iPhone XS Esim question

sendhalp

Apple is also partially at fault for not making dual physical sim models available for rest of the world

I feel that using a soft copy of the SIM card more reliable than the use of a physical card. Long run plug in and out the SIM card, the slot would malfunction.

I assumed that china market is too big for them to lose out the opportunity of launching the new iPhones, and china has poor motivation for e-sim technology, hence apple has no choice but to make 2 physical SIM card.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/bensin...-rest-of-the-world-isnt-getting/#5aa20c926a43

jasonho

I feel that using a soft copy of the SIM card more reliable than the use of a physical card. Long run plug in and out the SIM card, the slot would malfunction.

I assumed that china market is too big for them to lose out the opportunity of launching the new iPhones, and china has poor motivation for e-sim technology, hence apple has no choice but to make 2 physical SIM card.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/bensin...-rest-of-the-world-isnt-getting/#5aa20c926a43

agreed, and china are entirely different market, they are more pre-paid than postpaid like the rest of the world.

china people on the avg change sim card every 6months to 18 months. no need to guess why and ask how come, bcos thats how the environment and culture influence them. 1-2 years contracts are rarely encouraged, so imagine e-sim changing from one provider to another can be so painful for both telco and consumers.

also their telco landscape also different. so all in all, different markets have diff needs. also the world has gotten from having a mobile number to now IM apps, how many people call mobile numbers as compare to using whatsapp/wechats app to talk...

who knows in times to come, they wont be any telco , everywhere is wifi at 4/5G speed and you only need data card like a mrt stored value card, top up when you need lor .

tikokia

my old iphone 3 years in and out no issues with the sim slot, what u talking abt

Elijahonli

yes... one of the first common things that doesnt work after a phone is water damaged is that the phone no longer reads sim.
if there is an E-sim feature, at least if might give you a lifeline in terms of your phone usage.

Another benefit of having E-sim means u can have more than 2 SIMs in a phone. There people that are juggling between a Work, Personal and a overseas sim (maybe for malaysia SIM for weekend use).

Honestly, most people here are complaining/unhappy about eSIM is because M1 is charging $37+ and a activation fee (subsequent activation) for it.
If swap/activation is free, no one will be complaining and this part u cannot blame apple, blame the telco(s).

On a flip side, telcos could be implementing this to ensure that activation servers do not get denial of service(DOS) by people activating and deactivation constantly, of course the are multiple ways to prevent DOS like preventing a re-activation within 5-10 mins of the previous activation but who knows what is going on in their mind.

ForumRider

How does the data plan for the esim work? Assuming I have 1 SIM card and 1 eSIM, is the iOS smart enough to toggle to other line for data plan? How about WhatsApp?

boliao45

It's not about the DOS, but more of M1 paying licensing to apple for it's exclusivity then this licensing fee eventually got cascaded down to users who want to use it first.
Next year when the other telcos roll out theirs then the price may be lowered 'due to competition'

yes... one of the first common things that doesnt work after a phone is water damaged is that the phone no longer reads sim.
if there is an E-sim feature, at least if might give you a lifeline in terms of your phone usage.

Another benefit of having E-sim means u can have more than 2 SIMs in a phone. There people that are juggling between a Work, Personal and a overseas sim (maybe for malaysia SIM for weekend use).

Honestly, most people here are complaining/unhappy about eSIM is because M1 is charging $37+ and a activation fee (subsequent activation) for it.
If swap/activation is free, no one will be complaining and this part u cannot blame apple, blame the telco(s).

On a flip side, telcos could be implementing this to ensure that activation servers do not get denial of service(DOS) by people activating and deactivation constantly, of course the are multiple ways to prevent DOS like preventing a re-activation within 5-10 mins of the previous activation but who knows what is going on in their mind.

Elijahonli

It's not about the DOS, but more of M1 paying licensing to apple for it's exclusivity then this licensing fee eventually got cascaded down to users who want to use it first.
Next year when the other telcos roll out theirs then the price may be lowered 'due to competition'
hmm tell me more about it... you are saying that m1 is paying apple, so which means if singtel and starhub have their esim implmenation ready, scan qr code also cannot activate ?

Elijahonli

How does the data plan for the esim work? Assuming I have 1 SIM card and 1 eSIM, is the iOS smart enough to toggle to other line for data plan? How about WhatsApp?

u have to manually toggle, or u can set SMS/calls to be one sim and data to be on another sim.

Snoweagle

my old iphone 3 years in and out no issues with the sim slot, what u talking abt

well there are some suay ones that have no luck with physical SIM.

Actually really quite hard to say and it happened to me on my 7 Plus. I used it until I changed to X and previously have only changed SIM card a few times as I use a Maxis SIM when I visit M’sia and then the slot refuses to fully sit flush after slotting back my local SIM (though still works).

This 7 Plus also have an issue later on with the main logic board, causing ridiculously fast battery drainage even when it’s turned off, hence Apple did a replacement unit for me. So yah, all’s new again.

boliao45

This is just my speculation, in terms of technology i don't think Singtel infrastructure lags behind M1 but why is it Singtel is not listed by apple as a esim supported telco? There's some prior implementation of esim for watches/Android but so far ST and SH is still not listed as an iphone esim supported telco why is that so? The only thing that comes to mind is license which apple is well known for. No pay license, then no support.

hmm tell me more about it... you are saying that m1 is paying apple, so which means if singtel and starhub have their esim implmenation ready, scan qr code also cannot activate ?

renfred89

This is just my speculation, in terms of technology i don't think Singtel infrastructure lags behind M1 but why is it Singtel is not listed by apple as a esim supported telco? There's some prior implementation of esim for watches/Android but so far ST and SH is still not listed as an iphone esim supported telco why is that so? The only thing that comes to mind is license which apple is well known for. No pay license, then no support.

not sure for starhub, but singtel might be launching soon in 2019. The fact about which telco launches first is backed by profound business dynamics between telcos and apple. this is something that boils down to dollars and cents and that we consumers have no part in.

if you talk about licensing, telco or apple benefits the most? perhaps apple.

Snoweagle

not sure for starhub, but singtel might be launching soon in 2019. The fact about which telco launches first is backed by profound business dynamics between telcos and apple. this is something that boils down to dollars and cents and that we consumers have no part in.

if you talk about licensing, telco or apple benefits the most? perhaps apple.

If Singtel really does launch eSIM service for the new iPhones, I might just go for it.

renfred89

If Singtel really does launch eSIM service for the new iPhones, I might just go for it.

don't say you, i'll jump into it provided there is no hassle arh..

then i can free up the physical slot for another sim to sweet talk my small threes...

Snoweagle

don't say you, i'll jump into it provided there is no hassle arh..

then i can free up the physical slot for another sim to sweet talk my small threes...

Haha yeah, for now I’ll just rely on my Note9 for dual SIM.

WhiteAnt

I've used so many phones, slot in and out into different sim trays also no such problems for 10yrs leh. This is definitely more of a user problem or else apple would've address this issue already. If you say plugging in/out the charging cable will damage the port in long run I still believe but sim tray isn't open so often like daily charging to be of any real issue.

I would've prefer our iphone to have physical dualsim like China tbh. Saves so much hassle and money to subscribe to esim really....

ForumRider

managed to convert to esim for my private number (mysim30 with 15 gb data )with the waiver of charges. however still need to give $5.xx for the profile download.

just wondering how the phone toggle between 2 data plan with primary & secondary active with voice & data.

Also is it possible to use the phone without any physical sim card, meaning all my lines convert to esim? then the physical sim slot will be reserved for overseas sim card when i travel

kudo2904

managed to convert to esim for my private number (mysim30 with 15 gb data )with the waiver of charges. however still need to give $5.xx for the profile download.

just wondering how the phone toggle between 2 data plan with primary & secondary active with voice & data.

Also is it possible to use the phone without any physical sim card, meaning all my lines convert to esim? then the physical sim slot will be reserved for overseas sim card when i travel

Yes you can add more than 1 data plan. So can use 2 esim lines

Elijahonli

i dont think that is the case.... if there were licensing fees, there would be articles about it. Lets not forget, sometimes companies like ST and SH also do have vendors that take care of certain implementations. The initial release of e-SIM for watches should be purely for tagging on to the primary SIM if i am not wrong, to make it as a standalone, it could potentially be a new CR that needs to be implemented which will also take time.

Yes you are right, Singtel does not lack behind in terms of infra, but Singtel is always the slowest in the terms of picking up market trends. Singtel has always has this posture of letting others chut stun then they react. Starhub is almost the same but with the current restructuring, i believe they prioritizing their launch of the new plans and customer service.

People are upset about the $37+ that m1 is charging, but dont forget if u lost/damage your sim,
its the same charges that you are paying and there already have been couple of instances where m1 is waiving the charges. Its just the $5 activation fee which is in question here.

Eggdrop

Can share how do you get a waiver for the esim fee?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.