Grace Fu: "I always think that if you're prepared to pay S$18 or S$20 for a pasta, why are you not prepared to pay S$5 for wonton mee?"

Carnage

This one also just like the property.
If government don't step in next time can see 2m for HDB if base on free market.
Willing buyer willing seller.

How can you compare food with shelter?

Housing is unique, there is no one house that can be replicated. You can buy multiple bowls from the same hawker and demand for food is ultimately more elastic than housing.

havetheveryfun

The latter sounds like my uncle … “alws say now kopi exp rice n caipng also v exp so … I eat v full breakfast then I skip lunch cos of food prices … then all the $$ i saved ? I buyed hope”.

I thought he go donate , he said he donate sg pools but illegal one , he don’t use the word illegal but pte owned type.

So I guess food prices hikes meant 50% hike to such ppl cos he eats only 1-2meals and the savings of 50% of that meal 2 goes into gambling. ☹️😱
That may be true for some but not for everyone.

Also the context is important here - let's say if hawker prices rise and people are willing to pay - do you think the extra cost goes to the hawkers? Most of the time no, as the greedy landlords will take the chance to raise the rental.

Just like why pasta is $18 in a restaurant setting ? The rental there is definitely like 2or 3 times more of a hawker stall. so $5 x 3 = $15 in a restaurant setting. same same no diff.

Carnage

Nothing funny about it. It's all about levels and expectations.

Your ramen would probably cost half of $15 if it was sold in a hawker center.

Your wonton noodle would likely cost upwards of $20 if it was sold in a ATAS restaurant.

The only thing that's funny here is that stewpig joker actually compared a hawker center stall with a restaurant.

Actually wanton noodles in restaurants don't even cost $15 after service and GST.

And I've actually ate ramen that cost close to restaurant prices in Amoy food centre and there are long queues for it during lunch hour.

antonpoh

To disgrace fool, the one eating the wonton mee and the one eating the pasta are 2 different person la.

muji4832

Whatever, you get what I mean.

The bottom line is that, the reason I am willing to pay for a $20+ bowl of noodle (be it wanton mee / ramen / laksa / lor mee) is that I am dining in a restaurant.

You don't compare a restaurant to a hawker or kpt store.

And I've actually ate ramen that cost close to restaurant prices in Amoy food centre and there are long queues for it during lunch hour.

pushtopen

can and willing to pay for $5 adult serving wanton mee with enough charsiew and wanton

$5 for happy meal wanton mee sorry no fly

the $18 or $20 pasta also usually happy meal size

Coaster

Why do politicians say things that distance themselves from the voters ? Silly, right ?

OrLengJuz

why msia can get wanton mee for 9 RM (2.72 SGD) but our wanton mee must be 5 SGD? different material isit?:ROFLMAO:

marshalTan93

So this coming Disgraceful rally, anyone asking her the below quote ?

Sinkees thoughts ;

' We always think that if SG is prepared to pay some ministers million $$ dollar salaries, why are they not prepared to pay all Sinkees $20k or higher for whatever jobs they hold ? '​

That's what true concerned SG govt shld do, else they're just wayanging & shld be Voted out.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.