Do you guys who owned a Galaxy Note 5, does it had the sleeping issue

• Yes, I had the sleeping issue

Votes: 140 77.3%
  • No, I do not encounter at all

Votes: 41 22.7%

• Total voters

Kel1ng

Now it makes me wonder if those that did not kena the sleeping beauty problem are those usi g 3rd party launcher?

Kopi_Lui

I believe it's their battery optimization that is doing this, i think going forward, this is how Android is going to be like iPhone. I noticed some notification won't come in on my 32GB Note 5 instantly. I can see my phone probably turning off whatsapp push message also when i don't touch the phone for a while cos on my web whatsapp it says my phone is off. BUT i think they do turn it on periodically to sync.

I think it's not limited to whatsapp only. I see my Instagram notification using Lightflow also occassionally not giving me the notification instantly.

Hmm, I turned off the Apps optimisation since yesterday. So this shouldnt be happening anymore, but it still is.

Emails seems to be fine as i receive emails and not whatsapp messages. Whether or not it this close to instant, I have to test it out again.

Also, since 32GB do not have such an issue, i think we should feedback to sammy for a fix. How can we go about doing this?

human_shieldz

Now it makes me wonder if those that did not kena the sleeping beauty problem are those usi g 3rd party launcher?

Nah, probably like me, very slight and very rare so we don't think it's an issue until someone brought it out here then we take notice.

Kopi_Lui

So far i havent kena the deep sleep where power button cannot wake it up. So it might be a batch problem?

I just tested the email push notification. Seems like its working fine. but I will "spot check" on it when i let it deep slp gaogao again later.

If it works fine again, means its whatsapp problem le wor, unless got other apps to try.

kopi22

I think this is how iOS is like cos when i send message to my friend, can see only 1 tick until sometimes very long then the 2nd tick appear. Why do you think iPhone has very good battery life :p

No leh. I receiving WhatsApp messages well with my iPhone running 9.1 even when the phone is in deep sleep. I even have the background refresh turned off and notifications are still coming in.

I think is problem with android. Deep sleep means cannot get pushed notifications?? I did faced similar situations as well when I was on note 4. But not very frequent though.

human_shieldz

So far i havent kena the deep sleep where power button cannot wake it up. So it might be a batch problem?

I just tested the email push notification. Seems like its working fine. but I will "spot check" on it when i let it deep slp gaogao again later.

If it works fine again, means its whatsapp problem le wor, unless got other apps to try.

The optimization definitely very aggressive. I optimize my wall paper and next morning i wake up my wallpaper is back to default hahah.

human_shieldz

No leh. I receiving WhatsApp messages well with my iPhone running 9.1 even when the phone is in deep sleep. I even have the background refresh turned off and notifications are still coming in.

I think is problem with android. Deep sleep means cannot get pushed notifications?? I did faced similar situations as well when I was on note 4. But not very frequent though.

Not sure how exactly it's handled, i think iPhone will wake up and push it periodically when it's not used for a long time, if a while only sure will receive la. So question for iPhone is how deep and how often. Cos when i send out to my friend's phone can see the 2nd tick takes quite long to appear while after she replied me and i send not long after the 2nd tick appear very fast. For Android (not Samsung now), whenever i send, 2nd tick will appear instantly.

Another app i know very aggressive, or rather their battery saving policy is dropbox. When i sync my dropbox to cloud on my iPod Touch, it won't sync one, u need to open the app and let it sync, which is damm retarded IMO or maybe i just dunno how to use iOS lol

kopi22

Not sure how exactly it's handled, i think iPhone will wake up and push it periodically when it's not used for a long time, if a while only sure will receive la. So question for iPhone is how deep and how often. Cos when i send out to my friend's phone can see the 2nd tick takes quite long to appear while after she replied me and i send not long after the 2nd tick appear very fast. For Android (not Samsung now), whenever i send, 2nd tick will appear instantly.

Another app i know very aggressive, or rather their battery saving policy is dropbox. When i sync my dropbox to cloud on my iPod Touch, it won't sync one, u need to open the app and let it sync, which is damm retarded IMO or maybe i just dunno how to use iOS lol

Perhaps telco network plays an important part as well. Once my Note 4 can never receive any incoming messages until I wake up the phone. I'm on Starhub while all my other friends are either Singtel or M1. Then I ignored it and it was back to normal after few days.

But for sure there are differences how iOS and Android handling incoming messages. I noticed on my new iPhone, although I have received the notifications, the messages are NOT downloaded until I open the apps - both Whatsapp and Facebook messenger. But on Android, is different, at least for my Note 4. The messages are already there ready to be read. In fact, Windows Phone 8.1 handled incoming messages the same as iOS. Perhaps that's why both iOS and WP have better battery consumption.

human_shieldz

Perhaps telco network plays an important part as well. Once my Note 4 can never receive any incoming messages until I wake up the phone. I'm on Starhub while all my other friends are either Singtel or M1. Then I ignored it and it was back to normal after few days.

Could be but i know Apple do something like that for other apps, i just thought that messaging apps should be priority apps like what FB did recently, high battery drain cos FB somehow went around the policy and prioritize their app and it's always syncing or something even though people has turned it off. Let's see if marshmallow handle this much better than how Samsung or Apple does it.

human_shieldz

But for sure there are differences how iOS and Android handling incoming messages. I noticed on my new iPhone, although I have received the notifications, the messages are NOT downloaded until I open the apps - both Whatsapp and Facebook messenger. But on Android, is different, at least for my Note 4. The messages are already there ready to be read. In fact, Windows Phone 8.1 handled incoming messages the same as iOS. Perhaps that's why both iOS and WP have better battery consumption.

Yup, i think it's only the notification too so it's faster and less battery drain i guess. That's why i feel iPhone is not really a smartphone but they trade this off with a phone with longer battery life and possibly better performance too when less things are all running at the same time. Normal people won't really care or notice about it but once battery drain very fast, they can see it right away.

Kopi_Lui

Update on today's experience what the "sleeping whatsapp notification"

I disabled Samsung Billing. Re-enabled S Health and S Voice (I disabled it previously). Today it seems better. There is a delay to have 2 ticks (for the msg to reach my phone) but at least it comes in within 1 min. A great improvement from yesterday.

I am running on 4G data and i asked my friend to send me the message when i didnt touch the phone for more than an hour.

Hopefully can work towards almost instant, just like any other smartphones

hairymonster

I noticed the lag is always caused by Google apps. Aka gapps. Disabling some of Google apps and see it solves the problem.

Kopi_Lui

I noticed the lag is always caused by Google apps. Aka gapps. Disabling some of Google apps and see it solves the problem.

I disabled my google apps except some important ones like play store, maps, drive, chrome and keep. Music and tv and books are all disabled and my account only sync those apps in use plus contacts and calendar.

So far today my whatsapp has become responsive again. Slight delay at times but not totally not pushing.

hairymonster

I disabled my google apps except some important ones like play store, maps, drive, chrome and keep. Music and tv and books are all disabled and my account only sync those apps in use plus contacts and calendar.

So far today my whatsapp has become responsive again. Slight delay at times but not totally not pushing.
How is WhatsApp unresponsive?

human_shieldz

Ya yours like quite serious. Yesterday 3hrs in standby it was still sending me message.

Kopi_Lui

How is WhatsApp unresponsive?

Sorry, the whatsapp unresponsive portion of the message is to update about my whatsapp not receiving notification. Nothing to do with the lag you were talking about.

Sorry to have replied quoting your message

Ya yours like quite serious. Yesterday 3hrs in standby it was still sending me message.

Now I am testing see if i can disable S Health and S Voice or not.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.