EV or ICE car

Horsepower

Driving both currently so can give you some 5 cents lor.

ICE
- Higher fuel cost
- Less in car entertainment options (although it depends on which model you get)
- I dont have confidence in overtaking at speed with weaker engine ICE cars
+ Cheaper insurance cost
+ Replacement parts generally cheaper cause theres less tech integrated stuff
+ Bonus points for EV given the insane FC

EV
- Higher insurance and road tax will kind of eat whatever fuel savings you have
- You need to plan your EV's charging into your schedule. I havent really experienced any issues with using public chargers (outside of shopping malls) although theres one or two buggers that hogged the charging point over my 2Y driving an EV. Just report them through your app. NBD
- Replacement parts can be a little bit pricier
+ Better in car entertainment options which is supported by the battery I guess??
+ Nice acceleration. You can confidently overtake with ease. Generally smooth rides
+ Lesser noise and air pollution. If 70% of the population were on EVs you would not have that road noise and exhaust smell. Bonus points for EVs being a tad more expensive too so it prices out those YPs that like to mod their exhaust to compensate for their tinypepes. But this might push them into fixies though which is a whole new problem on the road....

Mystyque

Get ICE or Hybrid.

The decision to go full EV still not firm. Singapore is currently relying on natural gas and coal to generate electricity and there is still a shortfall from what I see for whole of sg to go EV. This alone makes it quite questionable liao. I dun see gov making plans to build more power plant I dunno how they gg to achieve 2030.

They will likely be buying electricity from other countries so can say we not generating any more pollution :o
https://www.ema.gov.sg/news-events/...across-the-borders-for-low-carbon-electricity

Alphas

Not enough public charging stations. The HDB estate has only 3 charging points, which will quickly become overused once there are more EV.

Jeremy1

Generating electricity doesn't pollute? Singapore has fo burn more fuel and the transmission from plant to car isn't efficient yet.

Technically speaking EV in SG create more pollution compared to conventional car.

EV pollution is concentrated in 1 area and can be manageable whereas ICE is everywhere as long as you drive.

Mystyque

Another advantage for EV is it's silent, can stealth creep up on pedestrians not looking at road and the heavier EV weight also help to ensure lesser chance of survival. So good choice for those considering 2nd career to being hired killer :crazy:

rosschang

With the current Insurance and Road Tax on EV?

Pls buy ICE instead la. ****h I pay the EV Road tax I can drive a COE'ed 3.6L V6 liao...

Scarlet Tea

buy EV over ICE.
Buy a Tesla . you will not regret. future proof
Tesla is doing bi weekly car firmware update. you get continuous features improvement.
after 3 years of usage, you still don't feel the features aging problem.

if you are keen on Tesla, ping me to know more.

EV advantages
1. silky smooth drive resolution.
EV motor drive power delivery is linear in nature whereas ICE combustion power transformation is chemical explosion, exponential .
EV can be driven with very refined slow drive and instant torque with high acceleration.
regardless over EV car power output, it still deliver smooth low end drive.

ICE power delivery is very very complex. uneven torque distribution.

2. range anxiety is over rated.
get both ICE and EV stuck in heavy traffic, the EV will consume much less energy than ICE.
400km range is sufficient for daily drive at city state.

3. software features advantages.
which ICE car gives OTA firmware update.

I will not go back for ICE car for my daily drive.
exception for exotic ICE sport car(non daily use)

3 yrs later the firmware update allows me to drive at Mach 3?

Evcats

Obviously EV. Just do a test drive you will be convinced :)

smooth as butter and no exhaust emissions. You can literally camp in the car and do your work or watch entertainment waiting for others.

Never has issues with public charging as typically only charge once weekly or when in malls dining / shopping. No need to make extra trip to any fuel stations

stingray1211

buy EV over ICE.
Buy a Tesla . you will not regret. future proof
Tesla is doing bi weekly car firmware update. you get continuous features improvement.
after 3 years of usage, you still don't feel the features aging problem.
if you are keen on Tesla, ping me to know more.
EV advantages
1. silky smooth drive resolution.
EV motor drive power delivery is linear in nature whereas ICE combustion power transformation is chemical explosion, exponential .
EV can be driven with very refined slow drive and instant torque with high acceleration.
regardless over EV car power output, it still deliver smooth low end drive.
ICE power delivery is very very complex. uneven torque distribution.
2. range anxiety is over rated.
get both ICE and EV stuck in heavy traffic, the EV will consume much less energy than ICE.
400km range is sufficient for daily drive at city state.
3. software features advantages.
which ICE car gives OTA firmware update.
I will not go back for ICE car for my daily drive.
exception for exotic ICE sport car(non daily use)

tesla is a tech toy.

buy a proper EV as it is ultimately a car. not a tech toy.

I don't think I will ever buy a Tesla. in Singapore EVs are taxed way higher. big policy joke.

hybrid is best.

EVs after 8 years cater for $10k to change batteries.

Tesla parts not easy to get , accident take long time to get parts in.

aceminer

Seems very polarizing views. Maybe I should spend one weekend go car hunting. I left 1.5yrs so was waiting for coe to drop

Smtsai

if i dont intend to sell just scrape.

which one better? my car expiring soon within a yr+
Never electric . If involve in accident high chance kena burnt completely already many many cases out there .

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.