e-Remote Broadlink RM-Pro

Tuakong

Fanco fan remote is IR... Shld be fine. In IHC u can create a TV remote for each speed, on the ON/OFF button.

So u created three TV remote, Rename them "Fan speed low" etc. So when u use Alexa, just say "turn on fan speed Low" and it shld work.

With new Alexa app updates, u canuse routine which u can rename ur whole command to anything u wish, for eg. "fanco speed low" and add the relevant control to the routine.

Now u can either say the "turn on fan speed low" or "fanco speed low", both will send the same command to turn on ur fanco fan which is inline of sight to ur rm pro, or rm bean mini.

Tried your method and like it v much
Much better than my way

detonate

I'm able to add rm pro as a device in e-control app but unable to do so using ihc app. I want to use the ihc app because it does not need a bridge to alexa. Anyone encountered similar issues?

shacboi

I'm able to add rm pro as a device in e-control app but unable to do so using ihc app. I want to use the ihc app because it does not need a bridge to alexa. Anyone encountered similar issues?

Nope. Nvr had such issues before.. Try updating to latest version of app and leave comments in the app page?

Im using Android btw.

alext90

Ok it works .....
Learn the Fanco Fan remote into the RM Pro using the IHC app
Then do discovery on Alexa n ta da......
But there is a catch.....the Broadlink skill on Alexa can only be used for TV only
So, gotta cheat Alexa by telling the fan is a TV lol

The commands I use to control the fan speed:
Alexa, change channel to 1/3/5 on Master Fan
Where 1-Low. 3-Medium 5-High
You can use any channels to learn the remote

The disadvantage is that I can’t control the devices remotely
Hi Tuakong,

what Fanco fan you tried? I am getting a Fanco Acon and I hope it is compatible.

shacboi

Hi alext90,

FYI, you need to check the ceiling fan remote issit IR, if it is IR chances it will work with RM PRO. if it is RF, then it needs to be either 315mhz or 433mhz.

For e.g Crestar iCol ceiling fan remote is using RF and is not 315/433mhz therefore it will Not work with RM PRO.

I'm using FANCO iCon ceiling fan, RF remote(typo as IR earlier on) . :s22:

megaweb

Anyone has experience on Broadlink RM pro for the following devices?

- mitsubishi heavy industries aircon
- samsung smart tv

shacboi

Anyone has experience on Broadlink RM pro for the following devices?

- mitsubishi heavy industries aircon
- samsung smart tv

Hi there, im using mitsubishi heavy industries aircon as well, it works with RM Pro.

but TV mine is Sony TV, tv remote are mainly IR therefore i think it shldnt be any issue as well. :s22:

megaweb

Hi there, im using mitsubishi heavy industries aircon as well, it works with RM Pro.

but TV mine is Sony TV, tv remote are mainly IR therefore i think it shldnt be any issue as well. :s22:

Thanks, shacboi.

When controlling TV, is it possible to ask Alexa to turn on specific channel?

e.g.
Alexa turn on channel 5

shacboi

Thanks, shacboi.

When controlling TV, is it possible to ask Alexa to turn on specific channel?

e.g.
Alexa turn on channel 5

Hi there, Yes! Able to since RM PRO TV template is compartible with Alexa, once u learn the codes with the IHC app. :s13:

you can ask Alexa to,

increase TV volume --> rm pro will send signal to increase the volume by ard 5. meaning ur volume at 30, will slowly go up to 35.

mute TV --> mute the TV

switch TV channel 5 --> rm pro will send signal as though u press the button 5 on remote and change the channel. (note, the channel 5 here is the button number, so u have to know ur ch5 is on which button, if on button 1, then shld be 'switch TV channel 1' ,etc.

The same TV remote of IHC can be applied to cablebox remote too, i tried it on StarHub cablebox remote , works too.

I tried command it, "switch cable channel 425" and RM pro will send signal 4-2-5 via IR to cablebox to switch the cable channels. :s13:

Hope this helps!

megaweb

Hi there, Yes! Able to since RM PRO TV template is compartible with Alexa, once u learn the codes with the IHC app. :s13:

you can ask Alexa to,

increase TV volume --> rm pro will send signal to increase the volume by ard 5. meaning ur volume at 30, will slowly go up to 35.

mute TV --> mute the TV

switch TV channel 5 --> rm pro will send signal as though u press the button 5 on remote and change the channel. (note, the channel 5 here is the button number, so u have to know ur ch5 is on which button, if on button 1, then shld be 'switch TV channel 1' ,etc.

The same TV remote of IHC can be applied to cablebox remote too, i tried it on StarHub cablebox remote , works too.

I tried command it, "switch cable channel 425" and RM pro will send signal 4-2-5 via IR to cablebox to switch the cable channels. :s13:

Hope this helps!

Thank you shacboi for your reviews.

Do you think this setup is possible to control light?

Broadlink RM Pro + LED Circular Light with IR Remote

shacboi

Thank you shacboi for your reviews.

Do you think this setup is possible to control light?

Broadlink RM Pro + LED Circular Light with IR Remote

Hi there,

since your circular light's remote is IR then Yes, it will work. But remember the circular light and rm pro location must be in line-of-sight as your rm pro will be acting as the 'controller' to send the IR to your light when you command it either by app control or Alexa/Google Assistant. :s22:

e.g I tried to use rm pro to turn on/off this simple light, it works. IR remote.
( wish.com/c/5787cb2a51b9d82c6314b654 )

megaweb

Hi there,

since your circular light's remote is IR then Yes, it will work. But remember the circular light and rm pro location must be in line-of-sight as your rm pro will be acting as the 'controller' to send the IR to your light when you command it either by app control or Alexa/Google Assistant. :s22:

e.g I tried to use rm pro to turn on/off this simple light, it works. IR remote.
( wish.com/c/5787cb2a51b9d82c6314b654 )

Oh ya, IR needs line of sight. Thanks again.

Recently I saw gang 4 smart light switches are available at Aliexpress, not sure worth to buy it.

shacboi

Oh ya, IR needs line of sight. Thanks again.

Recently I saw gang 4 smart light switches are available at Aliexpress, not sure worth to buy it.

Your circular IR light where u wan to put? If u want to hide behind tv console or shelf etc, there is still a way to do it if it is Not line of sight to ur rm pro.

There is a "IR receiver extender transmitter" wire ard S$3-4 only. The wire is ard 1-2m long, with usb head (power supply) lets say ur circular light is behind the tv console... U will place this wire with the receiver head in line of sight wit ur rm pro, den the transmitter end place aiming at ur light, den the usb plug to ur cablebox or any usb power adapter to power up this wire. When rm pro or ir remote aim at the receiver... It will transmit the signal to transmitter n output, den ur ir light will oso activate as though the ir signal is aim at it directly lik that.
( shopee.sg/product/18784557/225811081/ )

Not sure is dat wat u wana do. Hope this helps!
(btw yes, i did this before n it works with rm pro)

FYI.
As for the wall switch u mentioned, seems like it uses app control and nt sure Alexa got the skill to control it or not yet.

As for rm pro, the switch will not work with rm pro as it doesnt support RF. :s13:

megaweb

Your circular IR light where u wan to put? If u want to hide behind tv console or shelf etc, there is still a way to do it if it is Not line of sight to ur rm pro.

There is a "IR receiver extender transmitter" wire ard S$3-4 only. The wire is ard 1-2m long, with usb head (power supply) lets say ur circular light is behind the tv console... U will place this wire with the receiver head in line of sight wit ur rm pro, den the transmitter end place aiming at ur light, den the usb plug to ur cablebox or any usb power adapter to power up this wire. When rm pro or ir remote aim at the receiver... It will transmit the signal to transmitter n output, den ur ir light will oso activate as though the ir signal is aim at it directly lik that.

Not sure is dat wat u wana do. Hope this helps!
(btw yes, i did this before n it works with rm pro)

FYI.
As for the wall switch u mentioned, seems like it uses app control and nt sure Alexa got the skill to control it or not yet.

As for rm pro, It will not work with rm pro as it doesnt support RF. :s13:

Currently my living room has 2x 40 watt fluorescent light. I am wondering if I replace it with LED circular light with IR remote for cheaper option to get Alexa to control the light.

Yes, need to know what smart light switch app it is using first.

shacboi

Currently my living room has 2x 40 watt fluorescent light. I am wondering if I replace it with LED circular light with IR remote for cheaper option to get Alexa to control the light.

Yes, need to know what smart light switch app it is using first.

For my case, i started out with rm pro, that's y i try get the other devices dat work with rm pro. Until later part den i introduce Alexa for voice control.

So i try to keep it this way so that if not using alexa, i only need to use One boradlink app to activate this n that. This also limit what i can pair wit rm pro though.

bcos if i go get philips hue lights, yeelight, nest thermostat, all have own apps, if u not using Alexa to control them, u need to open individual apps to control the devices. :s22:

megaweb

For my case, i started out with rm pro, that's y i try get the other devices dat work with rm pro. Until later part den i introduce Alexa for voice control.

So i try to keep it this way so that if not using alexa, i only need to use One boradlink app to activate this n that. This also limit what i can pair wit rm pro though.

bcos if i go get philips hue lights, yeelight, nest thermostat, all have own apps, if u not using Alexa to control them, u need to open individual apps to control the devices. :s22:

Thanks for your tips. I checked the gang 4 smart light switch at Aliexpress and the app is called Smart Life. It is supported by Amazon Echo Dot.

shacboi

Thanks for your tips. I checked the gang 4 smart light switch at Aliexpress and the app is called Smart Life. It is supported by Amazon Echo Dot.

oh cool, at least can support by Alexa, that's good.

but just a reminder if u getting RM PRO & Alexa, the RM Pro will not be able to control this switch. Only via Alexa commands.

And also this switch not sure need neutral wire not, saw in some discussions that some switches may need neutral wire which our HDB dun have, then abit problem.

sellwatch

Curious, how many rm pros u guys have? My installer told me i need to set one static ip for the echo and rmpro.

If I want to add another echo and rmpro I need to use another router and another Android device.

I was under the impression that one Android device can hook up with multiple echoes and rmpro for use in different rooms.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.