Google Nexus 7 Thread - Part 2

kennyboy

i can never understand the appeal of you guy's desire to have a tablet that also act like a phone...i know it's great to have just one convergence device that is able to carry all functions but yet, the size itself is cumblesome...even at 7inch.....

All of you are entitled to your opinion and preference but the way i see it, people using tablets for phone calls are the same bunch that used tablet as a real point and click camera........

i am not saying it's 'wrong'......but i'm not saying it's 'right' either..

to each his own, don't flame me...:p :D
And the elitism leaks out again. :D

Not your place to put people in their places for their choices. I'm sure enough people bought the Samsung Tab 1/2 7.0 to prove u "wrong". :D

kennyboy

i dont mind 32gb. but will the US version work with Singtel broadband mobile sim??

Quite a few bought from US already....if it didn't work there would be endless whining for sure. :D

kennyboy

Anyone knows how to modify the Nexus 7 to enable using voice-calling (like a hp) for it?

Today i overheard a staff at one of the Telco shops said it can be done just by installing some softwares.

Anyone did it b4/ know how to do it?

Sure, install Skype with skype credits u can call any phone u want. :D With data connectivity of course. :D

royfrosty

i can never understand the appeal of you guy's desire to have a tablet that also act like a phone...i know it's great to have just one convergence device that is able to carry all functions but yet, the size itself is cumblesome...even at 7inch.....

All of you are entitled to your opinion and preference but the way i see it, people using tablets for phone calls are the same bunch that used tablet as a real point and click camera........

i am not saying it's 'wrong'......but i'm not saying it's 'right' either..

to each his own, don't flame me...:p :D

It was never cumbersome. If you got to bring out a tablet, you got to bring out. And let's just say for drivers, we need a Bluetooth or a hands free earpiece. So nevertheless if a call comes into our tablet we still handle a call thru our earpiece. Which is so much easier.

Is all about bringing a tablet to its full potential. Since we got to bring it out so why not have a device that can have an extra feature? Just in case we really need to use it if our phone is dead.

royfrosty

And the elitism leaks out again. :D

Not your place to put people in their places for their choices. I'm sure enough people bought the Samsung Tab 1/2 7.0 to prove u "wrong". :D

And there are people buying the 7.7 to make calls to. :D

MusicAddict

to me my tablet is tablet phone is phone but that is because i dun really care how many devices i bring just that must remember to bring all back home at the end of the day lo

direftw

to me my tablet is tablet phone is phone but that is because i dun really care how many devices i bring just that must remember to bring all back home at the end of the day lo

Same

I'm probably the only one left that actually have a dedicated mp3 player :s22:

royfrosty

Same

Hahaha. No leh. I'm using a dedicated mp3 player also. Cowon x9. Accompanied with my westone 3.

If that device no batt then I will use my xperia go.

thinthin1

The advertisement say that Nexus 7 can last for 9.5 hours without charging. I been using Nexus7 for a week but my battery can only last about 5hours + . When I go to see the battery usage, it say my mediaserver take up 49% . I seldom use it to listen to music but I got kugou installed and download a couple of song locally. What is mediaserver ?

kingsfall

Can de lah. Use it ill sian already. It works well. Not so chui till what you think lah.

The voice sampling is not more than 48kbps when transmitting. Even using a 512kbps modem can transmit well de leh. 48kbps is damn small size. few kb nia.

Huh so little only meh? If that's the case how come most Ppl don't use it?

blurwulf

Same

A friend of mine still using discman. Beat that.:s13:

Me I'm using ipod classic 160gb. Still buying CDs, sometimes vinyl too.

royfrosty

Huh so little only meh? If that's the case how come most Ppl don't use it?

Yeah. People don't use it cause its not very common. Not reliable. Especially making oversea calls.

Not common is because VoIP users need to register. And not many people have account. Cause it needs to call from account to account. No doubt they have from VoIP to normal gsm phone calls. But that usually needs to pay. Example. Skype has Skype credits.

Not reliable because if people were to use it to call for crucial stuffs it might have lagging. Like now we talk. Over the other side they hear it a few secs later. One good example, IDD calls like m1 uses 021, singtel 019, starhub 018. All this are examples of VoIP calls made. Try actual voice gsm calls 001 or 002 or 008. This are insanely overpriced but clarity is superb and not lagging.

Pardon me if I mentioned the incorrect IDD numbers.

lolwhatever

Hey all. I bought a 32gb wifi nexus 7 just abt a mth ago. Now whenever i play music, especially when the music hits certain frequencies, the speakers at the back kept producing a distorted, somewhat cracked sound..dunno whether is a factory defect or smt else..

Anyone facing the same problem? ::s11:

something like this..

kennyboy

Hey all. I bought a 32gb wifi nexus 7 just abt a mth ago. Now whenever i play music, especially when the music hits certain frequencies, the speakers at the back kept producing a distorted, somewhat cracked sound..dunno whether is a factory defect or smt else..

Anyone facing the same problem? ::s11:

something like this..

Blown speakers are pretty common in N7 unfortunately.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.