garyyyyt's SL5x5

liftstrong

you do not havr a fat gene. dude u were pretty skinny before. You already know your food choices suck. either you change them or remain the same. yes army is tough, but u work with what you got. eatinf at the canteen will obviously make you fat. been there done that

garyyyyt

you do not havr a fat gene. dude u were pretty skinny before. You already know your food choices suck. either you change them or remain the same. yes army is tough, but u work with what you got. eatinf at the canteen will obviously make you fat. been there done that

The fat gene thing was a joke over lunch. No harm. I guess I don't have the fat gene since I was almost skinny all my life until I started to bulk.

I hear ye.

garyyyyt

dun get you, you want to bulk or you want to get abs o_O

if you want to bulk den jiak more High protein stuff (Meats, eggs, etc) mai forget some veggies, cut all carbs ( only carbs you have are from the veggies)

the other bulk way is dirty bulk, meaning simi also eat....

If you want Abs den is the other way ard..... you need to burn more fats to hit a body pecent of 15 and lower if I am not wrong.

And are you sure is real hunger or false alarm?

I want to bulk and I know its mutually exclusive between bulking and getting abs. But in the pic, instead of bulking or getting abs, I'm just getting fat.

So eat clean, more meat (i presume more chicken breasts, salmon, steak etc)
No carbs from rice. How about potatoes and oats? They should be okay right.

It's real hunger. Like JCC hunger haha.

BeaRzwalken

So eat clean, more meat (i presume more chicken breasts, salmon, steak etc)
No carbs from rice. How about potatoes and oats? They should be okay right.

It's real hunger. Like JCC hunger haha.

clean diet those not mean simi also boil chicken breast -___-....

you can eat whatever meat with the skin, may it be chicken, duck, mutton, beef, pork you can get ur hands on just finish the whole thing. Cut the process food, Cut the cakes, muffins, pancakes, Cut the fast food, Cut the bee hoon, pasta, pizza, bread, rice, cut the snacks like potato chips, etc.....

meaning anything with flour, rice, process stuff, instant 3 in 1 kopi, tea, milo also cut

Jiak more meat, jiak more eggs, at least 2 - 4 serving of veggie in a day, drink plain water more, use non sugar milk for tea or coffee....

5x5 SL is good, Add some HIIT into ur workout as well....

sometimes ur body can be a troll, tell you hungry... but when you drink a cup of water down it tell you I am full....

garyyyyt

clean diet those not mean simi also boil chicken breast -___-....

you can eat whatever meat with the skin, may it be chicken, duck, mutton, beef, pork you can get ur hands on just finish the whole thing. Cut the process food, Cut the cakes, muffins, pancakes, Cut the fast food, Cut the bee hoon, pasta, pizza, bread, rice, cut the snacks like potato chips, etc.....

meaning anything with flour, rice, process stuff, instant 3 in 1 kopi, tea, milo also cut

Jiak more meat, jiak more eggs, at least 2 - 4 serving of veggie in a day, drink plain water more, use non sugar milk for tea or coffee....

5x5 SL is good, Add some HIIT into ur workout as well....

sometimes ur body can be a troll, tell you hungry... but when you drink a cup of water down it tell you I am full....

Sounds like paleo diet except for the eggs. But I got the gist. I'm still thinking of a way to prepare meals in bunk. I've got a electric cooker, rice cooker, fridge.

Without rice is quite hard man. It's a staple!

BeaRzwalken

Sounds like paleo diet except for the eggs. But I got the gist. I'm still thinking of a way to prepare meals in bunk. I've got a electric cooker, rice cooker, fridge.

Without rice is quite hard man. It's a staple!

o_O, last time when I was 190kg I also like that say, no rice will die, must jiak rice den got energy....

during bmt I only have 1 spoon of rice nia and I survive....

garyyyyt

o_O, last time when I was 190kg I also like that say, no rice will die, must jiak rice den got energy....

during bmt I only have 1 spoon of rice nia and I survive....

Wah where is your transformation pic!

Sweet potatoes and multi grain bread considered healthy carbs?

BeaRzwalken

Wah where is your transformation pic!

Sweet potatoes and multi grain bread considered healthy carbs?

to me yam, sweet potato, potato to me are complex carbs good sub for rice BUT that those not mean you can eat a lot....

the pic you looking for is at my thread

liftstrong

I dont think 5x5 is very caloric demanding? since its only 3x a week and pretty low volume. if youre not active then you should consider carb cycling and lowering calories on days you dont train

garyyyyt

I dont think 5x5 is very caloric demanding? since its only 3x a week and pretty low volume. if youre not active then you should consider carb cycling and lowering calories on days you dont train

Okay shall google that haha.

But one noob question. If I lower calories on days I don't train won't that be counter productive of bulking?

frostbyte88

Okay shall google that haha.

But one noob question. If I lower calories on days I don't train won't that be counter productive of bulking?

Well, it depends on how comfortable you are with your image. When you "bulk"(eating at a surplus), more than likely, you will gain fat along with some muscle, especially if youre on a 5x5 program and not hitting the upper limit of your progress yet.

Im not too sure how much of a surplus youre actually eating, if youre gaining too much fat vs strength, it is indicative that youre just eating too much too soon. If you do some caloric control, you would probably be able to solve these issues.

**rant** I find hitting 10k cals a day a bit ridiculous(some people actually do this on a bulk) with an objective of gaining 10kgs in a month(while calling themselves a "certified personal trainer"). Its going to be very obvious that the weight will NOT be mostly muscle unless you're taking drugs.

liftstrong

well like frost said. you wanna bulk, but youre complaining/scared that youre getting too fat. gotta choose one dude.

BeaRzwalken

you can do a close to clean bulk, just follow what I told you and you should see some diff, I am no super expert like other who plan to look good, I plan to lift heavy.

People plan to look awesome with lean muscles, 6 pack visible abs, I plan to look good when I do a 200kg squat and a 240kg deadlift

garyyyyt

Well, it depends on how comfortable you are with your image. When you "bulk"(eating at a surplus), more than likely, you will gain fat along with some muscle, especially if youre on a 5x5 program and not hitting the upper limit of your progress yet.

Im not too sure how much of a surplus youre actually eating, if youre gaining too much fat vs strength, it is indicative that youre just eating too much too soon. If you do some caloric control, you would probably be able to solve these issues.

**rant** I find hitting 10k cals a day a bit ridiculous(some people actually do this on a bulk) with an objective of gaining 10kgs in a month(while calling themselves a "certified personal trainer"). Its going to be very obvious that the weight will NOT be mostly muscle unless you're taking drugs.

Of all the things I've learned about the gym, fitness and nutrition, one thing that I can't get right is calories. I don't track what I eat so I don't know for sure what my daily intake it and where it comes from.

This might be the time to start learning how to do it for real. Thanks :)

And I do understand your first point. Bulk = muscle and some fat, you can limit the fat by choosing the right food to eat. I'm comfortable with some fat here and there since I've never seen my abs before so I'm still okay. But right now, looking at my own picture, it seems like I'm gaining way more fat than muscle.

well like frost said. you wanna bulk, but youre complaining/scared that youre getting too fat. gotta choose one dude.

Like in the reply to frost, I do want to bulk, but I'm not scared of getting fat. Just that I'm gaining more fat than I am muscle. That's the alarming part about it.

you can do a close to clean bulk, just follow what I told you and you should see some diff, I am no super expert like other who plan to look good, I plan to lift heavy.

People plan to look awesome with lean muscles, 6 pack visible abs, I plan to look good when I do a 200kg squat and a 240kg deadlift

I want to look good and lift heavy too.

garyyyyt

Session 13 - 16 Sep 13

tumblr_mt837m0gSL1rfxkc2o1_500.jpg

Hit the gym today with 5x5! I'm finally pushing my Squats max weight at 3 reps. Looks like I'm progressing well.

Still waiting to hit PB for my Bench Press and Rows.

liftstrong

how about you list your diet here. I think we'll all br able to see what the problem is then

xerref

Just lift heavy and eat at maintenance. Don't start eating at a surplus, especially since you're currently unhappy with your appearance.

garyyyyt

how about you list your diet here. I think we'll all br able to see what the problem is then

Let's see.

Meal #1
1 serving of Universal Real Gains with 300 ml of low fat milk

Meal #2
Lunch at cookhouse
1 portion vege, 1 portion meat and rice
Alternative days I will get an avocado milkshake

Meal #3
Either 4 slices of multigrain bread with peanut butter or 1 can of tuna

Meal #4
Ta pao from coffee shop
Chicken Breast rice without sesame oil with one egg
Half BBQ Chicken

Pre-workout
1 serving BPI HD-Pump

Post-workout
ON BCAA
1 serving ON Whey

Something like that.

Just lift heavy and eat at maintenance. Don't start eating at a surplus, especially since you're currently unhappy with your appearance.

Okay thanks for the advice.

BeaRzwalken

Let's see.

Meal #1
1 serving of Universal Real Gains with 300 ml of low fat milk
replace with eggs

Meal #2
Lunch at cookhouse
1 portion vege, 1 portion meat and rice
Alternative days I will get an avocado milkshake
Take out the rice, Avocado milkshake tell the person dun add in sugar syrup

Meal #3
Either 4 slices of multigrain bread with peanut butter or 1 can of tuna
Eat the Tuna for forget about the rest

Meal #4
Ta pao from coffee shop
Chicken Breast rice without sesame oil with one egg
Half BBQ Chicken
eat more eggs

Pre-workout
1 serving BPI HD-Pump

Post-workout
ON BCAA
1 serving ON Whey

Something like that.

Okay thanks for the advice.

learn the art of befriending cookhouse people, so you can ask for more.
Dun go cookhouse at peak hours, go at timing that is nearer to the end so you can have more
Egg is ur best friend

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.