EDMW Dog Owners Thread

Krabs.

Slipped disc? IVDD you mean? If not too serious, conservative therapy is enough if not will need surgery and not many vets in SG will know how to perform a hemilaminectomy
ya slipped disk ....
no x-ray done though ....

my dog had this problem years ago due to trauma .... run after shower then run below chair ... hit a horizontal bar
spinal cord intact but backbone "disconnected"
didn't do $500 surgery as recommended, just 1 steroid injection directly to that part
she was waist-down paralyzed for weeks

that time I also got post here and I remember seeing this IVDD term which is common for the german sausage dog breed

just now the vet checked old x-ray record and finger press down my dog's spine ... at the same stage my dog will pain until unable to stand
should be old injury relapse .... but I not at home when it happened dunno what my dog done

NewRules

so far i hv been to few clinic all of them are like tat...

ok la i get to see my dog weight mah

how much u paid for the vaccine? shd b ard 30 to 40 plus?

The one i brought my first dog was super good. The vet is nice and the staff is polite.
30++. He want me to get something more ex. Around 50-60?

pepperthrow

The one i brought my first dog was super good. The vet is nice and the staff is polite.
30++. He want me to get something more ex. Around 50-60?

depend on my dog condition, if it is for normal.basic consultation i bring to dr ling or dr nathan. last time when my dog needed an eye op then i brought him to dr heng of mt.p clementi.

usually i care less abt those rude staff lol

NewRules

Not all dogs can be adopted if you stay in a HDB. Do find a dog you like as they are already at the pet shop/farm.

My puppy bites when we play with her. How to make her stop that? Teeth super sharp

Krabs.

^ stop playing immediately
you can scold the dog or exaggerate the painful TSK TSK TSK action ... this will let the dog know powerful bites = end of playtime
use something like a soft toy for biting

for my dog ... she will feel stunned then guilty ... try to lick your hand

Krabs.

my dog have to be confined for 4 weeks ....

now 2 weeks never shower liao .... can I use warm wet towel to wipe her body ?
her skin not good ... if 1 month never shower what will happen ????

harky

confined by u or vet?

skin not good if nv shower will become worst, do u know they lick their own body also? Dog is unlike cat..

There are some shampoo for sensitive skin one.. or buy those organic one...
dog need to bath at least one a week if nt very smelly one.

Krabs.

^ now I confine her to half the kitchen with toilet
vet say 4 weeks ...
although she looks fine but if too excited shake too much backside she will pain for few hour

her skin will become dry and flaky ...
some dead skin drop on floor
use hind legs to scratch often ...
lick the top of her paws ...

her normal weekly shower schedule no problem .... but now expected 4x as long never shower ....
if wet her whole body lidat she will get excited when towel drying and might hurt her backbone again

-------------
*edit*
nevermind .... my mother say the dog can stretch her back .... should be can shower liao ...

NewRules

At what age is the dog no longer a puppy? Was wondering when to stop the puppy food. Currently 5 months old.

I read some articles where ppl bathe their dogs once a month. I do mine once a week. Is that too often?

Krabs.

^ later your dog grow up will change teeth , beware it try to chew any electrical cable or furniture

5 month is still VERY young

kampong boi

small breeds can be puppies for around 1 year, large breeds around 2 years.

it is normal to bathe it once a week, especially if you bring it out often and has long fur

lycans

Did the vet specifically say no showering? Confinement I can understand, not showering will be a bit strange

Krabs.

^ shower liao just now ....
just have to be extra gentle when towel drying ...

actually I never carry her for 2 weeks liao thats why dun dare to do it

harky

did the vet say how u dog got the dry skin?

^ shower liao just now ....
just have to be extra gentle when towel drying ...

actually I never carry her for 2 weeks liao thats why dun dare to do it

Krabs.

^ nope ... shower regularly it's nothing .....

last time she puppy to mid adult it was more problematic
a little similar to human dandruff :s13: can see it accumulate on top of sofa because she secretly rest there when nobody at home

kampong boi

my dog passed away this morning at the age of 17

I felt/knew it was coming, a matter of when...

RIP

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.