EV or ICE car

Evcats

went to a B tier China City recently... almost everything is Electric le (cars, bikes)...the road full of vehicles but jin quiet and no smoke.

I think EV is the future... hard to deny.
Singapore WILL go into majority EV with new cars sold being majority EVs. It’s just WHEN the older ICE will be transitioned out once their COEs expire or no longer serviceable…

topiari

Simple charging arithmetic.

Say battery capacity = 60 kWh
To charge up battery, need input charging power of 60 kW for 1 hour.
To charge up in 30 minutes, you need input charging power 120 kW.
To charge up in 10 minutes, you need input charging power 360 kW.

Say HDB car park has 4 charging lots.
Need total 4x360 = 1.44 MW for 10-minute charging.
But if restrict to minimum 1-hour charging, need 4x60 = 240 kW only.

Assume 100 HDB car parks with 400 charging lots total
Assume all charging lots only used once daily. Max 400 EVs are charged per day. No one queues up wait for charger.
Total need 144 MW power per day from Power Grid for 10-minute charging, or 24 MW power draw per day from Power Grid for 1-hour charging.

It's all about money. Laying new 1.44 MW power cables from substation way more ex than laying new 240 kW power cables. How much does it cost to build 4 charging lots with 1.44 MW power line from substation? With 240 kW power line? I don't know. Does anyone know what is the cost? You know we taxpayers are paying for all these whether we have EVs or not, right? EV owners must pay more road tax to cover these costs.

Can existing Power Grid support additional 144 MW power draw per day? Most likely will be limited to 1-hour charging at the minimum coz only need additional 24 MW power draw per day. Or maybe SG will go all nuclear? No more fossil fuel power generation in future, all power stations will be nuclear?
It’s always about money

dpsk3000

if i dont intend to sell just scrape.

which one better? my car expiring soon within a yr+

no need to think. ICE.

in sinkie land, you should not even thinking of EV because this country lousy gene pool aka coolie gene/mentality are so self fish that you will never get parking let at shopping centres if you need a charge. you got to ensure your EV is fully charge before you leave the house.

bastxxx sinkie in singapore will hog the EV parking in shopping centre even after the EV is fully charge. worst, no brain sinkie buy BYD. that is a commie product. they totally forgot who stole their panadol and facemask. and battery in your car need to change when its old.

Emperor_Hippo

I too old to act ah beng n zeng oso. I looking at bread n butter from A to B. My dad drives a Volvo but I don’t find it looks nice. Looks very uncle. S90.
Cannot lah. Volvo S looks damn unker.

at least Volvo-XCs. EX series damn small inside i feel. it doesn't have the spaciousness of the classic XCs.

koster

no need to think. ICE.

in sinkie land, you should not even thinking of EV because this country lousy gene pool aka coolie gene/mentality are so self fish that you will never get parking let at shopping centres if you need a charge. you got to ensure your EV is fully charge before you leave the house.

bastxxx sinkie in singapore will hog the EV parking in shopping centre even after the EV is fully charge. worst, no brain sinkie buy BYD. that is a commie product. they totally forgot who stole their panadol and facemask. and battery in your car need to change when its old.
I think the idling charge imposed by the charging provider will address the issue.

topiari

I planned substation capacity for hdb before. No joke sia these EV chargers. Only can put slow chargers. Need to upsize the transformers too. Waste space also. And these lots hope dont become white elephant also.
In some HDB carparks already more than white elephant , the operators just run away and disconnected the chargers from main (assuming no lew involvement ) and people just don’t park there because they are painted green with big EV Charging only sign

mooseolly

If everyone buy EV, the car parks got enough charging points or not?

Slowdown

if i dont intend to sell just scrape.

which one better? my car expiring soon within a yr+
At this junction in time. ICE / Hybrid will still be the logical choice. EV technology and charging point, has not reached the stage where it is mainstream.

EV technology is still evolving. The new EV car you buy tomorrow, the technology become obsolete/less attractive the following year. Very difficult to sell an older EV that can only run 300km but newer EV can run 500km. Do you have easy access to charging point? In my case, there is not charging point yet in my carpark. Meaning I have to go out somewhere each time I need to charge. Easy access is important (don't even talk about price).

EV is the future. But not the near future (for Singapore). I reckon ICE / Hybrid is still attractive for the next 5 years.

buttertrade69

I think the idling charge imposed by the charging provider will address the issue.
I think this doesn't affect the popular shopping mall. most people won't rather pay slightly more for them to park in the charging lot than go turn round and round just to wasting time to find parking lot.

topiari

Suppose you charge once every 3 days.

And the battery has 1000 cycles before it degrade to below 80 pct real capacity. EV is not like HP which you charge daily.

That's like more than 8 years.

If I'm not wrong EV Road tax is higher, but the savings from electricity should be still higher.
“They” surely wouldn’t let you “save” more than the other kind
“They” would just conveniently advertise green and net zero while saying you save the petrol because you don’t pump petrol

topiari

T
At this junction in time. ICE / Hybrid will still be the logical choice. EV technology and charging point, has not reached the stage where it is mainstream.

EV technology is still evolving. The new EV car you buy tomorrow, the technology become obsolete/less attractive the following year. Very difficult to sell an older EV that can only run 300km but newer EV can run 500km. Do you have easy access to charging point? In my case, there is not charging point yet in my carpark. Meaning I have to go out somewhere each time I need to charge. Easy access is important (don't even talk about price).

EV is the future. But not the near future (for Singapore). I reckon ICE / Hybrid is still attractive for the next 5 years.
The current design is just focusing to change the fuel tank to battery. The control system still using external battery like ICE. You can read the car forum of amdk countries complain about this causing their car won’t start in the morning because the car busy updating overnight like PC

Evcats

Slowdown

T

The current design is just focusing to change the fuel tank to battery. The control system still using external battery like ICE. You can read the car forum of amdk countries complain about this causing their car won’t start in the morning because the car busy updating overnight like PC
Yup. I consider this point under EV Technology.

EV technology is still evolving. It will get better. Just not now. I am driving a hybrid now. I did consider changing to EV. I decided otherwise. Those countries the car won't start because too cold. Singapore is the car won't start because the battery is too hot. When driving a hybrid, the general recommendation is avoid parking the car under direct sunlight. Unfortunately my place of work only has open air carpark.

C_boliao

Singapore gov is just nonsense with ev.

Want you go green but charge you premium for it.

Should encourage by lower or same road tax

Evcats

T

https://insideevs.com/features/724785/ev-12-volt-battery-explained/

Even though electric vehicles don’t need a jolt of power to spin a starter motor and crank over a combustion engine, which is a 12-volt battery’s most important role in an internal combustion car, it is needed for everything else. The lights, door locks, electric power steering, infotainment, safety systems, and everything in between were essentially borrowed from traditional combustion engine cars and they usually run at 12 volts with current supplied from the 12-volt battery.

drkcynic

no way unless the idling charge is in the hundreds of sgd per minute.
Doesn't address the problem of EV parking or charging lots and not plugging in. Or EV plugging in and not charging. Or non EVs parking on charging lots.

When it gets bad enough, sure will start clamping.

Now go car chat groups, already alot of people kpkb.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.