Essential phone

kopi22

I'm not sure how long you have used Android but I'm surprised when you said you have rooted and customized Android phones in the past but it has taught you nothing? You know there are "tools" to find out what's causing the battery drain? If you do, you should know your statement is incorrect becos things doesn't happen out of the blue. Next time dun customize phones just for past time but actually learn something out from it
I know they are tools. But why do you have to go to such extent to find out those battery drains? You got yourself such an expensive piece of device and still need to troubleshoot yourself?! Just what are you trying to prove that "hey, I found what's wrong with the drains and I done it all by myself". Google supposed to do it, not us the consumers. Oh, battery drain, root and troubleshoot. Ram consumption to high, troubleshoot, disable this and that. You all working for Google or the phones companies ah?

You guys still don't see the point I trying to make. Yes, iPhone are simple and that's a good thing. Everything just work good right out of the box but that's doesn't mean it's for idiots. People who like to troubleshoot things by themselves are not smart either. Just nerds.

Anyways, I rest my case. Not going to debate in this phone thread. I'm not a dumb user to troubleshoot a phone that I bought to enjoy unlike you guys. Peace.

Sent from An Island Run By Some Pathetic Government using GAGT

JackDulouz

The platform war is already over. Android has the largest market share while Apple has the most valuable customers. So I don't understand why some converts are still preaching the same old gospel abt iOS over Android.

OutBreak

Please la. Share experiences as a whole nothing wrong ma. It's such common topic. People nowadays own more than one type of phones of different platforms. If you cannot take such discussion, don't read lor. Since Essential is supposed to be a highly anticipated phone, nothing wrong with comparing to other platforms.

"fanboy" is an outdated term already.

I'm not even talking about you.. why you so uptight? Maybe you are a closet iPhone fanboy? Why so sensitive? :p

Fanboy is not outdated. That nick idiotinskyrim is a 100% iSheep. Btw, he still can't spell Android right in his iPhone. LOL

Mecisteus

The platform war is already over. Android has the largest market share while Apple has the most valuable customers. So I don't understand why some converts are still preaching the same old gospel abt iOS over Android.

In financial wise, largest market share doesn't mean anything.

Apple is commanding at least 80% smartphone profits.

Majority of 20% goes to Samsung. So you can imagine the rest of the brands sharing the remaining profits.

JackDulouz

No choice. HTC, LG, Sony all have limited advertising budgets. They dun have the economy of scale when it come to components.

All earning pittance compared to Samsung.
In financial wise, largest market share doesn't mean anything.

Apple is commanding at least 80% smartphone profits.

Majority of 20% goes to Samsung. So you can imagine the rest of the brands sharing the remaining profits.

OutBreak

This thread has been going out of topic due to a cetain iRetard.

If you love your iCrap so much, please go back to your own forum.

Nobody gives a ****! :s8:

Mecisteus

If you love your iCrap so much, please go back to your own forum.

This is such a childish distinction.

We are in a public discussion board. It is common for contributors to make comparisons with other brands and models.

I have never used an iPhone before. But I have so much respect for their business, innovations and technologies.

OutBreak

This is such a childish distinction.

We are in a public discussion board. It is common for contributors to make comparisons with other brands and models.

I have never used an iPhone before. But I have so much respect for their business, innovations and technologies.

Childish? You must be illiterate..

This is Android forum..

Not Android Vs iOS forum..

Learn how to read..

xuan87

Hmmm the recent Essential Phone AMA on Reddit is quite informative and contains both good and bad news for me:

Good: They will (eventually) come out with a small audiophile 3.5mm attachment which I feel is a good argument for omitting the headphones jack. I rather pay more for a good quality audio attachment than have a sucky headphone jack that results in a bigger phone. I won't expect to see this till Q2 2018 at the very earliest (1 attachment per quarter, so 360 camera in Q4 '17, charging dock in Q1 '18 and hopefully this next)

Bad: My favored color, the Ocean depth won't be out anytime soon. Will be weeks before the white is released, after that is grey, and lastly ocean depth. I might go for grey.

Given that I just bought a Xiaomi A1, I guess I'll wait till Black Friday first and see if there is a sale. If there is, I might hoot the black one. If there isn't, I might wait for the grey one.

technolust

Yah I was quite smitten with this phone also but certain things hold me back like the camera features . I saw one review and it didn't even have panorama mode for its camera ? That's quite shocking for a 2017 phone model

Hmmm the recent Essential Phone AMA on Reddit is quite informative and contains both good and bad news for me:

Good: They will (eventually) come out with a small audiophile 3.5mm attachment which I feel is a good argument for omitting the headphones jack. I rather pay more for a good quality audio attachment than have a sucky headphone jack that results in a bigger phone. I won't expect to see this till Q2 2018 at the very earliest (1 attachment per quarter, so 360 camera in Q4 '17, charging dock in Q1 '18 and hopefully this next)

Bad: My favored color, the Ocean depth won't be out anytime soon. Will be weeks before the white is released, after that is grey, and lastly ocean depth. I might go for grey.

Given that I just bought a Xiaomi A1, I guess I'll wait till Black Friday first and see if there is a sale. If there is, I might hoot the black one. If there isn't, I might wait for the grey one.

monox

Has anyone gotten their hands on it yet? Mine should arrive here next week... not sure what to expect...Im hoping to be wowed

Mclairs83

those who love iPhone, just leave the thread. no point comparing iOS vs Android.

different people, different use cases.

nuff said.

Computeron

miyamiya

Think got one guy getting the set next week. Seems not much interest locally. Between mimix2 and essential, which one u will choose ?

Posted with My Sony XZP via the HardwareZone Forums app

No stock Android no talk. MIUI sux. Damn iOS wannabe. No way I'm getting a cheena phone with cheena skinned Android.

Essential at least mostly stock Android and should have fast update but the software team seems super cmi based on what we have seen so far.

So Google pixel 2 xl is the way to go. :( :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.