to use in future

hi cormet.. when r u going? anyway.. i booked because of the DBS 15%.. however.. i'm not sure if they honour my POSB everyday card because it doesn't print the DBS logo....

cormet

hi cormet.. when r u going? anyway.. i booked because of the DBS 15%.. however.. i'm not sure if they honour my POSB everyday card because it doesn't print the DBS logo....

Oh the rental isn't pre-paid ah? I haven't booked yet. I'm leaving SG on 16 May but I'll only be in cali 11 June. Will be driving from SF to LA

genie47

We rented a car and drove around in SF and LA. Diddn't drive in Vegas. Relatively smooth and easy. Hertz Neverlost GPS was very easy to use.

And US drivers are much more friendly and kind, they'll just stop and let you cross the road. Something that will never happen in Singapore lol...

I just experienced Jakarta. Didn't drive. Was driven around. You give way, they will makan you and you will never move from the very position you stopped. :s13:

patryn33

How was the parking in SF? Did you stay a night between SF and LA or u went Gilroy then chiong :s22:

Which car did you rent? Haha sorry so many questions, going to be my turn soon. 3 of us but probably may have 4-5 luggage altogether so not sure which car to rent.

4-5 pcs of luggage? how big are those?
they are full size not suitable for hand carry, rent a mini van or a full size SUV.
just check on dollar.co.uk
- mini van (dodge caravan) 1 week all inclusive us$297.98
- full size suv (jeep grand Cherokee) 1 week all inclusive us$317.33

whats all inclusive
Rental includes:
Unlimited Mileage, Loss/Collision Damage Waiver, Supplemental Liability Insurance, Uninsured Motorist Protection, All Taxes and Airport and Local Fees.

patryn33

how much aree the fees after 15%?

patryn33

We rented a car and drove around in SF and LA. Diddn't drive in Vegas. Relatively smooth and easy. Hertz Neverlost GPS was very easy to use.

And US drivers are much more friendly and kind, they'll just stop and let you cross the road. Something that will never happen in Singapore lol...

if U refer to drivers and pedestrians true! no one wanna get sue!!

to those on the road driving thats a blanket statement.
Arizona, New Mexico, Oregon, Washington, Ohio drivers are friendly.
CA cities, Orlando, Minneapolis, Michigan, NYC are bad.
ppl on motorcycle AZ 4 wheel drivers are pretty nasty to them.

cormet

4-5 pcs of luggage? how big are those?
they are full size not suitable for hand carry, rent a mini van or a full size SUV.
just check on dollar.co.uk
- mini van (dodge caravan) 1 week all inclusive us$297.98
- full size suv (jeep grand Cherokee) 1 week all inclusive us$317.33

whats all inclusive

should have 3 full size and maybe 2 40l backpacks?

got a quote for 4 days,pick up SF return LAX $289 with tax,LDW,unlimited mileage and vehicle reg fee.

i tried dollar but they don't allow me to return the car to a diff location if i rent from sfo

Erwinlow

I highly recommend Hertz but maybe it'll cost a little more as compared to rental companies like enterprise?

Rented in SF and LA. They upgraded for me twice for free. And their GPS is really easy to use and useful.

Erwinlow

How was the parking in SF? Did you stay a night between SF and LA or u went Gilroy then chiong :s22:

Which car did you rent? Haha sorry so many questions, going to be my turn soon. 3 of us but probably may have 4-5 luggage altogether so not sure which car to rent.
24/4 - Reached SF airport 9pm liao. Took the free hotel shuttle to Super8 near the airport, reached hotel knockout.

25/4 - Early morning left the hotel, took the shuttle back and picked up the rental car. Took an hour or less from leaving the hotel to getting the car. Got the car, drove to great mall, then continued to gilroy.

26/4 - Drove back to the city area in SF. Parked at the hotel. usd 30/night with in-out privileges.

26/4 and 27/4 - Did sightseeing and just walked around Union Square. Golden Gate bridge etcetc. Diddn't manage to go Alcatraz. Zzz. In the morning, checked their website still got tickets for 4 time slots, checked back an hour later, all gone.

Parking in the city for SF usually around 25-30usd from what I saw. Got some parking garages charge 15/night but slightly ulu.

After SF I flew to Vegas on Virgin America. Rather take Virgin's A319 then China Airlines B747 lol.

For SF, rented Toyota Camry, but it was hybrid. Try not to rent hybrid as it has a smaller boot due to the gas tank. We rented a Chevrolet in LA, the boot was much much bigger. Can't rmb the model actually lol. Will try to recall.

Erwinlow

Agree that they'll stop and let u cross the road, some road junction like Singapore use the green man at the traffic light to cross the road......
BTW you r back to Sin???
I'm in Taipei now. Going back tmr.

Drivers here are...ruthless lol. As compared to US.

patryn33

should have 3 full size and maybe 2 40l backpacks?

got a quote for 4 days,pick up SF return LAX $289 with tax,LDW,unlimited mileage and vehicle reg fee.

i tried dollar but they don't allow me to return the car to a diff location if i rent from sfo

vehicle type?
just on dollar.co.uk
and renting 4 days picking veh up in SFO and returning in LAX is possible.
- mini van us$240.15
- full size suv us$235.44
- mid size suv us$191.84

devilish_me

I'm in Taipei now. Going back tmr.

Drivers here are...ruthless lol. As compared to US.

haha....depends on where you are! generally, drivers in states have got reasonably good road ethics/courtesy....although there are always those few idiots who'd risk their own lives as well as others.

over my side in massachusetts....there are quite some drivers who are aggressive and go too fast. those people from nearby connecticut/upstate new york/rhode island/new hampshire/maine will complain about MA drivers.

alexljy

If I intend to drive from SF to LA, using highway 1, where would be a reccomended place to spend the night? I dun really want to do the 8hrs in 1 day, so hoping to spend the night somewhere.

cormet

vehicle type?
just on dollar.co.uk
and renting 4 days picking veh up in SFO and returning in LAX is possible.
- mini van us$240.15
- full size suv us$235.44
- mid size suv us$191.84

oooh thanks man! i kept trying on dollar.com :s13:
do you happen to know how much is the underage driver fee?

cormet

If I intend to drive from SF to LA, using highway 1, where would be a reccomended place to spend the night? I dun really want to do the 8hrs in 1 day, so hoping to spend the night somewhere.

I'm doing the same thing, might be spending a night at montery bay.. but still wondering if there are other places to stop which are nearer to LA.

patryn33

oooh thanks man! i kept trying on dollar.com :s13:
do you happen to know how much is the underage driver fee?

they nail U big time for that!
https://www.dollar.com/Reservations/BookIt.aspx
Driving Age: Drivers 21 to 24 years of age are required to pay an additional charge of $25.00 per day.
Additional Authorized Drivers: There is no charge for an additional authorized driver. Additional drivers must be 25 years of age or older.

with hertz
On most rentals the minimum age is 25 without an additional Age Differential Charge, and 21 with an additional Age Differential Charge.

Age Differential Charge Policy

Hertz will rent selected car class vehicles (Prestige Collection and high performance cars such as Corvettes and Shelby Mustangs excluded) to customers who are age 21-24 with an Age Differential Charge, in addition to the normal rental rate at Corporate and participating locations.

Most car classes will require a USD 15.00 per day surcharge, while higher end cars may require a USD 25.00 per day surcharge. See the counter representative for details.

cscs3

I highly recommend Hertz but maybe it'll cost a little more as compared to rental companies like enterprise?

Rented in SF and LA. They upgraded for me twice for free. And their GPS is really easy to use and useful.

Hertz is much better. GPS is very good.

patryn33

a quick check on hertz renting from sfo returning in lax May 1st to May 5th. In SG rates how much lower?

Selected Vehicle Change
Kia Sedona or similar More Details
Unlimited Free Miles Included
4 days at 230.49 USD 921.96 USD
Rate Details
Airport Concession Fee Recovery On Flight Arrivals 102.63 USD
Vehicle Licensing Cost Recovery 2.60 USD
TRANSPORTATION AND FACILITIES FEE 20.00 USD
California Tourism Commission Assessment 32.27 USD
Vehicle Subtotal 1079.46 USD
Taxes 95.01 USD
Total Approximate Charge 1174.47 USD

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.