come on lah...mr salvatore obviously has many other hands and legs working for him..
dude that I know, but I was just replying to the post below. U may wanna highlight that to joe below.
This old man don't know got 6 years or not![]()
come on lah...mr salvatore obviously has many other hands and legs working for him..
This old man don't know got 6 years or not![]()
Got this coffee for the weekend
According to them , it's OK for espresso and it's light roast
Papa Palheta | Coffees | Suke Quto
Hey guys,
Thank you all for your wonderful replies in helping me make an expensive decision to hoot a good espresso machine that can hopefully last a couple of years.
I decided that PID and double boiler is a little overkill for me so I would most likely go with either a Bezzera Mitica or BZ13. Still don't know what's the difference between the E61 grouphead and their propriety grouphead.
Btw, do you guys have any recommendations of coffee roasters to visit in Bangkok? I just touched down in Bangkok and would like to visit and a few places and grab some good blends and SOs.
Thanks in advance!
Wah you really hard sell.
dude that I know, but I was just replying to the post below. U may wanna highlight that to joe below.
I have to support rosli on what he said here... technically if we arent totally fussy, a Gaggia Classic and Rancillio Silvia will suffice for all the people reading here unless he's running a cafe, or have 10 family members screaming for coffee at one go. Anything more are just luxury. (But we do like luxury don't we)
All machines doesnt need extensive flushing . I had a Diadema Junior Extra, HX machine, doesnt need flushing AT ALL for 2 years, heck I didnt even descale just routine cleaning around the grouphead, notice no drop in quality at all. The only variable was my technique. But this shows also that a proper tuned machine will run effortlessly. Just wish the boiler is bigger for drier steam.
Anyway the Bezzera Mitica(?) is priced pretty decent actually it will be a workhorse and won't skip a beat I believe with proper care. It seems that we are finally getting much closer price the Aussies are getting those lucky people .... I've seen people selling their 2nd hand spanking new LM GS3 for $5k AUD !!!!!
PS: Does anyone know how much a first hand LM GS3 cost here and is Wine-Berry the only distro for LM?

Thanks for the info! Do let us know when the redbird and blue jaguar is coming in!
Any lever expert here familiar with how the preinfusion works for lever machine?
I understand for lever machines the water in the boiler is above boiling and when this water is introduced into the brew chamber (by pump or by boiler pressure) wouldn't the water be extremely hot and burn the coffee during the preinfusion?
ah but people have been swearing by lever machines so I guess it doesn't really matter.
Maybe adds more "complexity" and "depth" to the taste profile![]()
WTF sia, you really don't read and still just want to plain hard sell.Heh not really hard sell.
I could be mistaken and you are actually refering to backflushing or just running water through the grouphead to clear water in the group. I'm refering to a cooling flush in my exchange with rosli. Rosli was also refering to a cooling flush initally when he talked about "smoke effect" but later flip prata and say he was taking about stale water in the e61 group (his so called "channeling points"). The necessity to flush out stale water from the group before brewing (for DB and SB) is very debatable....The water left in the e61 group is very little. But if you concerned about stale water in the group then might as well flush water out of the entire boiler too everytime when starting up the machine...500ml for most double boilers, 1litre plus for brewtus. Anyway after brewing, its standard routine to rinse and brush the shower screen from the old grounds.... so flushing one more time (DB and SD) before brewing is just for mental comfort and may not be suitable for non-PID controlled boilers with a wide temp deadband.
I agree we are paying through the nose for some brands of machines here.
Don't listen to a lot of ******** here.
Straight facts you must know.
DB also have to flush after idling, before your first come and after you last cup.
The flushing part is super cool and the impressive part, give you smoke effect. Your spouse sure find you more man.
Essentially, if they are of the same class, say HX on common E61 grouphead, they work essentially the same.
So just get the most affordable option will do, unless your carrot head needs a trim.
As i said, a hx machine will automatically run within a range of optimal temperature, so please don't over exaggerate that it will "overheat", as well say the machine melt.![]()
WTF sia, you really don't read and still just want to plain hard sell.
Flip prata liao, throw to me, say i flip.
I said FIRST flush before and after the last cup and channeling points are those ****ing tubes in between that are not in the influence of control from any PID.
The first pull beside remove stale water, help the grouphead heat up faster and helps to clear any residue dried residues of any. The last pull is to clear the remnants and the oil.
This is pretty common sense and don't tell me your machine has any amazing technology to auto clean.
You flush after idling cause the water in between the grouphead and your boiler needs are idling are settling away from the set temp.
If you are not a temperature geek, you don't even need to do anything nor flush anything.
If you are making just one cup in a day, **** flushing.
All the decent HX or DB machines will still set the machine to a set optimal temperature.
So please do not keep creating all the mysterious points to new users, confuse them to waste more money.
BTW to that guy looking for a machine.
I find those control knobs for the steam/water wands, in joystick form pushing up or down.
Is better to use than those need to turn to on.
Mine is the stupid turn the tap
BTW, i'm using Alex Duetto, a ** db.![]()
We are no experts, just sharing from experience.
Take for example the manual lever like the Olympia Cremina. Olympia Cremina uses a dipper design. Dipper designs sit too cool at idle yet run hotter if you draw enough water through the group to exhaust the thermal capacity of the group. The extent to which the dipper design is successful in delivering water at the correct temperature to the ground coffee depends on the ability of the group to bring the water as it exits the boiler at well over 100C down to say 92-94C by the time it makes contact with the coffee. The group head of the Cremina is made of chrome plated brass which is capable of dissipating heat to its optimal temperature before the water hits the coffee grounds. However, if extraction is made consecutively, say 6 shots in a row, there will not be enough time for the group head to cool down which will ultimately results in burnt coffee. That is to say, after the 6th shot, the group must be allowed time to idle and cooled before the next extraction. This is why Cremina is meant for domestic use because of the mass of its group head. It is not meant to entertain large groups and pulled shot after shot. So no, it will not burn the coffee if it is used correctly.
I prefer clarity when referring to shots pulled using lever machines. The adjectives bear no meaning until you have tried it yourself. Only then, you can tell the differences from those by the pump driven ones.

Just went to Pacamara Coffee Roasters near Phrom Pong BTS, tried their premium blend (foreign beans) espresso shot and the normal Thai blend espresso con panna.
Their premium espresso blend was really good, strong flavor full bodied but not too intense.
Their Thai espresso blend/SO was really strong! Very chiang. Took a sip without the whipped cream and I immediately sneezed lol
Bought a bag of Brazil Fauzenda Alice estate for 375B ( around 14.7 SGD), two bottles of Monin syrup at 315B each ( around 12.3SGD each)
Their slayer machine is real beauty, beautifully crafted wooden handles and their graphic designs on the exterior.
I am currently sitting in Roast, tried their Ethiopia SO French press. First time trying a French press and I'm so intrigued by the different profile of flavors compared to the espressos I have been drinking all these while. It is really light, looks diluted but the fruity aroma was great.
Just went to Pacamara Coffee Roasters near Phrom Pong BTS, tried their premium blend (foreign beans) espresso shot and the normal Thai blend espresso con panna.
Their premium espresso blend was really good, strong flavor full bodied but not too intense.
Their Thai espresso blend/SO was really strong! Very chiang. Took a sip without the whipped cream and I immediately sneezed lol
Bought a bag of Brazil Fauzenda Alice estate for 375B ( around 14.7 SGD), two bottles of Monin syrup at 315B each ( around 12.3SGD each)
Their slayer machine is real beauty, beautifully crafted wooden handles and their graphic designs on the exterior.
I am currently sitting in Roast, tried their Ethiopia SO French press. First time trying a French press and I'm so intrigued by the different profile of flavors compared to the espressos I have been drinking all these while. It is really light, looks diluted but the fruity aroma was great.
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?...90527596.73104.138860969509613&type=1&theater
Can hoot Liberty Coffee liao!
Tsk tsk tsk. Relax mat don't get a heart attack from coffee discussion......lets be clear on some pts
Joystick valves usually comes with more expensive machines simply because they are more expensive parts. Should have bought a GS3 instead huh?![]()
Haha, all should have a coffee and chillax, not here to make crazy arguments here.
Yea its really come down to fussy and G.A.S. Its like I really want the Kees Van Der Westen Speedster, the LM GS3 etc, seriously they are overkills but heck they look amazing and definitely feel proud owning them. Slayer are so pretty as well!
But man, GS3 for 9k is seriously overpriced, I guess a commercial 2 group head synesso would cost similarly... how much is R58 going for anyway? almost similar boiler sizes but E61 instead of saturated brewhead and flaps. Oh and where did you get your alex duetto and price? I think Alex Duetto is almost the most reasonably sized and priced home machine anyone can afford to own. I've encounter so many bad barista with good commercial machines at cafes which makes me want to own my machine and make coffee 10x better tasting.