Fujitsu Laptop Users Thread

ab_cat

cloud7 said:
Hello Fujitsu_01,
May I know is Fujitsu having any promotions for the notebooks in the upcoming Sitex 2005 next month?
I was wondering when will Fujitsu be releasing new models of notebooks as I am not sure if I should buy it during the Sitex next month or wait till Jan 06.
yes they will. they will release new model if i'm not wrong and it should be cheaper then usual.

clueless_one

quick question fellow fujitsu lovers

hello,

i got the n series lifebook about 7 or 8 months ago. all in all i must say its a beast. it is more computer than i could possibly take full advantage of, and for that, i wouldnt get rid of it for anything....

BUT

since day 1... i have had a really loud fan. it hasnt gotten louder during the time i have had it ... but damn its annoying. Im not talking like its just loud, im talking about being down the hall and hearing it...

i tried to look for replacement fans or whatever , but i dont know what im doing.

should i

1) consider replacing the fan
2) try to adjust the power control on my computer (currently set on portable/laptop)
3) consider contacting the company and asking if i can send it back to have them look at

i appreciate your thoughts

by the way, this is the most advanced message board i have stumbled into, i have never seen php and pic uploads ... not too shabby whoever is responsible :s7:

after i posted this the first time i noticed even some of the words like this one PHP got a link on their own..... this site is pretty hot

michael
admin@optionblock.com

ab_cat

you should try your own choice no.2 and 3.

number 3 should be the best choice as it is still under warranty right.

chipmunk75

I just got my S7021 from NUS, and I seemed to be having some problem with the keyboard and touchpad.

Keyboard:
(1) the letters seemed to get capitalised randomly. e.g., when i was typing without the caps lock key on, certain letters on my sentence would randomly become capital letters.
(2) when i use the scroll left, right, up, down key (at the bottom right corner of the keyboard), it sometimes selects the range i scrolled through, rather than just move the cursor

Touchpad:
(1) sometimes when i click the left button/tap, it selects the whole range instead of just the object i was clicking on.

Also, I seemed to have problem starting the laptop. It happened a couple of times. When I boot up, I can get to the XP login screen, but, after login in, nothing happens, just a blank screen, without any desktop icons or START bar. Really weird.

Have always been a fan of Fujitsu, but, this new one is giving me quite a headache...

ab_cat

chipmunk75 said:
I just got my S7021 from NUS, and I seemed to be having some problem with the keyboard and touchpad.

Keyboard:
(1) the letters seemed to get capitalised randomly. e.g., when i was typing without the caps lock key on, certain letters on my sentence would randomly become capital letters.
(2) when i use the scroll left, right, up, down key (at the bottom right corner of the keyboard), it sometimes selects the range i scrolled through, rather than just move the cursor

Touchpad:
(1) sometimes when i click the left button/tap, it selects the whole range instead of just the object i was clicking on.

Also, I seemed to have problem starting the laptop. It happened a couple of times. When I boot up, I can get to the XP login screen, but, after login in, nothing happens, just a blank screen, without any desktop icons or START bar. Really weird.

Have always been a fan of Fujitsu, but, this new one is giving me quite a headache...
maybe u infect some virus, u can go down to NUS Computer Centre to let them help first, if still cannot fix, maybe u can try go to NUS CO-OP PC Centre.

namiac

chipmunk75 said:

Keyboard:

Touchpad:

Did you disable any services? If not i think u could be affect by some virus. I oso experience problems when i click the left button and it selects the whole range of objects, while browsin with firefox only those, tot it could be some software bug...

chipmunk75

Thanks "ab cat" and namiac. Will try to run a virus scan on it tonight, and see if anything comes up.

Btw, namiac, you asked whether I disabled any services...what services were you referring to? It'll probably help if I check up on that.

namiac

chipmunk75 said:
Thanks "ab cat" and namiac. Will try to run a virus scan on it tonight, and see if anything comes up.

Btw, namiac, you asked whether I disabled any services...what services were you referring to? It'll probably help if I check up on that.

wireless Zero configuration...if u disable this service or when this service is set to manual , u may experience some log in problems

Fujitsu_01

mimijo said:
Hi Fujitsu_01,

so sorry for the late reply...

no, there isn't any yellow question marks in the device manager....
i have checked all of them inside and none of them has any yellow question marks leh...

and under the mouse section, its written its working properly leh...
as for the 02 Micro MemoryCardBus Windows Driver, i don't know where to check it...

anyway, inside the device manager, no yellow question marks at all...
but inside the control panel should have show the 2 drivers...but don't have leh..

how? what am i going to do now??? :s11:

regards, Joey

Hi joey,

So sorry for the late reply! I was really busy this past few weeks..Is your problem been solve yet? If not, can u go under System>Hardware>Device manager and check on the PCMCIA SLOTS , there shld be this call O2micro OZ711MP/MSI MemoryCardbus Controller.. As for your touchpad, kindly look at the Mice and other pointing device and see whether there have Alps pointing device...If those drivers i stated is not shown at the device manager, i would suggest to bring down to AP to get it service..Oh well, time to go and sleep, never get ENOUGH sleep this past few weeks...

Rgds
Fujitsu_01

Fujitsu_01

namiac said:
Hi Fujitsu 01,

I been using S7020 since August, i notice a few problems:

1. It gets damn hot near the touch pad area - sometimes the fingerprint sensor gets really hot and it stops working, can't scroll can't do anything. Weird thing is it does not happen all the time hardware problem?

2. Screen flickers when running on battery. I also guessed a driver problem, any upcoming updates?

3.Battery lasts for 3hrs with minimal application running....why?

4. Audio jack does not detect a ear phone plug in unless i have the Realtek sound manger running, i dun like to keep it running, can it jus plug in and detect?

5. touch panel doesn't work if the process quicktouch.exe is run b4 FUJ02E3 (jus for information for those who disable the process and wants to run it again)

Hi namiac,

Sorry for the later reply >_< , been working very late like a madman! T.T

For No3. Battery lasts for 3hrs for MINIMUM of applications.. If u want to test the full true power of your batter life, CLOSE all applications, FunctionKey + F6 to set to the lowest brightness.. and let it idle..I must say for 3hrs consider is a good battery.I have cases where user bought thier new lappys and only got max of 1hr battery life.

For No2. Download the latest driver and that will solve the issue.

For No4. I really dont understand what u mean u dun like to keep it running? Means u want to disable the icon at the taskbar or completely uninstall the program? if you want to disable the icon at the taskbar,it very easy but you cant uninstall the software itself..If you do notice at the Sounds and Audio Devices properties, under default is all Realtek drivers..

For No1. It can be hardware issue if u said it hot and intermittenly stop working or u can try to uninstall the fingerprint sensor and reinstall again.

For No.5 Of course quicktouch.exe is for the touchpanel, i dun see the reason why u need to disable its process unless u didnt use the touch panel....(-_-)""

If there anything else u wish to ask, feel free to ask..But im not be able to reply fast as i got alot of things to do... oh god, i hate CHEESE!!!! :s31:

Rgds
Fujitsu_01

Fujitsu_01

namiac said:
wireless Zero configuration...if u disable this service or when this service is set to manual , u may experience some log in problems

I dont see it u need to actually diable the wirelss zero config, i will only use the service if the customer wants to use back to microsoft client instead of intel proset wireless for their old 2100 series of intel proset wireless card.

lkong

hi fujitsu_01

glad you are here to help around. i have a problem with s6220. the laptop hang in the middle of usage, after restart, the following error appear. At the bios intialisation, i have these error :

error
resource conflict - pci network controller motherboard
bus:01, device:0c, function:00
error
resource conflict - pci network controller on motherboard
bus:01, device:0d, function:00
error
resource conflict - pci serial bus controller on motherboard
bus:01, device:0e, function:00

i tried reset the bios setting to default. disable some item, however error still persist. still manage to get into window xp, however, device manager shown unknown device for network controller, ethernet adapter.

tried to load driver, it shows unable to install driver. can you advise me what can i do next ? is the ethernet port fried ? cannot get the wireless, the ethernet port and modem to work now.

thanks.

mimijo

hi fujitsu_01 :) ,

yes, as you mentioned under the Device Manager:

> PCMCIA adapters > O2micro OZ711MP1/MS1 MemoryCardbus Controller - YES

>Mice and other pointing device > Alps pointing device - YES

and there isn't any yellow question mark inside the Device Manager...

so does that means that if the "Alps pointing device" is shown inside the Device Manager,
but why is it that the "ALPS Touch Pad Driver" is not shown inside the control panel???

Alps pointing device = ALPS Touch Pad Driver ?

or

ALPS Touch Pad Driver is the Driver for Alps pointing device???

i go to the Contol Panel to view all of the installed Softwares/Drivers,
the "ALPS Touch Pad Driver" and the "02Micro MemoryCardBus Windows Driver" is Missing..

just feeling very weird that how come the 2 mentioned drivers in not shown
inside the Control Panel just like the first time when i bought it....

So does that means that my Fujitsu Lappy is reformatted in the CORRECT way??? or what?
or can you tell me whats the proper way of reformatting my lappy? step by step?

so sorry for all these troubles.... :s8:

regards, joey

misscwp

Hi Fujitsu_01,

I bought my S6230 from NTU last sem, it's giving me problems now.

From the beginning of this sem, I always get blue screen when connecting to school wireless network or other wireless network. I didnt get to take down the errors shown on the blue screen as it restarts almost immediately. It restart and scan my laptop, then it will always shows that my wireless file is corrupted. Then upon loggin to windows, all my wireless network profiles will be gone, then i'll have to re-add them individually again.

Therefore i reformat and install windows xp using the recovery cd about a month ago. Now everything it hangs frequently. hangs about 1 mins everytime during loading of startup programs just after log-in of windows. Sometimes when i'm processing about 5 programs, it will also hang.

Please help! Thanks!

Fujitsu_01

misscwp said:
Hi Fujitsu_01,

I bought my S6230 from NTU last sem, it's giving me problems now.

From the beginning of this sem, I always get blue screen when connecting to school wireless network or other wireless network. I didnt get to take down the errors shown on the blue screen as it restarts almost immediately. It restart and scan my laptop, then it will always shows that my wireless file is corrupted. Then upon loggin to windows, all my wireless network profiles will be gone, then i'll have to re-add them individually again.

Therefore i reformat and install windows xp using the recovery cd about a month ago. Now everything it hangs frequently. hangs about 1 mins everytime during loading of startup programs just after log-in of windows. Sometimes when i'm processing about 5 programs, it will also hang.

Please help! Thanks!

Hi misscwp,

Gah, i always hate NUS network, it been giving problems lately with some of the new models
The problem u got it was due to hardware issue, i cannot define which hardware issue is it unless i do a diagnostic test, it may NOT be the ram problem..I suggest u bring it to co-op centre and look for the fujitsu engineer there.He will assist you with your problem^^..

Rgds
Fujitsu_01

Fujitsu_01

mimijo said:
hi fujitsu_01 :) ,

yes, as you mentioned under the Device Manager:

> PCMCIA adapters > O2micro OZ711MP1/MS1 MemoryCardbus Controller - YES

>Mice and other pointing device > Alps pointing device - YES

and there isn't any yellow question mark inside the Device Manager...

so does that means that if the "Alps pointing device" is shown inside the Device Manager,
but why is it that the "ALPS Touch Pad Driver" is not shown inside the control panel???

Alps pointing device = ALPS Touch Pad Driver ?

or

ALPS Touch Pad Driver is the Driver for Alps pointing device???

i go to the Contol Panel to view all of the installed Softwares/Drivers,
the "ALPS Touch Pad Driver" and the "02Micro MemoryCardBus Windows Driver" is Missing..

just feeling very weird that how come the 2 mentioned drivers in not shown
inside the Control Panel just like the first time when i bought it....

So does that means that my Fujitsu Lappy is reformatted in the CORRECT way??? or what?
or can you tell me whats the proper way of reformatting my lappy? step by step?

so sorry for all these troubles.... :s8:

regards, joey

Hi joey,

Yes, everyting inside ur drivers is install correctly! And yes ALPS Touch PAd drivers is for the ALPS pointing device..On which catergory did you go to see the "Installed software/drivers"?

Rgds
Fujitsu_01

Fujitsu_01

lkong said:
hi fujitsu_01

glad you are here to help around. i have a problem with s6220. the laptop hang in the middle of usage, after restart, the following error appear. At the bios intialisation, i have these error :

error
resource conflict - pci network controller motherboard
bus:01, device:0c, function:00
error
resource conflict - pci network controller on motherboard
bus:01, device:0d, function:00
error
resource conflict - pci serial bus controller on motherboard
bus:01, device:0e, function:00

i tried reset the bios setting to default. disable some item, however error still persist. still manage to get into window xp, however, device manager shown unknown device for network controller, ethernet adapter.

tried to load driver, it shows unable to install driver. can you advise me what can i do next ? is the ethernet port fried ? cannot get the wireless, the ethernet port and modem to work now.

thanks.

Hi ikong,

You can actually proceed to AP and have a change of your wireless card, your wireless card maybe spoilt..For this error mgs is mainly the hardware issue.

Rgds
Fujitsu_01

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.