High fuel consumption

Expert

My brother was driving my dad's berlingo most of the time. His driving habit is from gear 5, reaching traffic light, instead of brakes, he go gear 3 straight let the engine rev.

Gear 3 spoilt at year 9.

So if you haven been doing that, just do whatever u are comfortable, car last 10 year only.

i blip the throttle to rev-match before downshifting from 5-4-3-2.

dragon, it does help abit in engine brake. :p

seowbin

i don't understand leh

if engine break, still must brake till rev matching all those... then got what use? still must use brake in the end, just a bit lesser

Dragon

Administrator
i don't understand leh

if engine break, still must brake till rev matching all those... then got what use? still must use brake in the end, just a bit lesser

In my humble opinion, don't bother doing rev matching unless you are trying to clock your best timing on the track. :)

gohsj89

bendi85

ghostly

So my FC is even worse la since the actual mileage I travel should be lower due to the wrong profile?

since ur current profile wheel is smaller...the torque required to turn the wheel now is lesser...which ur FC should actually decrease abit...i personally think its the way u are driving thats causing high FC...

ghostly

thats not extreme, hollywood stuntsmen always did that, flip the car only :s13::s13::s13:

lol...it wun flip the car..but the gear will all b stripped...:s22:

butt then cant even engage into first gear...coz usually gt a gate in the gearbox preventing such occurrence..

bendi85

since ur current profile wheel is smaller...the torque required to turn the wheel now is lesser...which ur FC should actually decrease abit...i personally think its the way u are driving thats causing high FC...

I will monitor my current tank see whether is my driving style not. I have been very light on pedal and got any chance I will roll the car instead of pressing the gas.

JX1983

My mileage is more zhun than anyone here.

YTD mileage divided YTD litres pumped from Aug 2006 to-date. So it's the average over a long period of time. Highest was 14.1 and lowest was 9.58 depending how you pump. Average easily above 12.

Last time I also like u.. All the time I pump petrol i keep all my receipt.. But end up end of the year wan to calculate see so many pieces sian then throw away.. Lol..

pew

How come u all monitor petrol until so jialat leh?

Just take mileage divided by the amount u pump can Liao mah

pew

Or much better,

Invest in an ultra gauge, it shows your real time consumption, not exactly very accurate but it helps altering the way u drive

HeadQuarters

I suspect my odometer buay zhun...

Last time drove Altis from home to work, 8.4km.

Now drive civic from home to work, 7.2km.

Altis confirmed everything stock since i was the 1st n only driver.

Civic is 2nd owner... But tyres r stock...

How to tell which odometer is the buay zhun one? Any good iPhone GPS odometer to recommend?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.