EV or ICE car

Slowdown

if u dont intend to extend coe then dont repair the hybrid battery and drive like a non hybrid car will do. hybrid battery replacement is still costly and EV battery lagi more expensive.
If I understand it correctly, you cannot start the car if the hybrid battery is not working. There is a pre-check. Maybe other hybrid owners can share their experience.

Emperor_Hippo

no wonder people these days keep getting scammed and later scold gehment
i think ppl's sense of trust in sales and marketing folks are through the roof and ignoring every aspects that basic 10yr education had put them through:
critical thinking in essay writing, physics, chemistry, history, literature and literary analysis...

the next fella who say, "go school study is for grades and u learn nothing useful in school" should surrender their knowledge, certs and pay to me; and go and sleep underneath the expressway.

thank u.

eversomighty

Indeed I am disappointed that BYD chose to enter Spore market working with the usual suspects like Sime Darby. Tesla imo has a better marketing model without these middlemen that has little value add. I think we can put the tech discussion aside. Because quite frankly there is little to discuss. EV is the future and ICE is legacy and fast on the way out.
its not about the who BYD dealership is actually lah.. we all need to be more vigilant to products we consume la. EV might be only part of the future, I'm leaning more towards the hydrogen side till EV plants can get together to clean up battery raw material supply, manufacturing and recycling.

eversomighty

If I understand it correctly, you cannot start the car if the hybrid battery is not working. There is a pre-check. Maybe other hybrid owners can share their experience.
depending on which brand and models of cos. most hybrid like toyota can start engine if hybrid battery is down. Its the normal car battery that starts the engine not the hybrid battery.

Emperor_Hippo

its not about the who BYD dealership is actually lah.. we all need to be more vigilant to products we consume la. EV might be only part of the future, I'm leaning more towards the hydrogen side till EV plants can get together to clean up battery raw material supply, manufacturing and recycling.
i am still doubtful of all these new fangled engine tech.

anyway, EMA's directive didn't say "Electric vehicle only..." but said "CLEANER ENERGY VEHICLES... allowed for registration from 2030 and only CLEANER ENERGY VEHICLES on the road by 2040", which means mild hybrids will still be around past 2030 deadline.

so, screw EVs.

Emperor_Hippo

Funny thing is, all the EV owners i have met so far always encourage me to get EV.

The only people who tell me dont get an EV, is unusually super negative about EV. After chatting with them, they actually never owned an EV, never even test drive before or been to EV showroom.

There are some who are indifferent or keeping options open (mostly worried about charging infrastructure)

Ironic
for EV starters, try BlueSG.

yah, that Bollore Blue is shiet, but it gives one an idea of how EV driving is like.

cool? yah. esp after turning off the spaceship sound.

feel shiok about saving the earth? of course.

tricks and stunts? i did alot with it, even did half accelerator to stop and balance the car on the slope before. :s13:

but if u give me choose ICE and EV, I will still choose ICE. cos there's just too many uncertainties (incl resale value) for EVs.

matt1618sg

What people forget is SG is a small dot. SG does not make cars. Doesn't matter if SG gov wants to go all EV if Ford, Toyota, BMW, Merc, Fiat, even Tesla stop making EV. And this could happen. Remember LPG cars? SG market is so small no car maker cares about SG, no car maker will make limited number of EV just for SG. If gov insists on all EV, end up maybe all will be driving China EV. EV for China is a political tool so they will keep making EV. SG will be fully dependent on China for all motoring needs then. All private cars, taxis, buses, delivery trucks, etc will be China EV. Being dependent on a sole supplier means we are hostage to the sole supplier.

And can we stop with the EV saving the environment BS? The additional power that needs to be generated for EV charging cancels out EV unless all power stations stop using fossil fuels and go nuclear. When all power stations in the world are nuclear then EV owners can say EV saves the environment.

Emperor_Hippo

What people forget is SG is a small dot. SG does not make cars. Doesn't matter if SG gov wants to go all EV if Ford, Toyota, BMW, Merc, Fiat, even Tesla stop making EV. And this could happen. Remember LPG cars? SG market is so small no car maker cares about SG, no car maker will make limited number of EV just for SG. If gov insists on all EV, end up maybe all will be driving China EV. EV for China is a political tool so they will keep making EV. SG will be fully dependent on China for all motoring needs then. All private cars, taxis, buses, delivery trucks, etc will be China EV. Being dependent on a sole supplier means we are hostage to the sole supplier.

And can we stop with the EV saving the environment BS? The additional power that needs to be generated for EV charging cancels out EV unless all power stations stop using fossil fuels and go nuclear. When all power stations in the world are nuclear then EV owners can say EV saves the environment.
when true clean energy like nuclear fusion comes into play, then talk.

until then, we all survive last 4yrs of trump then tok hokays?

anyway, u'll be surprised that this "EV = save the earth" BS is perpetuated by teachers since K2. luckily my kid tells me every single shiet they'd been studying in school. i even need to correct teachers on some stereotype myths at times by re-teaching my kid some parts.

granted its all like "basic education", but i'd rather not let my kid start on a wrong footing.

Evcats

Can be 100% sure you never test drive an EV / not planning to buy any car in the next year / or even own a car / seen too much overseas video :ROFLMAO:
if we are not ready with more than one third of new car buyers choosing EV why are we looking into hydrogen :p

Emperor_Hippo

Can be 100% sure you never test drive an EV / not planning to buy any car in the next year / or even own a car / seen too much overseas video :ROFLMAO:
if we are not ready with more than one third of new car buyers choosing EV why are we looking into hydrogen :p
erm... cos these ev buyers keep harping like so many chicks and chickens on their charging costs?

@eversomighty talk abt sustainability of battery, u tok abt EV ownership, "govt direction towards EV" (its a misnomer, the keyword in the EMA paper is CLEANER ENERGY VEHICLES), and cheep cheep cheep charging that costs so much cheep cheep cheeper than my ICE (yah, my travel pattern up and down per day can exceed 100km sometimes and my 56L can still last at least 7 to 9 days. EV? I once every 3 days go charge to 80% and use only 60%?! wait for 20mins at max speed).

the above is the words of every single bloody car salesmen have been telling me whenever I goto Leng Kee.

yes, i had driven EVs and have close friends who own EVs.

- EVs being the only future? No.
- EVs being PART of the future? Possibly.
- ICE/Hybrids still around in 2040? ICE maybe only classic cars, Hybrids? DEFINITELY, unless the automobile industry on the whole can kinda decide where the line is and stop trying to pop up products like its macam iPhone - product refresh cycle once every 18mths.

drkcynic

this kind of trickery stuffs got terms and conditions one mah. example u need to go below x amount of mileage per year to keep your warranty. All car repairs, parts, expendables must be done at their workshop. During that time, chop carrot also not too late. Don't trust marketing too much(I come from car dealership background last time)
That goes for every single product that you bought that offers warranty. Even ICE cars which offers warranty and servicing for 5 years are all subjected to terms and conditions.

It is not wrong to be suspicious of such terms and conditions for warranties and insurance because of bad experiences we have heard at some point of time. But I am not sure how according to you it is specific to the EV industry only?

Evcats

erm... cos these ev buyers keep harping like so many chicks and chickens on their charging costs?

@eversomighty talk abt sustainability of battery, u tok abt EV ownership, "govt direction towards EV" (its a misnomer, the keyword in the EMA paper is CLEANER ENERGY VEHICLES), and cheep cheep cheep charging that costs so much cheep cheep cheeper than my ICE (yah, my travel pattern up and down per day can exceed 100km sometimes and my 56L can still last at least 7 to 9 days. EV? I once every 3 days go charge to 80% and use only 60%?! wait for 20mins at max speed).

the above is the words of every single bloody car salesmen have been telling me whenever I goto Leng Kee.

yes, i had driven EVs and have close friends who own EVs.

- EVs being the only future? No.
- EVs being PART of the future? Possibly.
- ICE/Hybrids still around in 2040? ICE maybe only classic cars, Hybrids? DEFINITELY, unless the automobile industry on the whole can kinda decide where the line is and stop trying to pop up products like its macam iPhone - product refresh cycle once every 18mths.
In singapore EV IS the future

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...e-of-passenger-evs-in-s-e-asia-by-2040-report

pawn_king

should have bought both in 2019

camry hybrid 138k
tsla stock $30

since now missed the boat.
continue to wait for the next cycle / continue to cycle

Emperor_Hippo

I'll repeat myself - CLEANER ENERGY VEHICLES.

of which Hybrid, Hydrogen, Water, LPGs are counted as part of it.

of cos, i can't prevent or teach ppl how to think properly and critically. but if u hardcore wanna just stamp down and insist "EV is the future" based on some article in the papers; its as good as saying "Life Science is the future" (not sure how old u are to understood the reference). :s13:

Evcats

I'll repeat myself - CLEANER ENERGY VEHICLES.

of which Hybrid, Hydrogen, Water, LPGs are counted as part of it.

of cos, i can't prevent or teach ppl how to think properly and critically. but if u hardcore wanna just stamp down and insist "EV is the future" based on some article in the papers; its as good as saying "Life Science is the future" (not sure how old u are to understood the reference). :s13:
The fact that Singapore is building up all the charging stations and preparing specifically to promote EVs. Of course there needs to be some options for other “Cleaner energy vehicles“ and these will be the minority. We are looking at actual new vehicle registration and not based on personal preferences. And you can’t compare Singapore with other countries….

Emperor_Hippo

The fact that Singapore is building up all the charging stations and preparing specifically to promote EVs. Of course there needs to be some options for other “Cleaner energy vehicles“ and these will be the minority. We are looking at actual new vehicle registration and not based on personal preferences. And you can’t compare Singapore with other countries….
singing an EV song now doesn't exactly mean that's the song in the future.

i dun wanna talk about charger DENSITY as well. and yes, even though we may be a small country and range anxiety SHOULD NOT be in the equation IN THEORY, but real life seebeekia a lot.

and 20min charge time for my kind of usage that will only last me 3 to 4 days max?!

hard pass no.

maybe can consider EV for auto drive function (LTA only allow up to level 2 autonomous mode only). But Tesla will auto disable auto drive and switch to full manual at the very last minute before a crash + LTA's archiac rule about chassis?

we have a long way.

dun tok charger, LTA update their policy and regulations first then we tok. :s13: and updating policy and regs on chassis is NOT a chicken and egg situation.

Evcats

singing an EV song now doesn't exactly mean that's the song in the future.

i dun wanna talk about charger DENSITY as well. and yes, even though we may be a small country and range anxiety SHOULD NOT be in the equation IN THEORY, but real life seebeekia a lot.

and 20min charge time for my kind of usage that will only last me 3 to 4 days max?!

hard pass no.

maybe can consider EV for auto drive function (LTA only allow up to level 2 autonomous mode only). But Tesla will auto disable auto drive and switch to full manual at the very last minute before a crash + LTA's archiac rule about chassis?

we have a long way.

dun tok charger, LTA update their policy and regulations first then we tok. :s13: and updating policy and regs on chassis is NOT a chicken and egg situation.
Ok to be more accurate majority of cars sold in in Singapore will be EVs in the coming years due to the policies set and the options provided. It will be SG main transportation mode at least till 2040. Even the buses will be phased to EV. :cool:

Emperor_Hippo

Ok to be more accurate majority of cars sold in in Singapore will be EVs in the coming years due to the policies set and the options provided. It will be SG main transportation mode at least till 2040. Even the buses will be phased to EV. :cool:
erm.... i think pointing out the obvious aside. perhaps its much better when u had truly understood and grasped what does EV encompasses first.

else it will always be a case of my words flying over your head.

anyway, happy new year!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.