EV or ICE car

esandwich

45 km per round trip, non city driving.

My charging frequency is like 8-10 days once. Charging time 30-40 min with Tesla supercharger.
Average consumption:
160WH per km or 6.25km per kWH($0.60).
(Slightly more aggressive driving style for Tesla EV).
1L Ron98 =$3(assumed). high power turbo charged car sips Ron 98 .

This car consumption: 31.25 km/L

4L turbo charged performance with 1L engine consumption.
Your Tesla LR or performance?

byfun

45 km per round trip, non city driving.

My charging frequency is like 8-10 days once. Charging time 30-40 min with Tesla supercharger.
Average consumption:
160WH per km or 6.25km per kWH($0.60).
(Slightly more aggressive driving style for Tesla EV).
1L Ron98 =$3(assumed). high power turbo charged car sips Ron 98 .

This car consumption: 31.25 km/L

4L turbo charged performance with 1L engine consumption.

But roadtax close to $4000 per year right ?
Heard that due to EV heavy weight the tyre wear out very fast. Is it true ?

singaporean11

I only have one EV - Tesla
I don't have all the misinformed issues painted by some folks here.

No range anxiety,
No fast battery degradation issue. My charge pattern is 20-> 80% , occasionally to 100% .
No startup issue.
No long charging annoyance issue, most of the time, no issue finding supercharger.
Within 2km radius of my house there are 6 DC fast charging networks. Countless AC charging outlets ( never use them, too slow)

Yes I do have happy problems.
"No long charging annoyance issue"?

So long to charge from 20% to 80% and 100%?

mel1888

EV evolves very fast. It will be worthwhile to wait.
True. Look at BYD, granted its MIC but tech doesnt lose to Tesla & its more appealing in & out. Tesla design is now boring as fck & inside is like sandwich without ham. The longer u wait the better tech u will get at lower price. Until they outlaw ICE, i will not drive EV. Moreover now trump is in power, so ICE will still be relevant for sometime.

iceblendedchoc

True. Look at BYD, granted its MIC but tech doesnt lose to Tesla & its more appealing in & out. Tesla design is now boring as fck & inside is like sandwich without ham. The longer u wait the better tech u will get at lower price. Until they outlaw ICE, i will not drive EV. Moreover now trump is in power, so ICE will still be relevant for sometime.
pap already say ICE out, if they dun lose more seats hard for them to repent

singaporean11

do the EVs here come with artificial sounds as an option?
cheap thrill since cannot afford a real V8 ICE. but i do find the quietness of EV abit of a hazard especially in car parks.
Yes, I heard BYD added artificial sound or you can select music to be played when accelerated as EV too quiet and you may not even realize it is moving!

singaporean11

initially it does focus on EV however when BMW/Toyota along with which car company(forgotten) announced hydrogen, they like flip prata flip to the term 'cleaner energy vehicles' or 'lean energy vehicle' in 2022 or early 2023. :LOL:

I have no issues with EVs la but its battery too dangerous to be around.. imagine u park in your underground carpark and kaboom... the entire fleet of EVs along each other all burnt down like wild fire. The insurance company will only compensate u at market rate which also means ur car burnt down, you still need to pay for whatever u still owe to the bank. At First 2-3 years kena burnt, u sure lose money like mad, if u take high loan for 7yrs and beyond.
Been doing some reasearch and that is why I will only stick with CATL or BYD EV batteries only!

I can still remember the Mercedes-Benz cars' cases where Mercedes uses cheaper EV batteries and their Mercedes kaboomed and burst into flames! :eek:

singaporean11

My concern with Tesla is that it is not durable, and repairs are terribly expensive on top of its so expensive price! Not value for money! (if not so durable but repairs are cheap still can endure with :p )

I still remember in Northern Europe (is it Finland?) a guy tried to replace batteries for his Tesla but was quoted an exorbitant price that is almost as much as a new Tesla!
So he decided to film a video of himself setting a bomb on his own Tesla and shared it on Youtube!

Bam25th

The breakeven point between an electric vehicle (EV) and an internal combustion engine (ICE) vehicle depends on several factors, including:
  • Driving distance
    The number of miles driven per year is a key factor in determining when an EV becomes cleaner than an ICE vehicle. For example, a driver who drives 30,000 miles per year in an EV will break even in one year, while a driver who drives 10,000 miles per year will take five years.

Seems like EV is not so clean after all.

standarture

The breakeven point between an electric vehicle (EV) and an internal combustion engine (ICE) vehicle depends on several factors, including:
  • Driving distance
    The number of miles driven per year is a key factor in determining when an EV becomes cleaner than an ICE vehicle. For example, a driver who drives 30,000 miles per year in an EV will break even in one year, while a driver who drives 10,000 miles per year will take five years.

Seems like EV is not so clean after all.

Yes. EV is only carbon friendly for comparison purposes if the person drives a lot which is ironic since you don't want to encourage that anyway. EV car produces more carbon upfront when manufactured compared to a decades refined process ICE car. All those rare earth metal mines and lithium mines are every environmentally damaging but usually looked over. Again for SG context, gahmen only use average mileage statistics to say the cleaner energy cars will save a bit of carbon emissions to justify their push...... which is quite a bad gauge.

eversomighty

Been doing some reasearch and that is why I will only stick with CATL or BYD EV batteries only!

I can still remember the Mercedes-Benz cars' cases where Mercedes uses cheaper EV batteries and their Mercedes kaboomed and burst into flames! :eek:
actually every ev brand got their fair share of kaboom and chinese brands kaboom which is very very common in China was very downplayed on social media, douyin due to their strong PR and legal dept(police even use black cloth to cover the car).

eversomighty

My concern with Tesla is that it is not durable, and repairs are terribly expensive on top of its so expensive price! Not value for money! (if not so durable but repairs are cheap still can endure with :p )

I still remember in Northern Europe (is it Finland?) a guy tried to replace batteries for his Tesla but was quoted an exorbitant price that is almost as much as a new Tesla!
So he decided to film a video of himself setting a bomb on his own Tesla and shared it on Youtube!
Northern Europe manpower is very expensive in the first place, not sure how cheap will Chinese parts be there due to shipping and logistics. Meanwhile in SG, I heard from a PHV driver who bought the BYD M6(prev facelift/version) needed to change battery due to battery completely depleted in 2-3 years of ownership and cost him around 10k at the AD. My balls will banging each other if I'm the owner.. That's like our renewed coe VW Golf GTI engine+gearbox overhaul pricing for your reference.

joshwong11

Meanwhile I am enjoying lower tariff, plenty of charging stations without long wait.

The market will calibrate to force you to pay higher to better tech.

Battery module is quite independent, as long as power delivery spec is similar, motor drive electronics/power management unit can be re-use.

Not sure about China EV.
Tesla did help to do battery swapping between the NCM(higher density , take high charge but can't withstand too much abusing e.g daily charge to full) battery to LFP (heavier but could take more charging abuse ) with suspension brief up.

huh battery is the core integral of ur ev car secondary or maybe even more impt than powertrain. dun think there are standardised compliance yet for the industry to follow. different battery chemistries, size, power output, capacity, dimensions how to re-use or swap legally or safely. insurance also dunnoe will cover or void another unclear area for bevs. so u r bind to that battery have to hope the manufacturer keep enough reserves in china after they change their production lines. i doubt so since they keep coming up with new batteries with different chemistries and composition every few months with new models. n very likely once adoption pick up outside china, govt or industry will come up with safety or chemical standards for battery manufacturer to follow ur old battery cars might fail to meet the standards = gg

ya tesla is better since at least they dun chut new model every other quarter n their china battery suppliers dun dare to offend their big customers.

singaporean11

Northern Europe manpower is very expensive in the first place, not sure how cheap will Chinese parts be there due to shipping and logistics. Meanwhile in SG, I heard from a PHV driver who bought the BYD M6(prev facelift/version) needed to change battery due to battery completely depleted in 2-3 years of ownership and cost him around 10k at the AD. My balls will banging each other if I'm the owner.. That's like our renewed coe VW Golf GTI engine+gearbox overhaul pricing for your reference.
Fret not, because BYD dealers now offer 10-years free servicing and 10-years battery warranty! :LOL:

Does Tesla cars come with 10-years battery warranty? I don't think so since my understanding is that Tesla's battery is less efficient and not as good as CATL and BYD's batteries. (note that there are some Tesla cars that actually come with BYD batteries as Tesla bought some BYD batteries for use in their more premium cars like Tesla Model Y!)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.