iPhone 6 screen top yellow tint

ill_sion

I don't really have a camera to show the problem, but it is something like that, just that mine is only at around the top 1/8 of the screen.

It becomes blatantly obvious when i compare my screen to my dad's exact same iphone 6...

iphone-6-screen-yellow-tint.jpg

You need a train eye to see this. I give my bro see he also cannot see until I take his phone compare and he realized his iPhone 5s the sides all tinted yellow! LOL

identity_1991

I don't really have a camera to show the problem, but it is something like that, just that mine is only at around the top 1/8 of the screen.

It becomes blatantly obvious when i compare my screen to my dad's exact same iphone 6...

Mine also 1/8 of the screen. Near the status top bar

hondaime

Thanks for sharing! Wow, that is indeed quite serious. And I thought I was noticing some faint yellow tint on my 6 too until I saw that pic. Guess it could be the eyes playing tricks when you deliberately stare at it for awhile.

Anyway, for any one else who wants a white background to test. Can simply launch safari, open a new tab, turn your phone to landscape mode and there you go.

ill_sion

Sigh after reading you and ragnarok's experiences.. All I can say is tough luck man. The tinting gets annoyingly noticeable once you have spotted it haha.

Just got my case ID with apple.. hope I get lucky!

Mine also 1/8 of the screen. Near the status top bar

ill_sion

Thanks for sharing! Wow, that is indeed quite serious. And I thought I was noticing some faint yellow tint on my 6 too until I saw that pic. Guess it could be the eyes playing tricks when you deliberately stare at it for awhile.

Anyway, for any one else who wants a white background to test. Can simply launch safari, open a new tab, turn your phone to landscape mode and there you go.

Haha, safari in iOS8 in landscape will show the bookmarks bar. Like ragnarok said the notes app is the most useful in spotting this.

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
Just dun really like the yellow tint even thought i know it's damn common in mobile phone. :)

Apple not the only phone maker with yellow tint display phones. :)

hondaime

Haha oh ya pardon me, I don't have any favorites on my bookmark page that's why it's a blank white page for me. Then again I guess the notes app will suffice too.

Kyubi

Yah, how you know its a refurbished set? Your original set is from Apple Online store?
huh not mine . . im asking a question here. nearly 3 weeks now and refubish sets are out le~

identity_1991

For those who wanna test, save this white image here to your photo gallery, full screen and see if you spot any yellow tinted at the top or sides:

Image starts here
xn7ptk.jpg

Image stops here

hondaime

Actually now that i've taken a picture of it. seems like the yellow tint is pretty obvious on mine too :eek:

Argh, can't post the image due to low post count..

jaymessofly

Mine has a very very slight yellow tint at the top.
How bad is it before they warrant an exchange?

jaymessofly

mine's quite slight too. but noticeable on white screen. Will be heading down tomorrow to see if they will do an exchange.

Don't waste your time. They won't do it unless you have a case ID with Apple.

identity_1991

Mine has a very very slight yellow tint at the top.
How bad is it before they warrant an exchange?

They gonna say it's acceptable. Now I'm in a dilemma again. I did two exchange alr and I freaking hell don't wanna queue for another two hours and explain myself trying to convince their blind eyes that the screen is tinted. I even thought it was my eyes problem till i tilted the phone upside down and goodness. The top is indeed yellowish tinted

jaymessofly

They gonna say it's acceptable. Now I'm in a dilemma again. I did two exchange alr and I freaking hell don't wanna queue for another two hours and explain myself trying to convince their blind eyes that the screen is tinted. I even thought it was my eyes problem till i tinted the phone upside down and goodness. The top is indeed yellowish tinted

Yeah. Tried turning it upside down. It's more obvious this way.
It's something that I won't notice in my everyday usage unless I look out for it on purpose. However, I'm quite keen to get an exchange as I think the battery life on mine sucks. Lol.

Kyubi

Is this one 6 or 6+.. Just tested my 6+.. Don't have. When u all buy the phone from telco never check first? I did that when I collect my phone from singtel on launch day.

Nevertheless if from Apple direct then I think heng suay

jaymessofly

well I do have a case ID with apple. will just head down and try. if cannot then suck thumb lor :(

Is yours bad or quite mild?
Mine is really quite mild. Have to really look out for it to be able to spot it.

identity_1991

well do have a case ID with apple. will just head down and try. if cannot then suck thumb lor :(

Damn sian one. U queue two hours and they will tell u if this one I open still yellow then don't need change okay. Make sure you remove the plastic sheet and check before signing the paper. You sign liao then u lan lan alr. Anyway, good luck. Please post an update tmr.

jaymessofly

Just tested.. Don't have. When u all buy the phone from telco never check first? I did that when I collect my phone from singtel on launch day.

Nevertheless if from Apple direct then I think heng suay

Mine telco deliver to me. Delivery guy say dunno anything. Lol. And yeah. My bad too. Didn't check for this yellow tint issue.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.