Housing Dilemma

kyteo79

+1 for all the points you made..
I have a couple friend tried 7 times cannot get BTO, i call them ********, probably too picky.
They are earning more then 12k, now trying to get resale in mature estate. They recently wrote a really powderful england letter to MP asking for resale grant of 50K because initially coundnt get because of their monthly income. Their grant recently got approved... total grant now stands at 70k for them, 50K resale grant + 20K living near parents.

I see liao this cheapskate friends really turn me off... earning above 12K and still eligible for 70K grant, still wanna act noble by telling people they tried BTO X amount of times but still cant get. :eek::s8:

I feel you bro, Kyteo... aiyah such people ought to be shot dead

Boss,

My single income more than 12k ..more than 9x% ( i think 95% of singaporean) ? I dunno ...
i never open mouth ..

This little kid come into forum. open mouth say my salary plus my GF salary is expected 3.5k each and it is take home. already deduct cpf liao HOR. my salary is higher than xyz of the mass SINGAPOREANS BUT THEN hor i poor no money and need money to marry if i can siam a discount and get grant. If n grant, i marry first ? or i buy house first ?

You wana look down on others ? then piss a pool of urine and see yourself ...
you think you highly educated and HEADHUNTED and PINK IC very big ?

Thats why i am very unhappy to see such attitude.

kyteo79

TS one advice for you, what comes around goes around.

Uncle here use to be a "guy" like you, until karma hits... no one knows who you are online, only god knows.

Some stuff just dont push it bah

100% agreed ...
I can earn 1 million 1 year today , does not mean it will be next year.

Many grab / uber on the streets. Chat with any and they tell you their glory days.

Kids never fall never learn..

All the best Uncle. Let practise dharmma and close eye on this chap ...

Raffles88

Sad truth - I bought 2 rooms bto, not even 3 rooms resale.:(:sad:

Happy truth - I have no debt. My CPF OA can return one shot pay all without loan.

Within the "35 - 39" age group, your gross monthly pay of $4,000
places you at the 43.6th percentile among both genders.
You are in the bottom 43.6% of your cohort.:eek:

kyteo79

Happy truth - I have no debt. My CPF OA can return one shot pay all without loan.

I salute you and address you as boss...

Slowly upgrade from there if needed. if not then get a sports car to zoom around.

kyteo79

I really don't understand what's in your mind. If I can take the grant, why I am supposed to reject it? If I can afford a 4-room, why should I take a 3-room?

Now asking you to pay for my BTO is it?

Clap ... In your first post you think you can afford ec ? if not why ask ?
or u ask us buy you ec ?

kyteo79

today generation think study too much ? words no weight ... no value ... happy then flip ..

i dunno much but can talk to my legal rep if you like.

justforipad

Monthly 4k only 43.6% in the 25-29 age group?

justforipad

Boss,

My single income more than 12k ..more than 9x% ( i think 95% of singaporean) ? I dunno ...
i never open mouth ..

This little kid come into forum. open mouth say my salary plus my GF salary is expected 3.5k each and it is take home. already deduct cpf liao HOR. my salary is higher than xyz of the mass SINGAPOREANS BUT THEN hor i poor no money and need money to marry if i can siam a discount and get grant. If n grant, i marry first ? or i buy house first ?

You wana look down on others ? then piss a pool of urine and see yourself ...
you think you highly educated and HEADHUNTED and PINK IC very big ?

Thats why i am very unhappy to see such attitude.

Do you have an inferiority complex? I've never looked down on anyone, so I really don't understand why you'll think so? Just because I refuse to BTO for a three-room flat means I look down on others?

kyteo79

Do you have an inferiority complex? I've never looked down on anyone, so I really don't understand why you'll think so? Just because I refuse to BTO for a three-room flat means I look down on others?

QTE
If I were to wait till all my circumstances materialise, and save for the entire downpayment with my monthly take home pay of $3,500, I'll be about 35 years old by the time I can afford a BTO in a mature estate comfortably. Since the government wishes for young couples to start their families early, and provide them with such grants to own their first home, and me being their targeted audience, surely I must be able to exercise my birthright as a Singaporean to use these grants?

By the same logic that some here used to bash me on the idea of my EC, it is clear that I am unable to afford an EC based on our current financial circumstances. And this being the exact same financial circumstances that allows me to receive the government's grant, surely then, I should take them?

My family background should not play a part in assessing the morality in my taking up of the grants. My parents worked smart and hard for the achievements that they have today. I played no part in it. Being an independent person, burdened with father-mother education loans, morality ensues that I should and must be given the chance to take the grants.

To paint the picture plainly, I am going to start working as an employee in an organisation in a year's time or so. Although my prospects may be brighter than the bottom 20-30% of the population, please bear in mind that I am already 200-300k in debt by the time I start working. Moreover, as a first property, this liability will put me in a mountain heap of debt for the next 20-25 years. Granted, this could be paid off by CPF monies eventually, but are all these CPF monies not my hard earned money?

Please, enlighten me if I'm wrong.
UNQTE

Let me zoom in

QTE
Although my prospects may be brighter than the bottom 20-30% of the population, please bear in mind that I am already 200-300k in debt by the time I start working.
UNQTE

IF you are brighter than others (the bottom 20-30% popluation), why do you need a grant ?

Even i am in the top percentile range, i do not dare to speak like you.
All the best in your grant and BTO.

Why do you need a good primary school ? Why do you need this ?
When your BTO ready primary school still there ? Good status still good ?

Stop your mindset. stop your forum and go drink kopi with your father and ask him to guide you lah. Come forum yaya and tell the world you better 30% than bottom pop, headhunted and 3.5k take home pay. many might treat you like god.

Me ? I just giggle ..

Inferior complex ? Whatever you would like to say or comment however please ensure you back it up. Because today world you need to be accountable what you say.

Time for lunch.

iphone1s

Mainly the location.

1) No good primary schools nearby.

2) Proximity not close to CBD.

if u die die want these 2 u mentioned, quite hard for u to ballot a BTO.

there are some who are like u, ballot up to 20 times, which is potentially 5 years

then u will look at your peers, they max, ballot, 3-4 times, within a year or 2, got their beautiful home in places like punggol or woodlands or buangkok.

then by then u will turn desperate.

What if housing rules change that time?

I think u really need to weigh your options carefully. the BTO selection can humble many lofty thinking couples.

but then there is also a luck element ba.

pm me after u get you may 2017 bto results lor. hope u get a good number

TS. may i know which industry you will be in after you graduate? i am quite curious which industry gave 4k plus for a fresh grad. maybe i can ask my son to study that too when he grows up. =)

kyteo79

if u die die want these 2 u mentioned, quite hard for u to ballot a BTO.

there are some who are like u, ballot up to 20 times, which is potentially 5 years

then u will look at your peers, they max, ballot, 3-4 times, within a year or 2, got their beautiful home in places like punggol or woodlands or buangkok.

then by then u will turn desperate.

What if housing rules change that time?

I think u really need to weigh your options carefully. the BTO selection can humble many lofty thinking couples.

but then there is also a luck element ba.

pm me after u get you may 2017 bto results lor. hope u get a good number

I also want good 5 + 1numbers

scheng1

TS. may i know which industry you will be in after you graduate? i am quite curious which industry gave 4k plus for a fresh grad. maybe i can ask my son to study that too when he grows up. =)

I think TS and his gf are scholarship holders.

That will account for the fact that both of them have a job waiting for them.

TS, do you have stipend? Stipend counts as income. You can apply for BTO and whatever grants will be based on the current combined stipends.

kyteo79

I think TS and his gf are scholarship holders.

That will account for the fact that both of them have a job waiting for them.

TS, do you have stipend? Stipend counts as income. You can apply for BTO and whatever grants will be based on the current combined stipends.

Lets not assume.

Whether scholar or not, he already said he is 20-30% top of bottom population.

I just wonder the clip of the guy body check the old uncle on FB. Is this how today young generation. Always feeling easily agitated and offended ? Big words with big dreams is good if you can fulfill.

otherwise 5 years down the road, let people laugh ...

Have a good day.

dnsfpl

be a lawyer or doctor
iirc once grad around $5k
1st 5 years increment app 10%
can hit 8k in 5th year
and thats average

i seen 4th year earning 10k+ too

JX1983

Looking at some advises/pointers here. What will u do if u are a 2nd timer but so far bto got the location u wanted but in the end ballot result out of the queue? Will u wait for hdb to release new bto till the places u want and try ballot again? Really have no idea when is hdb going to release those areas which I wanted.

Currently my 3 rm bto flat is 5 yrs+ and I am looking to upgrade to a 4rm bto flat. The thing is I am looking at only a 4rm bto or a 3bedder EC.

But I won't be able to afford a 5% downpayment and 15% cpf till I sell my current flat. Should I test market and sell 1st then decided to look for another? I have to admit my area won't have much problem in looking for buyers. Thanks for reading. :)

kyteo79

Looking at some advises/pointers here. What will u do if u are a 2nd timer but so far bto got the location u wanted but in the end ballot result out of the queue? Will u wait for hdb to release new bto till the places u want and try ballot again? Really have no idea when is hdb going to release those areas which I wanted.

Currently my 3 rm bto flat is 5 yrs+ and I am looking to upgrade to a 4rm bto flat. The thing is I am looking at only a 4rm bto or a 3bedder EC.

But I won't be able to afford a 5% downpayment and 15% cpf till I sell my current flat. Should I test market and sell 1st then decided to look for another? I have to admit my area won't have much problem in looking for buyers. Thanks for reading. :)

I would reckon you should apply and get your queue to choose the BTO then you start to sell ...

Now market not oo good so selling is not good option.

All the best.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.