Guoco Midtown

ThinkCarefully

But at 1000psf difference and more than 10 years lease difference, would one choose Midtown Modern or Orchard Residences?

Not forgetting Orchard Residences units are very large, 3 bedder at Orchard Residences 6.5mil v Midtown Modern 2.2xmil.

So comparing this two, which is better for sth between bugis and orchard?

###

To me, the cliche is always there... D9,10,11...
Some D15 and D7 try to challenge this cliche... even D21 was trying...

Again, anyone with money, can buy anything they please...

###

daheigou999

I think one also need look from the point of view if Bugis would indeed overtake Orchard area as the more expensive district since Orchard area 99y leasehold can command 3xxxpsf.

I see Midtown Modern comparable as Orchard Residences, both above shopping mall and MRT, one in Bugis and the other Orchard.

Orchard Residences 99yLH completed in 2010 is gg for about 33-36xxpsf recently, comparatively prices of Midtown Modern gg from 24xxpsf up.

Which locale would one prefer in 10 years?

Orchard. Still a rich man, FH playground with the Ardmore-Balmoral-Cuscaden enclave around...

daheigou999

But at 1000psf difference and more than 10 years lease difference, would one choose Midtown Modern or Orchard Residences?

Not forgetting Orchard Residences units are very large, 3 bedder at Orchard Residences 6.5mil v Midtown Modern 2.2xmil.

So comparing this two, which is better for sth between bugis and orchard?

For the rich, they consider the product overall (size, reputation) rather than just trying to minimise quantum :o

SBC

The 1 bedder there rental can fetch how much?
So many investors buying 1 bedder and must bleed every month for installment not covered by rental.
When resale, next investor can swallow???

I suspect is around 3k only.

ThinkCarefully

I suspect is around 3k only.

###

Agents promoting normanton Park 1 br, also saying 3k rental... even as high as 3.5k leh... that’s just living beside the park...no mrt and mall/ amenities nearby leh..

###

Passerboy

For the rich, they consider the product overall (size, reputation) rather than just trying to minimise quantum :o

I think the options are aplenty in Orchard area if so and they likely would choose a FH condo if quantum isn’t an issue than a LH one. So in this case MTM to Orchard Residences seems a like to like comparison.

Investment wise, if we just compare the location, at $1000psf lower, MTM seems to have an edge over Orchard Residences.

holasingapura

###

Agents promoting normanton Park 1 br, also saying 3k rental... even as high as 3.5k leh... that’s just living beside the park...no mrt and mall/ amenities nearby leh..

###

Normanton 1 bedder rental will be $2,500pm max, esp with the intense competition. Are buyers so gullible to believe the BS agents are spouting?

Even CBD 1 bedder is only around $3k.

holasingapura

I think the options are aplenty in Orchard area if so and they likely would choose a FH condo if quantum isn’t an issue than a LH one. So in this case MTM to Orchard Residences seems a like to like comparison.

Investment wise, if we just compare the location, at $1000psf lower, MTM seems to have an edge over Orchard Residences.

Maybe you can check the rental difference between DUO and Orchard.

daheigou999

They are not even in the same size range, and quantum isn’t even comparable. Also, people who can afford that price may not want to squeeze in tiny rooms that can barely fit a queen bed

Maybe just stick to Duo Residences to truly understand demand for D7.

Passerboy

They are not even in the same size range, and quantum isn’t even comparable. Also, people who can afford that price may not want to squeeze in tiny rooms that can barely fit a queen bed

True, but this was drawing comparison between two distinct CCR area, if indeed like what some say that D7 can overtake D9/10/11.

There are plenty of FH condos ard Orchard/Somerset MRT too for one to consider if one is paying up north of 3xxxpsf.

1993newbie

Quick check 55 out of 102 sales listings for DUO are the studio/1 bedders. Asking from $1.118m.
DUO has over 300+ studio/1bedders. Cross reference to URA caveat, not many resale volume transacted.
0GOSV2J.jpg

bujingyun82

Prefer the locale of orchard to Bugis too. I feel Bugis is too messy...

Rental wise yes, that’s also why MTM is a lot cheaper quantum wise. But just comparing these two projects, which would u buy? Honest opinion appreciated.

Flowerboi

###

If someone has the means, just buy D9/10/11...

comparing Orchard with Bugis, why not compare Bugis with lavender/ Kallang (only 1-2 stops away)

###

Comparing Bugis to Kallang which is 2 stops away. Might as well say compare Newton with Toa Payoh which also 2 stops away. Is not about distance. Is about the area. That a difference between telling ur friend u are staying in Kallang (a hdb area) and Bugis (one of the most centralised area in Singapore)

xtwis7

That’s very true. Some people’s first impression of Toa Payoh is that it’s a very old estate so there’s some truth in the psychological aspect of how people decide what areas are premium.

There will be some overrated/underrated districts naturally depending on how the buyers/sellers view that.

Comparing Bugis to Kallang which is 2 stops away. Might as well say compare Newton with Toa Payoh which also 2 stops away. Is not about distance. Is about the area. That a difference between telling ur friend u are staying in Kallang (a hdb area) and Bugis (one of the most centralised area in Singapore)

TouringSG

Orchard residence cheapest is 5m+ at 18xx sqft (smallest unit). Perhaps not apple to apple comparison?

ThinkCarefully

###

That’s why you answered my point... try telling people ‘I stay at Orchard’ and ‘I stay at Bugis’. different one.

Then someone asks if this difference is worth xxxxpsf, like asking if there is a difference between Bugis and Kallang, is this difference worth yyy psf...

You go and discuss until cows come home lor..

###

Passerboy

Orchard residence cheapest is 5m+ at 18xx sqft (smallest unit). Perhaps not apple to apple comparison?

Maybe but the case in point is trying to bring forth the argument if Bugis would indeed overtake Orchard area one day as the most expensive area.

ThinkCarefully

###

That’s why you answered my point... try telling people ‘I stay at Orchard’ and ‘I stay at Bugis’. different one.

Then someone asks if this difference is worth xxxxpsf, like asking if there is a difference between Bugis and Kallang, is this difference worth yyy psf...

You go and discuss until cows come home lor..

###

####

Just to share with you people all tell you different things.

There was one who wrote they prefer Parks and monkeys and no human activity around as compared to living near an mrt and Malls/amenities

There is another who even prefer west sun facing to dry clothes...

The right question is not what you prefer, but what the majority of potential future buyers of you unit prefer...later when you need to exit, will yours be a popular unit with many potential buyers (can up price) or sell at a loss and discount also no takers...

###

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.