EV or ICE car

standarture

Remember that for EV, every yr your battery naturally degrades like your phone. But unlike phones, you car has a set range. In two yrs when your battery left 80% lifespan, expect to lose 20% of the maximum range. This means you got to charge more often. There is no applecare, unlike iphone. So if you drive EV, get ready for your car to lose performance and range over time.

Also, charging prices have increased significantly, compared to two or three years ago. On top of this, you need to pay PAP no-petrol tax, the resale value is also almost 0.

Nothing beats ICE cars.
Most of the people here are quite rich so all the cons of evs dont matter to them. They dont need to minmax or optimise anything. Even got people talking about waste energy while idling. All the same as petrol la. If dont drive EV a lot, it generates more carbon than a ICE.

standarture

Simple charging arithmetic.

Say battery capacity = 60 kWh
To charge up battery, need input charging power of 60 kW for 1 hour.
To charge up in 30 minutes, you need input charging power 120 kW.
To charge up in 10 minutes, you need input charging power 360 kW.

Say HDB car park has 4 charging lots.
Need total 4x360 = 1.44 MW for 10-minute charging.
But if restrict to minimum 1-hour charging, need 4x60 = 240 kW only.

Assume 100 HDB car parks with 400 charging lots total
Assume all charging lots only used once daily. Max 400 EVs are charged per day. No one queues up wait for charger.
Total need 144 MW power per day from Power Grid for 10-minute charging, or 24 MW power draw per day from Power Grid for 1-hour charging.

It's all about money. Laying new 1.44 MW power cables from substation way more ex than laying new 240 kW power cables. How much does it cost to build 4 charging lots with 1.44 MW power line from substation? With 240 kW power line? I don't know. Does anyone know what is the cost? You know we taxpayers are paying for all these whether we have EVs or not, right? EV owners must pay more road tax to cover these costs.

Can existing Power Grid support additional 144 MW power draw per day? Most likely will be limited to 1-hour charging at the minimum coz only need additional 24 MW power draw per day. Or maybe SG will go all nuclear? No more fossil fuel power generation in future, all power stations will be nuclear?
I planned substation capacity for hdb before. No joke sia these EV chargers. Only can put slow chargers. Need to upsize the transformers too. Waste space also. And these lots hope dont become white elephant also.

meepokkia

My uncle just traded in his old Camry 2.4 with one of the ADs here.. trade in value 22k.. bought the new 2024 harrier hybrid for 200k..at special arrangement rates.

COE is high but no choice..

tomsss

i predict hybrids will the preferred choice for future vehicles.

You have the best of both worlds, why swing back to relying on just 1 system :s22:

jtjt00

Another advantage for EV is it's silent, can stealth creep up on pedestrians not looking at road and the heavier EV weight also help to ensure lesser chance of survival. So good choice for those considering 2nd career to being hired killer :crazy:
Tyre shops can huat gao gao loh.

standarture

i predict hybrids will the preferred choice for future vehicles.

You have the best of both worlds, why swing back to relying on just 1 system :s22:
China went EV cos of smog and they dun have classic automobile brands themselves. And building EV no need the decades of automobile experience of designing ICEs. European is virtue signalling cos they already went too deep into building regulations. US is cheap gas with some EV fans.

Evcats

https://www.caranddriver.com/features/a60300121/electric-vs-hybrid-cars-pros-and-cons/

But the combination of an internal-combustion engine and at least one electric motor makes for a complex powertrain. Most hybrids rely on a gas engine to power the wheels in most circumstances, with the electric motor(s) there to provide some electric-only motoring and augment the engine by adding power or letting it run at a more efficient speed.

Compared to EVs, hybrids have smaller batteries that store only enough energy to assist the internal-combustion portion of the powertrain for short stints, so the environmental impact of their manufacture is comparatively lower, yet they still rely on fossil fuels.

could seen as having both advantages and disadvantages of ICE and EV. halfway solution…

uni_user

went to a B tier China City recently... almost everything is electric le (cars, bikes). The road full of vehicles but jin quiet and no smoke.

I think EV is the future... hard to deny.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.