iRobot Scooba experience

hansolo76sg

mind sharing what was the final cost for your item on the US side?

coz i may have a USD220 roomba coming in and the online calculator from borderlinx does not show any extra tax. the duh thing is its just an estimate :s11:

stupid one leh, diff company calculate CIF differently....

sAxman_Returns

mind sharing what was the final cost for your item on the US side?

coz i may have a USD220 roomba coming in and the online calculator from borderlinx does not show any extra tax. the duh thing is its just an estimate :s11:

never used borderlinx b4. My freight is USD22 for comgateway. stupid CIF thingy made me paid additional $31.50 for GST.

is borderlinx much better than comgateway?

jc777

I think in the end everyone is right :D

I found a webpage saying Singapore voltage = 220v-240v

20v difference... wont spoil meh? :s11:
by right there should be some allowances given to the input voltages but maybe put at 240V might be safer.

anyway, modded the power adaptor and dont need to worry about transformer liao :D

XxDrAg0nxX

so which shops do you guys recommend? think I just mod lar. sianz......

Actually at first I also wanted to mod first one...

But someone brought up a point where what IF the mod was a failure, and u dont know if the problem is with the robot itself or the charger mod wrongly... :s22:

thewiseone

There are pros and cons to the modding. IMO, having a step down transformer can be an added advantage when there's a surge. The transformer will probably be taken out first b4 killing the power supply. Its always cheaper and easier to replace a transformer vs an iRobot power supply.

Actually at first I also wanted to mod first one...

But someone brought up a point where what IF the mod was a failure, and u dont know if the problem is with the robot itself or the charger mod wrongly... :s22:

jc777

There are pros and cons to the modding. IMO, having a step down transformer can be an added advantage when there's a surge. The transformer will probably be taken out first b4 killing the power supply. Its always cheaper and easier to replace a transformer vs an iRobot power supply.
the risk of power surge killing electrical appliances is quite low. not very often we see our TV, computer fried by power surge.

so which shops do you guys recommend? think I just mod lar. sianz......
modding is not very difficult. i manage to mod by myself.

XxDrAg0nxX

I think power surges will usually be stopped by the circuit breakers right?

At least 2 outside and 1 inside the house already... buy surge protection multi plug become 4 :D

Then Fuse on the appliance itself become 5...

XxDrAg0nxX

Is the power transformer supposed to turn hot?

Mine after 2-3hrs like slightly warm only, guess not much power lost?

thewiseone

Surges will not be stopped by your ELCB. Its only when there's a leakage of current to earth, such as a short circuit will ELCB trip. A surge protector only provides some form of protection against surge. If there's a heavy surge going beyond the surge protector ratings, u're still out of luck. By the time yr fuse reacts and break, more likely than not yr equipment already took the hit liao!

I think power surges will usually be stopped by the circuit breakers right?

At least 2 outside and 1 inside the house already... buy surge protection multi plug become 4 :D

Then Fuse on the appliance itself become 5...

thewiseone

Transformer when in use is usually warm. If its too hot to touch, take care. Could be due to limited ventilation, poor design or under speced.

XxDrAg0nxX

Surges will not be stopped by your ELCB. Its only when there's a leakage of current to earth, such as a short circuit will ELCB trip. A surge protector only provides some form of protection against surge. If there's a heavy surge going beyond the surge protector ratings, u're still out of luck. By the time yr fuse reacts and break, more likely than not yr equipment already took the hit liao!

I see, but that never really happen right? Never heard it happen before...

Even if such a thing happens, logically everything else in the house or block will kanna right?

hansolo76sg

which means your final cost was SGD450? or is this amt arrived after adding the CIF 0.24%?

im still awaiting my ebay sale to reach borderlinx so cant comment whether its better in terms of tax calculations yet

never used borderlinx b4. My freight is USD22 for comgateway. stupid CIF thingy made me paid additional $31.50 for GST.

is borderlinx much better than comgateway?

hq83

my transformer.. newstar 150w on 24hrs/7 connected to 1 roomba and 1 scooba..
only a bit warm..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.