(GPGT)Espresso machine hoot

chikyblink

yeah taka, without the espresso machine is 349.

Its a good starter combo, if you can get pass the aluminium boiler.
Also, when you say 'starter', means you plan to upgrade in the future. Keep in mind that in sg there's no market for 2nd hand espresso machines so it'll be hard to off-load when the time comes.

derazor

Its a good starter combo, if you can get pass the aluminium boiler.
Also, when you say 'starter', means you plan to upgrade in the future. Keep in mind that in sg there's no market for 2nd hand espresso machines so it'll be hard to off-load when the time comes.

I think these type of machine kena pawn by those nespresso one.

Ppl all want convenience and just want to press 1 button

chikyblink

yes, not many ppl in sg are into coffee making at home. even those who own nespresso machines, they'll get sian after awhile. kopitiam is everywhere and its more convenient.

calbay

In actual, Nespresso is not a lot more convenient.
The main advantage is it's faster cause most semi auto machines need at least 10 mins to start up. It's not a big problem though.

If you talk about washing, Nespresso needs to wash their electronic milk frother with care, it's even more difficult to wash than those stainless steel pitchers.
The Nespresso milk frother have to avoid water at the base and at the button around, as it's afterall an electronic device.

After using and before use, Nespresso needs you to press a button to flush, likewise for semi auto.

The portafilter is pretty easy to wash, particularly if you are using a bottomless filter.
The cake of coffee powder can be used as fertilisers or you can just dump it.
You will also need to dump your used capsules, so it's the same.
You don't have to dump on the same day.
Infact the coffee powder will keep your insects away as caffeine is a natural insecticide.

That ones that are difficult to wash, are the all in one fully automatic machines. Particularly if there's tubes for drawing and dispensing milk

The_King

for me it the cost, capsule just cost too much for me......

for me lever machine if i have 20min (normally 4 time per week) else if no time like in the morning before going to work or if i am too busy.

i can make Cold brewing from french press(which i was using before i upgrade to a lever) which can be keep in fridge for a week.

derazor

I'm still looking around for the grinder. Read the Baratza vario has good reviews or should I get the macap m4/5. Read the rocky is only able to use 2 settings for espresso.

Btw, not much places can get 240v devices except for espresso coffee shop which severely limit the choices.

chikyblink

I'm still looking around for the grinder. Read the Baratza vario has good reviews or should I get the macap m4/5. Read the rocky is only able to use 2 settings for espresso.

Btw, not much places can get 240v devices except for espresso coffee shop which severely limit the choices.

The vario has some quality issues i read. I would get the macap m4.
If you don't mind manual, OE Pharos is very good.

derazor

The vario has some quality issues i read. I would get the macap m4.
If you don't mind manual, OE Pharos is very good.

OK got it. I read the macap built like a tank. What's the difference between m4 and m5? Price seems to be the same at expresscoffeeshop.

BTW, if say I got a hario slim, do you think if chiamseetong is it consistent/fine enough for the rancilio? Because I'm making at most for me and my wife only.

Also, conical or flat burr any difference? Read it's "similar" depending on how it is designed.

BTW, any places that I can get beans that is convenient? I don't drive? Can just buy from cold storage/ coffee bean etc or must go specialty shops?

Cheers.

The_King

BTW, any places that I can get beans that is convenient? I don't drive? Can just buy from cold storage/ coffee bean etc or must go specialty shops?

Cheers.

try fourtyhand, highlander, Toby's Estate ,cshh, Oriole , papa palheta.

never get from those pre pack ..............

The_King

try gumtree or some AMDK forums.

they are most likely to sell a espresso machine

chikyblink

OK got it. I read the macap built like a tank. What's the difference between m4 and m5? Price seems to be the same at expresscoffeeshop.

BTW, if say I got a hario slim, do you think if chiamseetong is it consistent/fine enough for the rancilio? Because I'm making at most for me and my wife only.

Also, conical or flat burr any difference? Read it's "similar" depending on how it is designed.

Cheers.

the only difference between m4 and m5 is the bean hopper. m5's is a bit larger.
but since you're only doing a few shot per day, you'll not be using the hopper at all. just weigh your beans and pour them into the grinding chamber itself, place a cup or something on top to prevent the beans from spilling out when grinding. no hopper needed.

hario slim is more for pourovers or French. cannot make it for espresso.

chikyblink

Ok will check them out

sounds abit troublesome to buy 2nd hand machines from overseas.
have to make sure its ard 220v.
seller is willing to ship overseas.
can't check condition. have to trust the seller.
future replacement of parts have to source and fix yourself.

jermss

beans can get from Nylon also if you all work near to tanjong pagar.

derazor

sounds abit troublesome to buy 2nd hand machines from overseas.
have to make sure its ard 220v.
seller is willing to ship overseas.
can't check condition. have to trust the seller.
future replacement of parts have to source and fix yourself.

So far I think only espresso coffee shop sells 240v stuff.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.