IBM ThinkPad Users' Group

qingtian

Qingrong said:
anyone noe if our thinkpad charge how long then full batt? any indication? u all charge when the laptop is on or off?

thks!

:)

I understand from my friends that it is not advisable to charge your Battery and use your laptop at the same time as it will shorten the Battery life.

I charge my Battery with my laptop off.

Anyone else doing the same thing? :confused:

hotkidd

qingtian said:

I understand from my friends that it is not advisable to charge your Battery and use your laptop at the same time as it will shorten the Battery life.

Nah, i charge my battery while using the laptop. But I do tend to recharge only when it reaches very low batt level.... :)

hotkidd

Whats the difference between sleep mode and hibernation mode exactly?

Nitrile

hotkidd said:
Whats the difference between sleep mode and hibernation mode exactly?

hibernate is a deeper form of sleep.

everything in memory is written to the harddrive and the comp shuts down

when you awake from hibernation, it takes much longer to recover. this is because the comp boots up, copies from the harddrive to memory and you resume from the point where you hibernated from

i disabled hibernation cos it reserves disk space.

qingtian

beluga said:

The thinklight looks cool!

Gald that you are able to link to IBM Website.
Cos I have problem in puting up this link in the morning.

:)

qingtian

I would not recommend to use hibernation model.

I still prefer to shut down my laptop and resume the Work myself. =p

qingtian

But the way,
forgot to mention, by default the wireless networking is set as enable.

User should use the Function key Fn + F5 to disable it to extend your battery performance.

ppong

Hi guys, i have a question here...

I am thinking of getting a twinmos 512 ddr sodimm. its CAS Latency is : CL2,3 and in the description it says
"CAS latency: 2, 2.5(clock)"

What does this mean?

According to ibm, im suppose to get one with CL2.5 for my X31, so can i still use the twinmos ram?

ahtea

Qingrong said:

i charging now as well... seems like it's green/yellow color nw... and flashing... can verify if it is fully charged when it stop flashin?

Green yellow flashing means the battery is not fully charged. It should be around 80% to 90% charged. If it is 100% charged, you will see the light turn solid green.

ahtea

qingtian said:

I don't think it affect much.

hotkidd

Feel the left side of your T40 after using it for some time.... wooo... HOT! :D

qingtian

Would like to ask do any of the IBM users try install Linux OS in their Laptop?

tempalr

Intend to do it, and do it is 2 different issue lah.

What for linux when ur laptop is built for XP.

Need to download drivers for mouse scroll buttons, and some more, dun noe linux can support speedStep and other features a not.

But if u gian, try it lor.:laugh:
Its a good experience but not lasting experience for laptops.
:laugh:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.