[GE2025] Jalan Kayu SMC

ST Optimist

why are you so lazy to go google or chatgpt it? Also, right after your post, someone also provided how it would affect Singaporean.

In short, if the sale went through badly, Singaporeans could have ended up with higher costs, reduced protections, weaker insurance competition, and more distrust in public institutions. It is not just a business deal but touches on social trust and long-term public welfare.

A summary of how the sales would impact Singapore based from ChatGpt, Do your own assessment.

If the NTUC Income Alliance sale had gone through badly or without proper due diligence, it could have had serious impacts because

Policyholders' Interests:
NTUC Income was originally set up as a cooperative to serve Singaporeans' insurance needs affordably. A sale to a private buyer might shift its focus from social mission to profit-making. This could mean higher premiums, fewer benefits, or less favourable terms for existing and future policyholders.

Loss of Control:
Once sold, NTUC (and by extension, Singaporeans) would lose influence over a key insurer that affects the broader insurance market. Private owners might restructure or even resell it for their own interests, with little regard for Singapore’s social protection framework.

Moral Hazard:
NTUC is closely tied to the labour movement and seen as aligned with workers’ welfare. Mishandling the sale would suggest poor stewardship of public-trust institutions. It would undermine confidence in how NTUC and associated organizations handle assets that were built for public good.

Precedent for Future Sales:
If the NTUC Alliance sale was botched and no one was held accountable, it would set a bad precedent — signalling that similar public-good institutions could be sold off without transparency, consultation, or accountability.
I bet the defer...... let's talk about #1 policy interest .....from what I know...NTUC insurance is already gear towards profit making ....if they dun, NTUC would have already bankrupt long long ago ......the premiums paid to get insure is not cheap as though it is better than AIA, Aviva, GE Life....infact alot of time AIA n gang give better pay out because they have more Money.... which NTUC cannot fight ....if that's the case.....NTUC a matter of time gone....dun even need to talk of anybody interested to buy bo....

coldish

Aiya slap father's colleagues also can
Why cannot scold f words

yperic

“I felt that I had let all of you down,” said labour chief Ng Chee Meng in his May Day Rally speech on Thursday (May 1) referring to the General Election in 2020 where he lost in Sengkang GRC.

Mr Ng said dealing with that setback has been humbling and it has taught him many lessons. In addition, he called for union members to continue to fight for the good of Singapore and the economy.

#sgnews #singapore

NTB2DO

Assuming Low become MP.....or assuming all the opposition win .....PAP out.....so since Low beat NCM the 3 star general..... should voter let him become minister of defence...next time go US talk to US defence secretary or go China talk to China general.....then all the SAF general report to Low the ex product manager? Or maybe Pritam Singh the ex Major? opposition keep saying loosing minister level ppl is ok.....then ok lor...if u all think so....if u all think that it Low is the minister of defense....all those mindef ppl ok.....what about Alexis ...she relationship manager....put her in charge of minister of finance ok bo....let her talk to FED chairman? Let all the banks CEO, MAS, etc all listen to her.....u all ok?...
PAP out?

How is it possible at all? WP (plus PSP's WCJC team) is the most 'votable' oppositions, and WP is contesting for fewer than 1/3 of the seats. Even if PSP also wins WCJC, still below 1/3, not even half.

There's zero chance for PAP to be out.

kmkimlo

Opposition only want to become Minister of KPKb....The Tampines WP Eileen already say out openly they dun want to be government.... They only want to be KPKb MP........ is that how we fight for Sporean??? kpkb who dun know? ....my daughter kpkb everyday say I dun let her watch TV,kpkb say her class everybody have phone she dun have ,kpkb her homework too much.......How ? Anybody want to be the champion her her to fight for her right to more TV, more play,more toys ,new phones, LESS homework........

you want to .... and ... At least make sure is still coherent sentences lah. What you typed is so hard to read.

All along, WP and PSP never state that they are able to take over the gahment. They can only be the alternative voices to perform more robust debates on the policies to ensure lesser "blind spots"

ST Optimist

This argument assumes only ex-generals or high-level people can lead. But in a democracy, ministers don’t work alone—they have full support from experienced civil servants. What matters most is honesty, accountability, and the ability to serve the people, not just someone’s past job. Many good leaders around the world didn’t come from elite or military backgrounds. Let’s not treat government like a CV contest. Spreading fear like this doesn’t show real support for PAP—it just weakens trust in voters and our system.

By the way, the ST in your nick, is not Straits Times hor? Or it is? :LOL:
Ya ...n u spot on ...many country their leader is not elite in their respective field....... .they r voted in because they r popular. ... N so how. .... that is how Spore can become so much better than the many country u say.....I dun want a day when our best ppl dun want to lead liao ...only those so call "serve" with heart lead but not best .....end up 1 Ringgit = 3 SGD......
N actually I Dun believe anybody who come out n say they serve with simi heart . ....all ******** only.....but then between the 2 .....I rather choose 3 star general over product manager or Major ....

jeffprobst

I bet the defer...... let's talk about #1 policy interest .....from what I know...NTUC insurance is already gear towards profit making ....if they dun, NTUC would have already bankrupt long long ago ......the premiums paid to get insure is not cheap as though it is better than AIA, Aviva, GE Life....infact alot of time AIA n gang give better pay out because they have more Money.... which NTUC cannot fight ....if that's the case.....NTUC a matter of time gone....dun even need to talk of anybody interested to buy bo....
Stop yapping about private insurers and your "..." making your response hard to read.

Go read up on NTUC’s original purpose where NTUC meant to serve workers, not behave like just another profit-driven company. The problem isn’t about who offers better benefits. It’s about NTUC potentially abandoning its mission under Alliance, moving towards privatisation, and making affordable insurance harder for ordinary Singaporeans.

Stay focused. Don’t distract with irrelevant comparison and nonsense.

ST Optimist

PAP out?

How is it possible at all? WP (plus PSP's WCJC team) is the most 'votable' oppositions, and WP is contesting for fewer than 1/3 of the seats. Even if PSP also wins WCJC, still below 1/3, not even half.

There's zero chance for PAP to be out.
How u know other wards dun have enough crazy ppl that also gana influence.....everybody think they won't be out .. so the results sometime is a blackswan

NTB2DO

Can name the so call leader.....yes the ultimate Head might not be expert in everything other than sell Koyo......but the minister level All is.....yes the civil head all expert.....but then they do not go n talk to another country minister on the same level.....
Vivian is and likely would still be FM, wouldn't he?

He's indeed quite competent。。 and rest assure that given how weak his opponent (RDU) is, there's no way that he'll be voted out.

So 安 lah.

krikering

Because the administrators of this policy is going to be very hard and all the staff or the administration don't want to do it. Having am blanket tax will be easier. Because if tax high on watch and bag .some mmc will try to dodge it by declaring item as another product. Also too many price variant. You cannot tax the same for a 20 dollar school bag the same rates as Hermes bag . If we tax on brand. Them business will kpkb .
Weak excuse imo, other countries can we cannot?

LMW/Jamus has been advocating for it in parliament for past 5 years

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Taxation_in_Japan#:~:text=The Japanese income tax system,do business on their own.

Take Japan for example, how come they can implement a proper progressive wave structure for its citizens?

All this is simply because SG wants the UNHW to come and park their wealth here, to buy all the properties and then boost GDP artificially.

Same as our population ponzi scheme, to artificially boost GDP as well.

What happened to VB's statement that we won't even have 6.9 Million population?

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...ion-604-million-non-resident-increase-4627281

More than 7 months ago, our population already hit past the 6 million mark.

gravity_infinity

Actually if you hear the explanation from Minister from podcast. Actually it does make sense to increase GST.

Remove GST as suggested by some or reduce the rate is not impossible once you increase it however. Because prices won’t come down. Businessman won’t decrease prices because you decrease GST
We need a DOGE team to audit if spending are necessary

NTB2DO

How u know other wards dun have enough crazy ppl that also gana influence.....everybody think they won't be out .. so the results sometime is a blackswan
Don't underestimate the intelligence of our fellow voters lah.

Except for the hardcore anti-PAP voters, most are wise enough to pick the right oppositions to check on the ruling party.

Else what makes you think that PAP is so fearful of WP only? (You see PM/SM hastily visiting WP contested wards, you see them doing the same for other wards?)

jeffprobst

It’s a fact that the WP or any opposition does not have the numbers to form the government. In Singapore’s system, different opposition parties also do not band together to form a coalition government, that’s simply not how Parliament operates here.

Even if the PAP loses some constituencies to strong opposition parties like WP and PSP, they would still retain a clear majority and continue to form the government. Losing a few seats does not mean chaos, instability, or the collapse of Singapore.

In reality, a stronger opposition presence leads to better checks and balances, stronger accountability, and more balanced policymaking, which ultimately benefits Singaporeans. The idea that "only the PAP can govern" is outdated fear-mongering that no longer holds up in today’s political landscape.

You seriously need to read more, instead of just looking at medium from our national mouth piece.

ST Optimist

Stop yapping about private insurers and your "..." making your response hard to read.

Go read up on NTUC’s original purpose where NTUC meant to serve workers, not behave like just another profit-driven company. The problem isn’t about who offers better benefits. It’s about NTUC potentially abandoning its mission under Alliance, moving towards privatisation , and making affordable insurance harder for ordinary Singaporeans.

Stay focused. Don’t distract with irrelevant comparison and nonsense.
I know NTUC original purpose ...it is not suppose to serve the worker.. it is only mean to give alternative to ppl in case private company sell to expensive......got it. It is not to serve worker .... just to give alternative.... just like private company sell XYZ oil at price $A ...NTUC sell housebrand oil at price$A-1 if NTUC think $A is too expensive too profiteering.......But then the problem come with competition n Bigger capital..... end up Private company sometime can sell even cheaper than NTUC.....dun believe go Sheng Siong.....although not all cheaper...some is cheaper is enough to make a lot of ppl kpkb ... Then NTUC how....sell below cost n go bankrupt faster...... Insurance business... NTUC just a small fly in Spore.... capital base not enough to fight global insurance company at World level.....so in fact it is unable to fight at alot of level......so good luck for keeping this baby...

djkopikat

See this ncm so 废柴,cannot understand wat ltk is trying to say lol no wonder he cockup in income saga, cos he dun understand the deal at all

ST Optimist

It’s a fact that the WP or any opposition does not have the numbers to form the government. In Singapore’s system, different opposition parties also do not band together to form a coalition government, that’s simply not how Parliament operates here.

Even if the PAP loses some constituencies to strong opposition parties like WP and PSP, they would still retain a clear majority and continue to form the government. Losing a few seats does not mean chaos, instability, or the collapse of Singapore.

In reality, a stronger opposition presence leads to better checks and balances, stronger accountability, and more balanced policymaking, which ultimately benefits Singaporeans. The idea that "only the PAP can govern" is outdated fear-mongering that no longer holds up in today’s political landscape.

You seriously need to read more, instead of just looking at medium from our national mouth piece.
I m pro money . ..I only read what affect my SGD n wealth .....

jeffprobst

I know NTUC original purpose ...it is not suppose to serve the worker.. it is only mean to give alternative to ppl in case private company sell to expensive......got it. It is not to serve worker .... just to give alternative.... just like private company sell XYZ oil at price $A ...NTUC sell housebrand oil at price$A-1 if NTUC think $A is too expensive too profiteering.......But then the problem come with competition n Bigger capital..... end up Private company sometime can sell even cheaper than NTUC.....dun believe go Sheng Siong.....although not all cheaper...some is cheaper is enough to make a lot of ppl kpkb ... Then NTUC how....sell below cost n go bankrupt faster...... Insurance business... NTUC just a small fly in Spore.... capital base not enough to fight global insurance company at World level.....so in fact it is unable to fight at alot of level......so good luck for keeping this baby...
I will be ignoring your post until you learn to write in proper paragraphs without relying on '...' and start to organize your thoughts more logically, instead of making irrelevant comparisons. otherwise is just 鸡同鸭讲 with your irrelevant comparisons.

ST Optimist

This argument assumes only ex-generals or high-level people can lead. But in a democracy, ministers don’t work alone—they have full support from experienced civil servants. What matters most is honesty, accountability, and the ability to serve the people, not just someone’s past job. Many good leaders around the world didn’t come from elite or military backgrounds. Let’s not treat government like a CV contest. Spreading fear like this doesn’t show real support for PAP—it just weakens trust in voters and our system.

By the way, the ST in your nick, is not Straits Times hor? Or it is? :LOL:
ST is STI Straits time Index

FORSTA

that's what the oppo wants you to believe. more checks and balance.

by your argument. how come Taiwan and US with strong opposition don't lead to more balanced policymaking leh

we want a more collaborative government. not a polarized one

harLequiN

The thing is, he didn't say f off to that resident. He said it privately. Now if he said it to that resident's face, then that's a different story. But he didn't.

I'm not excusing him. But I'm old enough to know (and experienced) that you can want to help a whole group of people, but a handful of that group prove impossible to help, or unfortunately even undeserving of help. That can drive even a person with good intentions to extreme frustration about that handful.

Yet we don't know precisely what happened in his case. So I would be slow to conclude he is completely innocent or completely guilty.

The key is he has come out to apologise and not throw smoke bombs and self-justify, as is the right thing to do. How many of us can do that?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.